We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Bothy, quality accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ardlogie Bothy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
calum c
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy Bothy, quality accomodation”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2015 and were welcomed by the owners who were lovely and friendly . There was a welcome pack of milk, wine and bread which was perfect. The accomodation was cosy, clean and well equipped. The town centre only a short walk away. A parking space at the door. It met our hopes and expectations. Despite being near the railway station it was very quiet and peaceful.The hot tub in garden was a lovelybonus.

Perfect base for a couple on a short break.Would recommend highly to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was super.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Haste Ye Back!

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent spot”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location with easy access to the centre and close to the Bridge Inn (fantastic food but remember to book).

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Haste Ye Back!

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Highland Hideaway”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had a great highland experience staying in this lovely little bothy, for a couple of days. Kevin was very welcoming on arrival and extremely helpful with knowledge of the local area and suggestion on things to do over the two days, with some good ideas on places to eat. The bothy was the perfect size for a couple and on arrival we had a bottle of wine, bread, milk and cheese waiting. A great location to in the town within walking distance of the town centre, restaurants and pubs and easy access to the cairngorm mountain range and spectacular walks. Thanks both Kevin and Kirsty and i'm sure we'll be back in the near future and recommending to family and friends.

Martin and Sian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and bothy design
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Haste Ye Back!

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AimeeAndC...
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little base in Aviemore”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just come back from 4 days up in the Highlands (15-19th June) and Ardlogie Bothy was our cosy home from home. It's a cabin fully equipped for self catering and perfect size for a couple. Kevin and Kirsty are friendly and accommodating and were very helpful with local knowledge for places to go and things to do. On arrival we had a bottle of wine, cheese, milk and bread, very thoughtful and Kevin greeted us with keys and info about the Bothy, then left us to enjoy our holiday. We've had a lovely time exploring this beautiful area of Scotland (despite the weather!) and having this cosy cabin to come back to in the evenings. Thanks both for your hospitality, we'll be back in the future hopefully and will recommend to friends and family.

Aimee and Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. It was lovely to meet you and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy.

Haste Ye Back!
Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carly57_L...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little hideaway”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just spent 3 nights at the Ardlogie Bothy and it was perfect for our weekend getaway. On arrival early morning from the sleeper train, Kirsty was a welcoming host and as nobody had stayed the night before we were able to check straight in.
It was cosy, well furnished and spacious for a studio cottage style. Kirsty gave us lots of info about the area, had provided the essentials including bread, cheese, wine, milk and tea bags so we could settle in immediately.
You also get use of the hot tub in the back garden, perfect after a day's walking in the lovely Scottish weather ;-).
Just a couple of minutes walk from the station and village centre, the bothy is perfectly situated for getting out and about with or without a car.
If you're looking for somewhere cosy to stay that's a bit more quirky and independent than a B&B, the bothy is a perfect choice. It has the bonus of friendly, helpful hosts, Kirsty and Kevin. We fully recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2015
Many thanks for your comments and taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Bothy and your time in Aviemore.

Thanks again & Best Wishes!
Kirsty & Kevin
Ardlogie Guest House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLDonalds...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful fully furnished, self contained warm and welcoming bothy.”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ardlogie Bothy allows for a very comfortable and easy stay. On arriving we were warmly welcomed and shown all amenities available to us. The heating had been put on and a bottle of wine awaited, which after a long drive these little extras were enjoyed. This self contained bothy has everything you need for a wee break away and is only a 5 minute walk from the centre. A little noisy in the morning (generator of some discription) and the wifi didn't work but overall a homely escape which I would thoroughly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2015
Many thanks for your comments and taking the time to post a review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Bothy. The noise experienced may have come from our laundry room, which is located rear of the Bothy. We do try to make sure that none of the appliances are switched on until after 10.00am and apologise that this caused you some disturbance. The WiFi service in the Bothy can vary due to the insulation and other factors such as device used and weather. We also provide Bothy guests with separate WiFi codes for the main house to use in our reception because of this.

Thanks again & Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
Ardlogie Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritchied5...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely wee cosy bothy!”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time staying at the Ardlogie Bothy. Found it really warm and cosy, and really enjoyed the use of the hot tub. Bothy is located near the train station and is smack in the middle of Aviemore, getting around couldn't be easier. Met Kirsty and Kenny who were very welcoming and ever so helpful. Would definitely stay here again, thank you! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Bothy and we hope you come back to visit us again!

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing