We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife watching”
Review of Rothiemurchus

Rothiemurchus
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rothiemurchus welcomes you every day of the year. Be inspired by the scenery, enjoy relaxing or adventurous outdoor activities, share our passion for delicious estate produce and caravan or camp on the edge of the ancient forest. At the forefront of nature conservation and one of Scotland’s leading tourist attractions, Rothiemurchus Estate is a much loved community asset. We are at the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, just outside Aviemore, somewhere quite different and special – a jewel of the Highlands of Scotland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Wildlife watching”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were 6 in a group who were there to photograph wildlife. ALL the staff were helpfull and knowledgeable about what we could possible see. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us.

Thanks

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Old_Fotofart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    110
    14
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quad Biking was fantastic, as was Treezone”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

What a great bunch the staff at Treezone are, fun, supportive and encouraging, and genuinely interested in making sure you have a great time, even if it is a bit scary!!!, try it, it is a great challenge to get round.

We would also thoroughly recommend quad biking at Rothiemurchas. Andy our guide was a laugh a minute, making the whole experience great fun. We had a mix of beautiful scenery, adventure and speed, and even a drive down a river (stream), with plenty of great photos for memories, well done Andy, thanks for a great afternoon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank EC_Inversnecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

While we did not do any of the formal activities offered here the visitor centre was extremely helpful in giving us advice about exploring and walking around the local area. A great location to explore during our stay in the Cairngorms!

Helpful?
Thank Lizzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Friendly staff, well stocked lakes in beautiful surroundings. Other family orientated attractions nearby.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safari Tour of Grant Estate”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

What an incredible experience! The grounds and views were spectacular, and the tour guide, Craig Fraser, was extremely knowledgable, personable and attentive to the needs and wishes of a party of six, from teens to seniors. This is an experience we were thankful to have had, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Thank you Craig for making it so special.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rothiemurchus also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Rothiemurchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing