We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great lesson... Shame we couldn't catch anything!”
Review of Rothiemurchus

Rothiemurchus
Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rothiemurchus welcomes you every day of the year. Be inspired by the scenery, enjoy relaxing or adventurous outdoor activities, share our passion for delicious estate produce and caravan or camp on the edge of the ancient forest. At the forefront of nature conservation and one of Scotland’s leading tourist attractions, Rothiemurchus Estate is a much loved community asset. We are at the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, just outside Aviemore, somewhere quite different and special – a jewel of the Highlands of Scotland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great lesson... Shame we couldn't catch anything!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We opted for fly fishing (2 hours including a 1 hour lesson). Our instructor was fantastic and took us through all the basics so we could go solo. Sadly, when left alone, we didn't get a nibble but practice makes perfect. Would recommend

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vonduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    109
    14
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fishery”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fished here in August 2013. Beautiful surrounds. Plenty of fish, but still skill required, ESP for bigger ones. Fish caught were in great condition, and fought really well. Caught 2 very nice sized rainbows as well as a number of average sized fish. Even the smaller ones were great fighters. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pony trekking”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A lovely hour of relaxing pony trekking. A fantastic sunny day, a gorgeous pony and a relaxing ride around. What more could you ask for!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 99SusieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rothiemurchus Quad Bike Trekking & Segway”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As newbies we three thoroughly enjoyed our first Quad Bike Trekking experience on the Rothiemurchus Estate, Cairngorms National Park. The bikes were easy enough to manage and the terrain beautiful and varied, helped by lovely warm sunshine on Bank Holiday Monday - unbelievable, particularly in Scotland! Dave looked after our trio well and wasn't too perturbed when we noticed that one participant had temporarily 'vanished' into thin air! (Turns out he wasn't far away but that his bike was requiring a bit of tlc - soon sorted). Final drive through the shallow river was great fun and we have a good selection of damp clothes, photos and a video to prove it! All surviving participants were awarded tin badge at the end, obviously now a much prized item! Seemed expensive at first but on comparing other sites, good value for money.

Confidence boosted by the quad trekking experience, we then signed up for an hour's Segway Adventure. Most difficult aspect was finding the starting point, as we weren't looking for a horse-box type vehicle in the middle of an unmarked field! Sensibly the flat open field was initially vital to allow us to get to grips with the balance system, though everyone managed it sooner or later (including your decrepid author here who had a hip replacement a year ago!) Not sure that the combination of segway learners and frisky horses in the same field would be an ideal combination for some people though. As skills improved our terrain became more varied and challenging but nothing too uncomfortable. Segway - certainly a bit of fun and the answer to a couch potato's prayer!

Special thanks for allowing our epileptic son to try both these experiences. Life can be very difficult for the slightly disabled as due to over zealous Health & Safety regs they are often forced to avoid any minimally risky activity and land up living a boring 'cottonwool' life!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TinTinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fishing at Rothiemurchus”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fished on the lochs three times during the week and had very good results each day. The setting of the trout lochs are very good, with excellent bank fishing from most points around the loch. You should catch sight of a fishing osprey during most days.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rothiemurchus also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Rothiemurchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing