We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish charm”
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place is fantastic! The rooms are spacious and beautifully clean with good facilities in the bathroom, but the most special thing about this hotel is the décor in the restaurants and bar. Tartan carpets, tartan wallpaper, deer antlers for lights, hunting prints, all make for a special atmosphere. The food is superb - we experienced the Highland Buffet dinner which was amazing, full of new taste sensations. The breakfasts are also fantastic. The bar was rocking at night with a Highland Band, however the rooms were super quiet. Aviemore is a great base for exploring the Highlands.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 808 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

"Do you do gluten free food?"
"Yes, here's the menu"
"Yeah, but which dishes are gluten free?!"
"Er... all of them? It's our gluten free menu?"
"Oh, yeah, right, thanks.... sorry."

We only ate at the hotel, we didn't stay overnight, but I wouldn't hesitate to, the staff were really friendly and helpful. Great place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank trippetytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

i use the cairngorm as a base once or twice a year to photograph the wildlife in the area .the staff are always friendly and helpful. the morning maker breakfast sets you up for the days activities .i cannot recommened this hotel enough.good location,good food,nice rooms what more do you need .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here with friends for the Aviemore half marathon weekend. It was, as you would expect, very busy but there were plenty of staff available took after you. Took a nightcap in the lounge area at reception and it was really comfy. Breakfast was busy with runners and the staff ensures that special requests were dealt with for those who didn't want the full works. Really comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep. Would Definately visit again and next time will try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have not stayed overnight in this hotel, but if the sticky toffee pudding is anything to go by, then it will be the best overnight stay you will ever have ! ! The portions are huge and If you are a sweet toothed person then I say bugger the proper food, just go for dessert ! My son has the chocolate fudge cake when we go and I can report that he says it is just as good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nic0la1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great hotel, great location, great food & great staff! Not much left to say except would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again next time in Aviemore. The breakfast is cooked to order and great choice to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Largs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We go to the Cairngorm Hotel to enjoy the hotel and the pub and the location, not for a night out at a restaurant. We go to Aviemore as a starting point into the Highlands, where we treasure our explorations of the Spey Valley, the Rothiemurchus Forest, and the Cairngorms. The Cairngorm Hotel is a perfect location to enjoy each of these. It offers friendly hospitality, comfortable rooms, and a pub with character. Our breakfasts each morning have been delightful, but we agree that the evening fare is sometimes a disappointment and overpriced. So, if you are staying at the hotel, choose wisely. The menu offers some excellent dishes at reasonable prices, and there are plenty of other local places to eat. Enjoy the romantic hotel, have a blast in the pub, and catch some great live music, especially Graeme MacKay and Tweed. Enjoy the bagpipes of Spud the Piper. Return from your extreme outdoor adventures each day and snuggle into your comfortable, cozy room. Start each day with a great breakfast and pick up your supplies within short walks around Aviemore. To sum it up, the Caingorm Hotel has a lot going for it. It's not perfect, but it is definitely an EXCELLENT choice if you want to spend some time in this beautiful region!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce and Lela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $121 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing