We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service a joke”
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food and service a joke”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Was in for Sunday lunch and was appalled.should have took heed of the couple at next table and left before ordering.Starter was cold and main was not freshly cooked.was served by a Yorkshire man whom doubled up as Manuel from faulty towers.spilled chips over my partner and saw him cope wine bottle on another table.Ate here several times in the past and it has declined some what considerably.wont be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond4367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    242
    62
    19
    26
See reviews for
163
332
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a fantastic evening wining and dining at the Cairngorm Hotel. We stayed locally to this hotel but went for evening dinner. We received a very warm welcome and great service from the start. The food was great and the staff friendly and helpful. It has a really nice atmosphere, and we were made to feel very comfortable. Well worth a visit and a listen to the bagpiper too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having been walking in the area for a week we were recommended this hotel for good value food. We were seated quickly, our order taken and were eating within 10 minutes. The food was adequate but not piping hot or particularly crisp - I think some of had been part cooked in advance.

Here's my gripe. I'm in my 40s, not 20s and do not expect the waiter to refer to us as "Guys" or "mate"; it's not Pizza Hut. If I'm paying for service then a bit of Sir and Madam action would be appreciated.

Other than that, all was acceptable for the price. Rant over.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Cairngorm Hotel for dinner whilst in Aviemore. Once we had gotten over the overload of tartan, stag antlers on the wall Tec( they don't let you forget it's a Scottish Hotel!) we were very impressed by the helpfulness and attentiveness of the staff. The restaurant was extremely busy but the three waitresses managed very well. The food was quite quick to arrive and was delicious, but once we had received our course we were left in peace to enjoy it. A very good atmosphere, very enjoyable food and helpful staff. Can't ask for much more. As we didn't stay there I can't comment on the rooms, but if you're in Aviemore I'd certainly try it for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mickeyblue1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cairngorm. Our evening meal was fantastic and the breakfast was very hearty! Staff were kind and helpful. Wish it had an elevator but we understood the reason. Would come back and will recommend to other travelers.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cairistiona60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here Friday 24th May thru to Sunday 26th, we could not fault anything about this hotel a good central location. All the staff very friendly, rooms clean and everything you need is in there. As for the food everything was cooked to the highest standard a great selection on the menus. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends and family and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had lunch here on Sunday, at a very busy Sunday lunch time, with family including two elderly aunts. I was a bit doubtful that, with such an extensive menu, the quality of food might suffer. I need not have worried! There was a wonderful choice including a 'seniors' menu with smaller portions suitable for those with smaller appetites. They were also happy to serve me two starter size portions without question. (Some places look at you as if you'd asked for polar bear stuffed with strawberries)
The service was excellent and the staff - and there were plenty of them - were helpful and friendly.
We sat in the lounge after lunch and there was no pressure put on us to move.
We will definitely go back as this place is a central for our family members to gather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Property: Cairngorm Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing