We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, local, convenient”
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A nice, clean and traditional hotel. The rooms were small but well equipped and clean. The staff was professional. The food in the restaurant was good, and the breakfast diverse and satisfying. The bar was fun and they had locally brewed Cairngorns beer on tap. Like everything in Aviemore, everything was in walking distance, including some wonderful morning walks in nature.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Donald_Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for Cairngorm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 778 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for a quiet wedding at St John the Baptist but anyone who loves Aviemore will know that once the word is out!
Fabulous room, fantastic friendly staff and great food.
Will never stay anywhere else in Aviemore now.
Thanks for making our week amazing guys. x

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had read some reviews complaining about the rooms being small, all I can say is that the room we had was a good size. The service we received was excellent and being able to sit in the large and comfortable foyer was a bonus. The room was clean and serviced daily. the bathroom was not the biggest but was adequate. The shower was powerful abeing a height where I could stand up straight - I am 6ft 1. There was a large choice at breakfast which included cheese, meat, fruit, cereal, porridge, kippers and the usual hot items, the hot items are all served to your table.
The only criticism from my wife was that there was not a lot of storage space. We will certainly be returning to this hotel in the future.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ALASTAIRCOMPSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I recently stayed two nights at this hotel with my husband. It is in a good location with ample parking. There were a few things I found disappointing - the room we were allocated was clearly a twin room with the beds pushed together meaning only one bedside table and out of line head boards. The room was very dark making it impossible to put make up on and on the second night (Friday) there was a band playing until the early hours which we had not been warned about. There was no way to regulate the temperature other than by opening the window - which with the noise either meant it was way too hot or way too noisy! Breakfast is badly laid out and was disappointing. I had heard good things about this hotel from the locals, but sadly I was unimpressed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited the hotel for Sunday lunch, wishing to avoid fast-food and chain-type places. It was admittedly at the back-end of lunch time, but what we got was so awful that I felt I never wanted to stop in Aviemore again, let alone at this hotel! The roast lamb was luke-warm and the vegetables were stone cold; and I have never seen such unappealing mint sauce - a sort of greyish-brown sludge. The lasagne was made of soapy, overcooked pasta and topped with processed cheese and ketchup. Inedible, all of it. We were so hungry after a long journey we tried, but thought a review on tripadvisor would carry more weight than complaining.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel location, situated as it is directly opposite the railway station, is ideal.
The hotel staff were friendly, patient and efficient, which was as well as a visiting family did not want to understand that dogs are not allowed in restaurants!
Although the breakfast was superlative, the room was a little under standard inasmuch that there was no way to regulate the aambient temperature, and when running a bath the cold water supply was mimimal. There were only two tea bags available, rather short change for an evening and overnight stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the station have a fine view of the mountain range.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrewerColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

As part of my cycle ride from John O'Groats to Lands End i stopped off here purely by accident as i pulled a muscle in my knee, the hotel let me and my father put our bikes in a secured room in the back of the hotel, rates were very reasonable for the quality of room, if i were in Avimore or even near by i would definately stay here again.

The only reason i gave the room 4/5 is dure to it having a slightly dodgy lock but thats just me being fussy.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffpalmeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
224 reviews
9.9 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $128 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing