We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent location, friendly service, Cyclists welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Exellent location, friendly service, Cyclists welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

As part of my cycle ride from John O'Groats to Lands End i stopped off here purely by accident as i pulled a muscle in my knee, the hotel let me and my father put our bikes in a secured room in the back of the hotel, rates were very reasonable for the quality of room, if i were in Avimore or even near by i would definately stay here again.

The only reason i gave the room 4/5 is dure to it having a slightly dodgy lock but thats just me being fussy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffpalmeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    239
    62
    19
    25
See reviews for
159
326
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Our room at the front of the hotel was very small but comfortable. The bathroom was tiny. The outside of the hotel is lovely and the atmosphere in the lounge and restaurant is pleasant with some Scottish charm. The food and service was exceptional. Noise can be a bit of a problem so it is best to ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible. Our friend had a room in the back that was quiet. There is free wireless available in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspiring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEART O SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

As usual our yearly visit to aviemore is almost upon us so i decided in the passing to call in for a meal at this stunning hotel in the heart of aviemore. again i was not to be disappointed wonderful food served by cheery staff where nothing was too much trouble. going for our golf weekend in september and look forward to using their hospitality again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGKEVHeartOScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was our second visit to the Cairngorn hotel, having previously come for dinner and drinks in the evening, we were really looking forward to our one night stay before our return drive home to Wales. Having paid £100 for the night, and compared to the lovely traditional interior of the hotel restaurant and bar, we were sadly disappointed with our room which was tired looking and rather small. The bathroom was in need of refurbishment and wasn't as clean as you would expect. Unfortunately, we were also unlucky with the location of our room, which was directly over the bar area. We knew the hotel was lively and that there would be a band playing in the evening, which was fine with us and arguably part of the hotel's charm. What we didn’t know however, was that the live band would be playing until 1am with the bar only becoming quiet at 2am. We might as well have slept in the bar itself in terms of noise levels! When I phoned down to reception to enquire about the possibility of changing rooms, they were fully booked. Our main frustration was that we felt we should have been informed of lateness of the live music either on booking or at least on check in, as we would have negotiated a different room or moved hotel. When talking to the staff on check out the next day, they quoted the hotel's website in which it is described as 'lively' but lively to me is a band until 11pm not a rather unsociable 1am. Be warned, it is definitely worth checking this when booking if you are planning to stay at the weekend and would actually like a decent night’s sleep! It’s such a shame to write a more negative review, as this is otherwise a very charming hotel and in a great location, it just felt as though the entertainment provided was at the expense of the paying hotel guests. To their credit, we were provided with a 20% refund when raising this the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and facing the back of the hotel for a quieter stay. I would also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveLoveToTravel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Friendly efficient staff, excellent food, great atmosphere, great entertainment. Could not fault it and will definately go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I and my partner had the sincere pleasure of staying in the Cairn Hotel for two days.We simply needed a break away from our hecticwork schedule, and chose to stay at the Cairn hotel. Taking our two dogs with us was just such an added bonus. The room with en suite was spotless. Nice size and over looked the mountains. The breakfast was well cooked and plentifull. We had two evening meals in the hotel at a very reasonable price considering the outstanding choice. All food cooked to an exeptional high standard. All staff throughout the hotel were very smart in appearance and extremely friendly and polite. We were delighted to be there when the evening entertainment consisted of three talented musicians (Fiddle , accordian and drums) What a night. I cannot praise this hotel enough. A very reasonable priced hotel with very high standards. We will, without a doubt stay there again. What also was impressive was the local knowledge of things to do. All staff were equally versed no matter who we asked help from.

Room Tip: Dont even bother looking elsewhere. You would be silly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Cairngorm Hotel in Aviemore is my favourite hotel in Scotland, It's very traditional (lots of tartan and stags heads on the walls!) and makes you feel very warm & welcome. It's really a marvelous place, the staff are very friendly and helpful, It's a great location, It has a very cosy feel, the rooms are spacious, clean and very vintage in a classy way, and the food Is amazing, you're gaurenteed a great breakfast here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl0tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Property: Cairngorm Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing