We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have just had another great lunch here.We always visit the 'Cairn' whenever we go to Aviemore which is quite often.Every time you go here you will be met with a smile by the staff as they are all so friendly.The bar has a great feel and atmosphere to it.
As for the food well its magic always cooked fresh and arrives hot.We usually have the soup and a sandwich excellent value,home made soup and freshly prepared sandwiches you just cant beat it and they are so filling.The bar its self has a very good selection of beers and spirits and you could easily pass a couple of hours here before you know it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    238
    62
    19
    25
See reviews for
158
325
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Brilliant hotel in the heart of Aviemore. Central and ideally located for all local activities on offer - and there are lots. The service was second to none. The room was very clean, tidy and tastfully decorated. We ate in the hotel on our second night and again the service and food were outstanding. The bar seems to be the hub of Aviemore with nightly entertainment on offer. Would highly reccomend this hotel. And will most definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Did not stay at this hotel but had lovely 3 course Sunday lunch for 2 people with 2 soda & limes for £28.50 great friendly staff great table service nice old surroundings in the dining area you can also have other menus in the lounge bar with conservatory but is more noisier.

Would recommend to all ages including family with small children

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

My friend and I were on a long winter climbing weekend in the cairngorms.

The hotel was superbly situated just opposite the station. The staff were friendly and well trained.

The food was tremendous with huge quantities (great mountain food!) and however busy the hotel was, the service was always prompt. The bar was lively but friendly and I didnt hear any noise once I got to my room.

Would return without hesitation

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I booked this hotel again after staying here 4 years ago and i was not disappointed.
This hotel has a very wide gluten free menu with foods that taste fantasic. It is in a great location, the rooms were clean and comfy and the staff were all very friendly & helpful
Food and atmosphere was so good we didnt even leave the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked this on the way to a Winter Skills Course at Glenmore Lodge. It was excellent - just opp the station. V friendly, nice room and huge breakfast. Good soup too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

A friend and I booked a weekend in Aviemore so that I could tick skiing off my bucket list. The location of the hotel is perfect, being opposite the rail station in the main street and withing walking distance of all the town amenities but you would need transport to the ski slopes which are about 9 miles away. Hotel parking was not a problem and the reception area like the rest of the hotel is welcoming with all things Scottish everywhere ( tartan carpets, suits of armor and pictures of bygone Scottish people). We were able to check in early, our room being on the 2nd floor but alas, and this was honestly the only downside, no lift, so a bit of a trek up the stairs. Not so bad for us, but not so good for the elderly or infirm ( I would be classed as elderly by anyone under 30, but definitely not infirm yet).
The room was small but clean and well presented and had everything we needed. We decided to set about exploring the town and other local hostelries and to discreetly enquire with willing locals as to important matters like nightlife, food and drink. We kept getting the same response that the Cairngorm was the best choice for all of that, which was encouraging.
The bar at the Cairngorm is large and really nice, with a mixture of all ages, locals and visitors alike. The bar staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome and having sampled at least 4 other bars in town we decided to stay there in the evenings. There is live music most evenings and on the Saturday night, the place was packed out due to the popularity of the musicians who were playing that evening. The atmosphere reminded me of a night out in the Temple Bar, Dublin with traditional music played with unbridled frenzy. Busy though it was, there was no pushing or shoving to get a drink and the whole place felt really comfortable. There is a separate restaurant, plus food also available in the bar and outer areas. We elected to eat in the restaurant, and despite being very busy we were found a table promptly. The menu is good and well priced and after having eaten breakfast there earlier, I had no worries about the food.
The speed at which we were served was nothing short of a miracle and the entire service was fantastic. It is really refreshing to go to a restaurant where the food is perfect, the service is exceptional and there is absolutely nothing to complain about- I was really impressed.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will return to the Cairngorm but give the skiing a wide berth as infirmity may have begun to set in, or maybe the whiskey seemed a better choice. Incidentally there are a number of nice bars and restaurants around the town, but the Cairngorm suited us just fine with less of a walk in the freezing cold later.
The Cairngorm is great value for money and a really good choice if you are staying in Aviemore or even just passing through en route to even more remoter and colder places further north and you will not be disappointed if you go there, unless you are anti Scottish or don't like their music.




  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smiffy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Property: Cairngorm Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing