We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speyside Special”
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

As a base for Highland exploration this has a lot to commend it - right in the centre of the village with parking at door and station opposite. Being one of the original hostelries on Speyside it has character which means it is dated but has charm (our Croatian daughter-in-law adored the staghorn chandelier). Breakfasts were the special treat - cooked to order and perfection with tea that was hot - a rarity in hotels. The bedroom was small but comfortable with a fine view of the rain stotting of neighbouring rooftops and mist-clad mountains. Try and pick a spell with good weather and it can be like paradise.

Room Tip: Stairs to climb - no lift
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for Cairngorm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 778 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

The rooms may be a little tired but the feel of the place is very friendly and efficient. The hotel bar is always busy and I have to say the quiz night (Tuesdays) was good fun. As has been stated by many others before, the food is excellent and plentiful. The "infamous" burger will satiate the healthiest of appetites.
I don't think there is any doubt that should we have reason to stay in Aviemore again The Cairngorm Hotel will be our first choice for accommodation and certainly for food!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SonoftheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights, travelling on my own to meet up with a friend staying in the area. The Cairngorm Hotel couldn't be handier for the station. Staff were friendly and helpful. My room was exceptionally well appointed and spotless.Breakfast was ample, well cooked and tasty. I was extremely happy!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opporchancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Very friendly,helpful and welcoming staff made our short stay a very pleasurable experience. Hotel is in an excellent location for everything Aviemore has to offer. It sits directly across the road from the railway station, shops are nearby and attractions are within easy reach. An ideal location for a base in Aviemore. The Strathspey Railway Preservation Society operates a variety of rail trips on a steam train from the station just opposite, the catering and waiting staff being provided by the Cairngorm Hotel. We went on the dinner excursion and the food and service was absolutely fabulous. Well worth doing one of the trips and making it special by having lunch, dinner or afternoon tea on board the train. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough and its staff ought to be commended for their level of hospitality and friendliness. A true Scottish asset.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine504060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night with two friends. First thing to be aware of is that they operate a non-refundable deposit system - not, in my experience a common practice in hotels and clearly there's a risk involved (e.g. your plans have to change). We arrived at midday but couldn't check-in (fair enough) so had lunch in the hotel which was disappointing (how difficult can it be to make a decent sandwich). The beer was cloudy and virtually undrinkable, and we tried two different ones which both came from the brewery down the road (so you'd have thought the hotel would make sure they kept the beer properly). On the more positive side, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms pretty good and the breakfast much better than the lunch. The location in the town is also good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Only had a single night stay, but enjoyed our visit.

Decent sized room, clean and comfortable and decent breakfast served in tradtional dining room

Enjoyed the pub and especially the food. Normally wary of huge menu's, but our meals where freshly prepared with good quality local ingedients.

Incredibly busy on the Saturday night, but the organisation of the dining room ran like clockwork, with only a short wait for a table. Once seated the food arrived quickly and was superb. Decent pint of local ale, and live entertainment in the bar capped a great evening.

Will look forward to visit ing again when in the area

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forresters6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Clean room, lovely foyer and dinner was nice. Staff polite. Free wifi in foyer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloebyrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
224 reviews
9.9 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $128 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing