We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room. Good breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Clean room. Good breakfasts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is quite old and has seen refurbishments over the years but it is a comfy enough hotel, the rooms are average sized with basic furnishings TV etc. The bathroom is clean and tidy with guest toiletry products provided, however the shower was subject to pressure fluctuations, sometimes the water disappeared altogether. There are two small lifts which claim to take 8 persons but I would hate to be in one with more than 4 others. Highlight for me were the breakfasts, well served food and well trained staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillcrestroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear hillcrestroad
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel accommodating for your needs. Thank you for your feedback on our staff – I am delighted to hear that they were professional and made you feel welcome.
Please note that your comments regarding the shower has been taken on board.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    32
    36
    28
See reviews for
20
45
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was with a Trafalgar Tour and stayed here in July for 2 nights. Should have realised this was going to be a nightmare hotel from the first instance. The lift only takes 4 people max. My room was down the end of a passage that you had to go through several doors to get to. After going through the last fire door this musty smell became apparent. When I entered the room it was stifling. The smell, which was like damp and disgusting, was overwhelming. After sometime I managed to open the window a couple of inches. I left the window open all night and left it open the next day in the hope this would air out the room. Unfortunately whilst I was gone whoever did the room closed it, so I once again had to deal with the stench. After I left that hotel I soon found out the stench had permeated my suitcase and the clothes within. Three weeks later and I am home and the suitcase still smells. Now as for the meals. We had set menus and I barely touched any of the meals as they were unedible. It was like they were not used to dealing with the number of people booked in. Never go there, its worse than you can imagine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Susan M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always appreciate all guest feedback.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and had an unpleasant experience. I do wish you would have spoken with us during your stay in order for us to rectify the issue right away and perhaps find you an alternative room that would have been more accommodating for you.
Please be assured that we have taken all your comments on board – if you do however feel you would like to discuss you feedback more privately please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were warned before alighting from the tour bus, that this wasn't your "Four Seasons' but it would definitely be clean and warm. These would definitely be our trip director's 'famous last words'. The room was dreadful...threadbare carpets, scratched and damaged furniture, threadbare and holey blankets, 1 chair for a 2 person room, sink not fully attached to wall, leaking toilet, loose toilet seat, dusty and dirty and cold. The room was so cold when we returned from dinner ( an equally dreadful offering) it seemed as though the heating had been turned off and it was only 8 pm. We rang reception, which took awhile to answer because we were later told that it is not attended after 8pm, to ask about the heating and to request an extra blanket as the room did not have one. After 4 calls and a 1 hour wait in a very cold bed and room, a blanket arrived albeit holey which matched the sheets.The staff had to borrow a blanket from another hotel in the area as they had ran out of blankets. Perhaps because all guests were cold because there was no heating on this cold May evening. It was a horrible experience and we expected a much better standard of room on a First Class Trafalgar Tour. It would have ranked lower than a budget standard room and should not have been put into use. Next morning we learnt that the hotel had just opened for the Spring so it was expected that during the break that all rooms would be repaired, refreshed and ready for the new season. It is this type of room in this type of hotel that affects peoples' choice of tours. This was not as represented on the website. Regardless of my thorough research, we ended up in this stale, sad,smelly and sorrowful room and hotel. It really added a sour note to the last days of our tour of Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrismSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear chrismSydney
Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our Four Seasons Hotel. We always strive to offer the best service available for out guests, so I am sad to hear that you did not feel this was the case during your stay with us.
Please be assured that all your comments have been taken on board, and we have discussed your review with all relevant departments involved with the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

If you do feel you would like to discuss your points made in more detail – please do not hesitate to contact us directly for a more private and detailed interaction.

Thank you again for your time taken to write a review.

Best regards
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rooms are very small and need upgrading. The staff we dealt with were very good, but witnessed some rude behaviour towards other guests in the main building. There was a group of poorly behaved and poorly supervised students there, so maybe they were stressed. The pool was not the best, as it had a low water level. Not sure if they were doing some maintenance or if it was always like that. It is located close to lots of pubs, restaurants and shopping. The views in the surrounding area made up for the basic rooms. And all the bunnies hopping about on the grounds were fun to watch and photograph. Breakfast was included and was quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxjudyStanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MaxjudyStanford
Thank you for the time taken to write a review as we always appreciate guest feedback.
I am happy to hear that the staff you encountered was welcoming and that you enjoyed the location and breakfast provided.

Please be assured that your comments regarding the room have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant department.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I first thought that someone had made a mistake,the car park was deserted,the reception,public bar area looked like it had been shut down for years.The very aging lift could only take 4 people.Oh My the room,you know that smell you get when something has'nt been aired for a long time,not to mention the worn carpet with holes everywhere. I could go on an tell you about the bed,shower,toilet etc etc but I'm sure you can see where its leading to.To end on a humerous note I had to ring down to reception to get a non slip mat for the shower in the bath,the man on the desk said "I'm really busy right now as I have a few jobs to do I don't know where I can get a mat so I will get back to you as soon as I can"God love him he did find a mat for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmac705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear bmac705
Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel during your stay – an ongoing investment in the resort will ensure that the we will be able to offer to best possible guest service.
Please be assured that all of your comments have been noted and passed on to relevant department.

We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again and thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just want to say the staff here are fantastic place is so clean food is great we travelled in group of 6 we all ate well we had a ball drinks are reasonable priced also leisure facilies are great so clean also

Room Tip: we stayed in lodges but all looked amazing to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Tracey L
Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and the staff. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August. It is one of the hotels in the Macdonald Aviemore Resort. The public areas in the hotel itself are really tired and, at least in the summer, it seems to cater mainly for coach tours. The place was literally deserted when we walked in but we found our way over to central resort check in 2-3 minutes walk away. Breakfast was also provided in the central resort food court-this was an average but ok hotel buffet affair. Rooms are pretty dated but do score on having lots of space and were very clean. The resort leisure centre, about 5 minutes walk from this hotel is still good with a big family pool and excellent gym. The stay was good value especially as we were able to have a room for ourselves and an adjoining room for the kids for what it would have cost for one room at other hotels nearby. Overall a hotel worth staying in if you can get a good rate for a short stay. If you want to stay for longer in this resort the rental lodges look good.

Room Tip: Aim for upper floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank je22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.8 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing