We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard work”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of CairnGorm Mountain

CairnGorm Mountain
Ranked #8 of 45 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CairnGorm Mountain is a great place to visit at any time of year. Ride the UK's highest funicular to just below the summit of Cairn Gorm, enjoy a walk with a Ranger or on one of the self guided routes. In winter, enjoy great snowsports on 30km of pisted runs suitable for beginners to experts. Lunch at the UK's highest restaurant, shop for gifts or mountain essentials and depart with unforgettable memories of this unique place.
Coachford, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“hard work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Cairngorm mountain was hard work as a ski destination goes .On the 3 days that we visited it the resort was really busy and visibility was awful, so skiing was almost impossible. I think that the mountain pass office should tell patrons that conditions on the mountain are bad each day to save people from a bad experience. I saw at least 4 people evacuated from the mountain so it is also dangerous. really disappointed in my visit to Scotland

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnGormMountain, Public Relations Manager at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your visit with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us, but hope to answer some of the points that you have raised.

I understand that the poor visibility on the days of your visit must have been frustrating. I would like to emphasize however that the weather remains an element elusive of our span of control. As a result of this we aim to communicate the current weather and skiing conditions to our customers in order to provide them with the information that they require to make a decision regarding skiing at CairnGorm or not. We update our website regularly from as early as 6.30am each morning. We also use our social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter, combined with a recorded message on our phone-line to ensure that our customers are aware of the conditions before joining us on any given day.

If any customer is in any doubt about snowsports conditions we would encourage them to check the most recent updates before heading to our site. If anyone is still unsure about whether or not purchase a snowsports tickets the members of our customer services team or site ambassadors would be happy to advise you on the conditions.

We are sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with your experience with us, however a large proportion of our customers travel many miles to visit us at CairnGorm Mountain and we are proud that we provide a service that people are happy to travel long distances to experience. We believe that by maximizing the communication outlets that we offer, our customers are able to make their own decision about whether conditions are suitable for their group, with further advise always available on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    527
    176
    80
    52
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Go up on the Mountain Railway. Even the timid will feel comfortable on the short journey and the only thing that will take your breath away will be the views you enjoy from 'the top of the world'!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank toptrumps_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cairngorm Moutain Railway”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a disgusting trip on this railway. We were herded in worse than Ryanair passengers, far too many in the carriage which seemed to have absolutely no restrictions.
I was jammed in with people who physically leant against me for the whole journey. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. I will never return to this area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnGormMountain, Public Relations Manager at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your visit with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us, but hope to answer some of the points that you have raised.

The funicular railway is a major form of transportation for many skiers and boarders during peak snowsports times. The capacity of the funicular railway is 120, however we chose to reduce this to 100 people in the Winter months due to the equipment that snowsports customers require.

In the event that one of our customers feels unsatisfied with their experience, we would like to encourage them to approach a member of staff. At CairnGorm Mountain we are proud to provide a high level of customer service that many customers travel long distances to experience, and we are confident that if any unsatisfied customer approaches a member of staff we will be able to ensure that their expectations are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Walking and cycling at its best.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Marvellous area for walking in the hills and many trails near to Aviemore.Cycled to the mountain car park and freewheeled back to Glenmore,absolute buzz worth the effort of getting up there.The old logging path is also a wonderful route back to Aviemore particularly with the snow on the ground and the backdrop of the mountains.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trippersday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Skiing in Cairngorms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just com back from a week Skiing on the Cairngorm mountain. Aviemore is a lovely location to go skiing because there are so many other outdoor activities to do as well, from dog sledging to just going to see the reindeer. The moutain itself had very good snow all week so skiing was great although the weather on a few occasions was a bit rough at the top of the muontain to say the least, which if you are a beginner can be a bit daunting, my partner had never been skiing before and felt she was fast tracked through thesking lesson, jumping onto next thing before she was confident with the previous thing. it seems ski school was more set up for people who were there for a couple of days rather than longer. but apart from that the actual slopes were great. really enjoyed it. Be aware that if the weather is nice at the bottom it isnt to say it will be nice up thw top of the mountain, on our first day it was lovely at the bottom but 40 mile an hour winds and -30 at the top with almost blizzard conditions Still a great ski down for the brave. really good setup on the mouitain though for ski safety.. Nice place to ski could get a bit boring for the hard core skiers a nd boarders though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CairnGorm Mountain also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to CairnGorm Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing