We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting”
Review of CairnGorm Mountain

CairnGorm Mountain
Ranked #8 of 44 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CairnGorm Mountain is a great place to visit at any time of year. Ride the UK's highest funicular to just below the summit of Cairn Gorm, enjoy a walk with a Ranger or on one of the self guided routes. In winter, enjoy great snowsports on 30km of pisted runs suitable for beginners to experts. Lunch at the UK's highest restaurant, shop for gifts or mountain essentials and depart with unforgettable memories of this unique place.
Larkhall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

excellent trip if you can see the view
If you cant see the top from the carpark dont get on train as there wont be any views from the cafe

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDLarkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,063
    530
    178
    81
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

deffo worth a day out - perfect for all the family - educational fun and exhilarating :) skiing there is sooo good weather you are a beginner or pro everyone is welcome, the railway is fun, and at the top you a yummy delish hot chocolate. :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel_angel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went here for skiing well organised and the train that takes you to the top is great the restaurant at the top is madly busy all the time no tables to sit at and a night mare to even more around in there. If you are on a ski lesson this is where they will stop for lunch a real pain as you have no choice but to go in there.
The view from up the top of the mountain is amazing well worth going up there stunning don't miss this one.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not got a clue”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Travelled to the cairngorm today got to the snow gates at 9 o clock and told the hill was shut no updates on web site so I wasted £20 of fuel for nothing then I went the following week and the staff let someone get on the train with a ice axe the guy turned around and took my brand new Oakley goggles out the game and left me with blurred vision for 3 days in one eye emailed the cairngorm no reply phoned them and they still never replied I and my friends have been season ticket holders for over 6 years and I think we will all be leaving and going to Nevis range it's sad when the head of the mountain can't even send you a reply £270 for season ticket £150 for a pair of goggles and a sore face and eye great

Helpful?
Thank Kingoftree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Efficient and comfortable service to access Britain's second highest mountain. Drinks and snacks at restaurant at the top seemed expensive but food is reasonably priced. We used Tesco vouchers to pay for furnicular railway, this would be expensive if we had paid cash for what is a short journey.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank T68teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CairnGorm Mountain also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to CairnGorm Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing