We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly Run, Rude and Never Open”
Review of CairnGorm Mountain

CairnGorm Mountain
Ranked #8 of 45 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CairnGorm Mountain is a great place to visit at any time of year. Ride the UK's highest funicular to just below the summit of Cairn Gorm, enjoy a walk with a Ranger or on one of the self guided routes. In winter, enjoy great snowsports on 30km of pisted runs suitable for beginners to experts. Lunch at the UK's highest restaurant, shop for gifts or mountain essentials and depart with unforgettable memories of this unique place.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travelled up to for a weekend skiing to the resort and found some key problems with the resort as follows:

a) It tends to be windy and occassionally snowy on top of a mountain, it seems that they automatically shut the majority of runs when this occurs.

b) A power cut occurred out of their control and we were waiting to pick up our pre booked tickets the staff were rude and when told we had to join a huge que because of a computer error did not even apologise.

c) In the highly unlikely event of them actually running the lifts the main train is slow with around 30 minutes at best to get you up the hill. They wait till its full before they go.

I would advise that they all take a trip to the Alps see how you run a resort and start again.

very poor don't bother.

2  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnGormMountain, Public Relations Manager at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your visit with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us, but hope to answer some of the points that you have raised.

The funicular can run in wind speeds of up to 75mph with our additional 10 lifts being able to operate in wind speeds of up to around 50mph. This can vary depending on the wind direction. When we experience wind speeds in excess of these, such as the 114mph recorded today, we are forced to shut down the appropriate uplift for safety reasons. We hope that skiers would recognize however, that snowsports in these conditions would be extremely dangerous and we would certainly discourage people from taking such risks.

As a result of the power cut that we experienced on the day of your visit, computer errors did occur. We apologise for this inconvenience, but would also like to reiterate your point that this was “out of our control” and that our staff worked extremely hard to maintain a high customer service. This impressed many of our customers who praised us on how we dealt with the situation on the day. One such comment posted on the Winter Highland website was particularly positive:

“Before we even arrived at the hill we’d read the early morning condition report (6:30am onwards), the power going off, then the power returning. All very timely and accurate. On site helpful and cheery ambassadors were out in force managing the ticket queue, provided updates on weather, piste conditions, and letting us know that by the time we arrived at the office we’d be getting half day tickets. All the lifties we met were helpful, giving out instruction to boarders struggling with T-bars, helping little ones onto lifts, providing cheerful observations. The food in the ptarmigan was excellent, very tasty sausages. The snow itself was excellent and the conditions of the pistes well maintained. It made for a fantastic day. Well done Cairngorm.”

As a business, it is in our best interest to be able to provide uplift as efficiently as possible. It is as a result of this that the mountain railway was implemented, and has since allowed us to transport our customers along the 1.8 kilometre journey in just 4 minutes. The funicular is able to operate at a turnover rate of less than 10 minutes with a capacity of over 100 skiers and boarders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,745 - 1,749 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We loved the ride up in the Funicular. You get a fantastic view going up and coming back down. The. View from the top is breathtaking but remember it is very cold up there. You can get a walk from the Funicular to the top with a guide but only if the weather is ok. The weather changes so quickly one minute you have a great view and within seconds you can be in the mist. Fabulous

Thank DILLICHIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

if you love the adredalina and enjoy outdoor sports this is the right place, I had my first snowboarding experience was amazing and highly recommendable.

Thank jcunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We came to the Mountain to show the children snow for the first time. The trip up the Funicular Railway was exciting and the snow was plentiful. It was -5oC at the top and there were plenty people skiing. We threw snow at eachother and then had hot chocolate in the cafe. We would have booked some skiing lessons and had a go but the lessons were for 4 hours and we didn't have enough time to fit it in. The visibilty was poor at the top but great from the half way point. I imagine it has marvellous views from there during summer and spring. We would go again if we were in area in the future.

Thank 123JTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is Scottish Skiing at its best, when the weather is great (as it was just before Christmas and on Boxing Day) then it is awesome with great snow and loads of ski area on and off piste. When the weather is not so great (New Year) then it will really help to improve your skiing and test your commitment to your sport to the full.

The team do a fantastic job of offering whatever they can and as long as you except you are in Scotland not Canada then its brilliant!

Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CairnGorm Mountain also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to CairnGorm Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing