We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never felt so unwelcome.....................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Ministers Guest House
Ranked #15 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ukfamily
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Never felt so unwelcome.....................”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We notified the owner at time of booking that we would be late after a 5 hour drive .We were appalled that she had taken the liberty to raise the alarm with our home that we had not arrived by 730.The welcome was no example of Scottish hospitality."Did we not know that all b and bs in GB have an arrival time between 4 and 6?" "Did we not know I might have something to do?"
Nice house apart from wafts of someone smoking - maybe her No Smoking policy needs as rigidly enforced as her arrivals policy!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
24 Thank dandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    12
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
114
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ditto SmilesScotland's review (Mum)

To add: I think Shelagh has upgrading plans for the B&B which will only enhance her guests experience. I am a bit of a 'Princess and The Pea' sleeper. My wishes were met Fairy Godmother style! Goose feather pillows and duvets would make this perfect!

Breakfast was exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hell2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a wonderful well appointed well furnished friendly B & B. The bedrooms area very generous size with great bathroom facility the use of special bathroom soaps and shampoos is a very nice touch. The whole trip was rounded off with a spectacular breakfast. The situation of this B & B is excellent for touring the Cairngorms National Park.

Room Tip: Highly recommend this B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We totally agree with everything that other reviews say about the excellence of this lovely B&B.
Even our elderly labrador was made welcome and several members of our family thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay whilst the others stayed on the nearby campsite. There were 16 of us in total including 8 children, so a huge thank you Shelagh for cooking a celebratory meal for us one evening. The setting, the meal, the wines and the spectacular sticky toffee pudding were a triumph, not to be forgotten. We look foward to returning as a couple one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmilesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

A very friendly and welcoming B&B where nothing is too much trouble for Shelagh, be that providing weather forecast print outs, arranging activities or advice and booking places to eat. Accommodation is superb and all food is home made and ingredients locally sourced. Shelagh has already upgraded the accommodation and decor in the public rooms to a very high standard and next on the list are the bedrooms which although very comfortable she plans to upgrade to the same high standard. Little personal touches include the sherry in your room, great tea and coffee making facilities and extensive toiletry range. A real Highland gem!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A really great place to stay. The guesthouse is furnished in a pretty country style, very clean, very cosy. The breakfast is really delicious and a lot of the food is self made. If you stay in that area, the Old Minister's House is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank We_love_travelling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST HELENS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the guest house at the end of May 2012 for 2 nights but wish it could have been longer! The entrance hall is really stunning and I knew straight away that the house was going to be special. The bedroom was very spacious with a lovely bathroom, all imacuately clean, Sheelagh, the owner only took over the property last year and has already refurbished the resident's lounge which was very comfortable and stylish and also the dining room. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and Sheelagh's attention to detail shone through. From the dining room window we could see many birds on the feeders, including a lesser spotted woodpecker. The guest house is in a great location, right on the main road to Loch Morlich, but it is very quiet and peaceful inside. Sheelagh was very friendly and helpful and even offered to give us a lift in her car to the start of a nearby walk. The guest house is excellent value for money and we hope to return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARIANStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
7.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ministers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ministers Guest House

Property: Old Ministers Guest House
Address: Rothiemurcus | Inverdruie, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT FROM 01 JUL 17 Friendly service with a smile The Old Ministers House is located at the foot of the Cairngorms and in the heart of the Rothiemurchus Estate. The Guest House is beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. For guests comfort, you will find in the sitting room - an honesty bar, log burning stove, an i-pad, dvd libary, free wi-fi and many more extras. In the bedrooms, there are slippers and gowns, a selection of teas, coffee and fresh milk and most importantly ... Sherry ! Packed lunch is available by prior arrangement. Sports equipment can be safely stored and wet clothes can be dried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Old Ministers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ministers Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing