We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathspey Steam Railway

Strathspey Steam Railway
Ranked #9 of 43 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Steam through the stunning Scottish Highlands in style.Our steam engines take you on a very special trip through the Cairngorms National Park as you travel between Aviemore, Boat of Garten and Broomhill.Why not make your trip extra special with one of our dining on board options: Light Lunch offers soup, sandwiches, tea and coffee; Afternoon Tea has some sandwiches, scones with jam and cream followed by some delicious cakes; or enjoy a full three course Sunday Lunch or Dinner. Why not upgrade to First Class to enjoy a meal in one of our compartments, finely decorated in it's own tartan, with vintage British Rail mirrors and luggage racks inside.Split your trip up with a visit to Boat of Garten to explore some fantastic walk trails or bring your bike on board to explore the great cycle routes in the area. See if you can beat the train back from Broomhill on your bike!We are also taking part in the Great Railway Treasure Hunt 2013, so there's plenty for the kids to do on the trip!
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I did the country class on a beautiful day and it was fantastic.

The train and facilities are very well maintained and presented. The high tea I was provided was delicious and plentiful and I was given the best side for views. The coaches are comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. There are some great characters (conductor, station hands, ticket man) on board who play their part and make it all the more fun and interesting.

Did I mention you get to ride on a steam train??!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank el_paulo_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    252
    87
    36
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Bodmin railway should visit this heritage railway to see how to handle customers properly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This railway is up there with the Bluebell, GWSR and the North York Moors railways. It is everything that the Bodmin line is not. Great scenery, value for money trip and staff who know how to make the experience worth while. We took the 12.30 train from Aviemore, (which is an overrated tourist trap) and got off at the Boat Of Garten stop after watching the train driver Stevie (who is the Count Arthur Strong of heritage railways) take on water for the trip up to Broomhill, we spent a pleasant lunchtime at the Boat Hotel opposite the station. After a couple of pints of a nice drop of splosh and a bowl of Cunen Skink, we caught the last train up to Broomhill and on the return had a nice cream tea as we watched the rain hammer down outside. On return to Aviemore, we had a further chat with Stevie the driver who told us of the plans the railway has to extend the line further as a bridge is about to be replaced in the next couple of weeks. Don't be put off by the railway's clunky web site, or their confusing brochure which leaves you wondering which way is up; this is an absolute gem of a place to visit and the stationmasters, ticket collectors, catering staff and above all, Stevie the driver from Doncaster, are terrific adverts for the railway. A really great day out, especially if you combine it with a stop at the Boat Hotel in Garten.
I wish them every success with their extension plans, and I don't understand why the Scottish government don't do more to promote tourism projects like these when they spend most on their time and money on less worthy but more politically correct Rob Roy ones. Give them the money, Aggie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Only a 19 mile round trip but what a great time we had. We weren't aware that you could book a lunch or tea on board (last minute decision to travel back in time!) so will be booking the 'works' next time we go up to Aviemore.

Thoroughly enjoyable!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover0856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenfarg, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superbly organised and managed experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have lived and travelled in and about teh area for many, many years, but never did take a trip on the Strathspey Steam Railway .... until last week.

Wonderful!

Just looking at all the activity on the train and in the stations, makes very clear the commitment and enthusiasm of all the volunteers involved in making this a hugely enjoyable experience for rail enthusiasts,. 'general' tourist/travellers and the photography buffs (like me).

Well done to everyone involved. And, yes, it did transport me right back to childhood and the train trips from Fort William to Mallaig and, very occasionally, Glasgow.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

A pleasant way to spend an afternoon. Not many trains each day which lead to the train being quite busy - worth getting on early to get a decent seat. The Fat Controller like ticket inspector seemed rather abrupt and unwelcoming, but all the other volunteers we met were friendly and clearly enjoying what they do. Great views, although better on one side of the train than the other. Should be even better when the line is further extended as it currently ends in a countryside loop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strathspey Steam Railway also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Strathspey Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing