We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”
Review of Strathspey Railway

Strathspey Railway
Ranked #9 of 45 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Steam through the stunning Scottish Highlands in style.Our steam engines take you on a very special trip through the Cairngorms National Park as you travel between Aviemore, Boat of Garten and Broomhill.Why not make your trip extra special with one of our dining on board options: Light Lunch offers soup, sandwiches, tea and coffee; Afternoon Tea has some sandwiches, scones with jam and cream followed by some delicious cakes; or enjoy a full three course Sunday Lunch or Dinner. Why not upgrade to First Class to enjoy a meal in one of our compartments, finely decorated in it's own tartan, with vintage British Rail mirrors and luggage racks inside. Split your trip up with a visit to Boat of Garten to explore some fantastic walk trails or bring your bike on board to explore the great cycle routes in the area. See if you can beat the train back from Broomhill on your bike!We are also taking part in the Great Railway Treasure Hunt 2013, so there's plenty for the kids to do on the trip!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went on the steam train from Aviemore to Boat of Garten and had a lovely time. The scenery was magnificent and we stopped in at the "Boat", hotel for coffee before taking train back to Aviemore.

1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathspey D, Marketing Officer at Strathspey Railway, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Good Afternoon Ian

many thanks for taking the time to review your visit with Strathspey Railway.

The changing scenery over the month you visited has been amazing - from snow covered mountains, to glorious sunshine on Saturday.

Hope you enjoyed the trip to Boat - we'll need to get you up to Broomhill on your next trip so that you can see even more of the scenery on offer!

Hope your trip to the Highlands was a good one!

Kind Regards,
Deborah
Strathspey Railway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 895 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved this experience. We booked first class in advance with the "light lunch" which was lovely, soup and avariety of sandwiches. Travelling by steam was such a great experience. Our trip was quite an adventure, due to having to have 3 brief stops, twice for trackside fires and once for a strat sheep on the line! All adds to the joys of travelling by steam! Get on at Aviemore as that way you'll get the longest trip.

Thank Dramatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathspey D, Marketing Officer at Strathspey Railway, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Good Afternoon

Many thanks for taking the time to review your trip with Strathspey Railway.

It's great to get such feedback, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your meal in one of our First Class Compartments, with the added excitement of some stray sheep!

Thanks again and we hope your trip to the Highlands was enjoyable.

Hope to see you back!

Deborah
Strathspey Railway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time leaving from Boat of Garten for a round trip and we also managed afternoon tea all in a first class compartment

Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathspey D, Marketing Officer at Strathspey Railway, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Good Afternoon Dave

Glad to hear you enjoyed your First Class trip with us!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our trip - it's always good for us to get feedback from visitors.

Hope your stay in Boat was a good one.

Hopefully see you back in the Highlands!

Deborah
Strathspey Railway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely day We took train to Lewishill and then back to Boat of Garten. The walk back from Boat of Garten is well worthwhile. Glad we didn't spend the extra for tea on board - a bit expensive at £23 each (which includes ticket).

Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Steam locos, food on board, views of the spectacular Cairngorms. A must see if you are in the area. My fsvourite stop is Boat of Garten.

1  Thank fotowizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strathspey Railway also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Strathspey Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing