We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A royal encounter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathspey Steam Railway

Strathspey Steam Railway
Ranked #9 of 43 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Steam through the stunning Scottish Highlands in style.Our steam engines take you on a very special trip through the Cairngorms National Park as you travel between Aviemore, Boat of Garten and Broomhill.Why not make your trip extra special with one of our dining on board options: Light Lunch offers soup, sandwiches, tea and coffee; Afternoon Tea has some sandwiches, scones with jam and cream followed by some delicious cakes; or enjoy a full three course Sunday Lunch or Dinner. Why not upgrade to First Class to enjoy a meal in one of our compartments, finely decorated in it's own tartan, with vintage British Rail mirrors and luggage racks inside.Split your trip up with a visit to Boat of Garten to explore some fantastic walk trails or bring your bike on board to explore the great cycle routes in the area. See if you can beat the train back from Broomhill on your bike!We are also taking part in the Great Railway Treasure Hunt 2013, so there's plenty for the kids to do on the trip!
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A royal encounter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is our second visit to this great attraction and was well worth it. The train left aviemore station through boat of garten to broomhill along the river spey with the snow capped cairngorm mountains in the background. The scenery was stunning. We had some reasonable priced sandwiches that was very tastey with a bit of side salad. Sandwiches was priced at £3.60 each we also washed them with a bottle of sheep shaggers gold pale ale, this was a nice hoppy refreshing ale. This is a nice relaxing way to sit back and watch the scenery roll by. The price of the return tickets was £13 each. The whole journey takes about one hour twenty mins. On our return journey we pulled up next the royal scotsman for about five mins giving us plenty of time to take photos and see the splender of the carriages. So another great trip and we will be returning when we are back in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    252
    87
    36
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was fab :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed it - so exciting to be on an actual real steam train, not something I've ever done in my life! It's clean, warm and spacious. Very authentic & a great experience. The only shame was we did the last trip of the day and there was no time to explore Boat of Garten, just a 15 minute stop then back on the train.

Would definitely recommend though and our 3 year old loved it! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dre4m-on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for train lovers & scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Decided to combine the train trip with lunch, it was the best thing we did. At £28 per person it was worth it. Return trip lasted about one & half hours. Food excellent, fresh, wholesome and choice of: Starter, melon, pate, soup, Main, venison casserole, roast, salmon, Dessert, apple pie or clotie dumpling then coffee/tea & tablet (toffee). Service excellent, speedy but not pushy. It came from the Cairngorm Hotel across from the railway station. It was that good we decided to go there eat later on in the week.
After the trip as there were no other dinners we were allowed to stay on the train for another return trip. There was also a bar for alcohol drinks.
Parking either in front of the railway station or a short drive to the other side of the station.
Will definitely do this again upon our next visit.
When I visited their website to find details and how to book the person was very helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank avpe121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea for two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Decided to take an afternoon tea trip on the steam train. Booked in advance as it said to on their leaflet and website. We decided to pay the extra couple of pounds for first class.

They put a card in the window so you knew which compartment was yours. The compartment was very cosy all tarten and some nice big cushions. It was good to have the compartment to ourselves so we could move from window to window to take photographs.

There was a selection of sandwiches, cheese, ham and tuna, as well as a large scone, pancake and piece of cake each. There was also butter, cream and jam. You could wash this down with as much tea or coffee as needed - the tea pot was kept topped up by the attentive waitresses.

A great way to relax and enjoy the steam train - I think the whole journey was about an hour and a half in the end.

The only thing is I would turn the carriages around so the seats are on the 'mountain view' side of the train rather than the 'peoples back gardens side'!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PotentialVorticity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Travelling on a Steam Train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was taken on the steam train journey Aviemore-Boat of Garten-Broomhill by my dad when I was 10, so I decided to take my son - a big Thomas the Tank Engine fan - on the same trip to let him experience being on a real steam engine.

It was almost exactly how I remebered it. The trains have the kind of glamour that makes you feel part of a different era. We travelled in a first class compartment, which I'd recommended if you don't want your kids running round everywhere. You also get complimentary tea & shortbread in 1st class which is nice.

The trip isn't too long and you have the chance to take photos of the train. Staff are friendly and happy to pose for pictures. Our pushchair was put in the holding carriage for us which was handy but I'm guessing wheelchair users wouldn't be able to get to the compartments unless they had a little mobility which seems a real shame.

At Aviemore station its not clear how you get to the other platform if you have a pram/wheelchair. You get to the other side by continuing towards the petrol station and down under the bridge, or there is another way across back towards the village where the public toilets are.

It is a great place to visit - all the trains are run by volunteers and run like clockwork.

Maybe if Scotrail was run by volunteers their trains might run on time as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strathspey Steam Railway also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Strathspey Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing