We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Journey back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathspey Steam Railway

Strathspey Steam Railway
Ranked #9 of 43 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Steam through the stunning Scottish Highlands in style.Our steam engines take you on a very special trip through the Cairngorms National Park as you travel between Aviemore, Boat of Garten and Broomhill.Why not make your trip extra special with one of our dining on board options: Light Lunch offers soup, sandwiches, tea and coffee; Afternoon Tea has some sandwiches, scones with jam and cream followed by some delicious cakes; or enjoy a full three course Sunday Lunch or Dinner. Why not upgrade to First Class to enjoy a meal in one of our compartments, finely decorated in it's own tartan, with vintage British Rail mirrors and luggage racks inside.Split your trip up with a visit to Boat of Garten to explore some fantastic walk trails or bring your bike on board to explore the great cycle routes in the area. See if you can beat the train back from Broomhill on your bike!We are also taking part in the Great Railway Treasure Hunt 2013, so there's plenty for the kids to do on the trip!
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Journey back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant way to relax & waste a day just enjoying your environment . Watch the Engine couple up then jump aboard for the ride of your life

Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    252
    87
    36
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Marvellous Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a superb attraction. We took our a
American cousins for a pic nic lunch on the Steam Train. The first class compartment was beautifully decorated in Gordon tartan and it took me back to my childhood and trips to Edinburgh Zoo from Glasgow. The staff were lovely and gave good advice hence my taking a posh picnic complete with hamper and smoked salmon pâté. We all thoroughly enjoyed the trip and recommend it highly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great experience with some real characters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We joined the train at Aviemore for a return journey to Broomhill and spent some time at the "steamy" end talking to the engine crew, who were only too pleased to take a group picture for us. The journey brought back some great memories of times gone by, and the impromptu stop on the way back for one of the engine crew to pick up his hat made the day all the more special. Would strongly recommend that you have this on your itinerary.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magickpyggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,077 reviews
442 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,321 helpful votes
“Unforgetable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took the 14.45 train which, on the day, was very quiet and we had lots of space to move around the train and take photos and videos. The staff very pleasant and welcoming. Datasheet on the train journey (complimentary) very good and a chance to enter a draw free of charge. The views are spectacular and, for a steam train buff, a must if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnathort, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We took our 3 year old daughter and Lhasa apso on this trip as we thought it would be fun and interesting. We were so WRONG!
Firstly the carriage we were on was freezing a member of staff informed us that the heating was broken in this carriage and to try and find a seat elsewhere on train if we wanted to be warm, as you can guess there were no other seats left so we ended up back in the freezing carriage. The round trip took nearly two hours the scenery was so boring. My dog was freezing from sitting on the floor so I laid a newspaper on the seat and sat him next to me. I was told to remove him from the seat(bearing in mind he is only a small lap dog and I'd just paid a £1 for a dog ticket) what a load if old rubbish! My 3 year old was bored to tears not to mention cold! Take my advice and save your money!

Helpful?
4 Thank kmac1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strathspey Steam Railway also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Strathspey Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing