We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot!!”
Review of Loch an Eilein

Loch an Eilein
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden in the forest of Rothiemurchus, this beautiful place is one of the most loved in the UK. Loch an Eilein (loch of the island) with its 13th century island castle, was voted Britain's Best Picnic Spot as part of the celebrations to highlight the 10th anniversary of Warburtons National Bread Week which took place in May 2010 - a big thank you to everyone who voted. Step back in time and retrace the steps of the Highland cattle raiders as you enjoy views of the dramatic and mysterious Highland castle and enjoy the exceptional wildlife of the forest including Red Squirrels and Scottish Crossbills. You can enjoy some of the best low level walking in Scotland. Sheltered by ancient pine trees with views of the mountains, the path round the loch is suitable for motorised wheel chairs, off road buggies and is part of the 50km Rothiemurchus way marked network of paths.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were blessed with gorgeous sunny weather, but I think I would like this spot in any weather, it is so picturesque. The walkway is wide, and gentle, the entire trip around the loch took us just over an hour, at a good pace. My two boys, 6 & 8 managed it without difficulty or complaint. The castle ruin on the island is of course what makes this hike so exceptional; a lovely afternoon out and one I think I'll remember for a long time. There is a charge for parking, but you get a map, and a card with some discounts elsewhere in the park. There are toilet facilities and a little shop. I would recommend this for those who want to get out into the park a bit, but don't want anything too strenuous. There are spots along the walk to stop and rest.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kinneylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    198
    28
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A must visit for an nice easy walk when at Aviemore.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had previously went to it by car (payment required at carpark) and walked all the way around it with the dog. This year we walked from the Hilton Hotel Coylumbridge (where we stayed) to the Loch and back on a circular route. Their are toilet facities and a litle shop with drinks etc.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank neepdocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk with stunning scenery”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We lucky to have gorgeous weather and added the extra trail round Loch Gamhna. Flat most of the way and good paths , though Loch Gamhna part not maintained. Charge for parking but includes information & maps Recommend. May need midge spray later in year but we had no bites.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajkedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a lovely walk around the loch. Beautiful views over the loch to the ruined castle was worth a visit. Nice little gift shop is worth a look.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damamaaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning place to visit”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The walk round Loch an Eilein is fantastic at any time of the year. Worth the effort, its a bit more than a gentle stroll but the path is good and teh views stunning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch an Eilein also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Loch an Eilein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing