We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soggy Loch an Eilein”
Review of Loch an Eilein

Loch an Eilein
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden in the forest of Rothiemurchus, this beautiful place is one of the most loved in the UK. Loch an Eilein (loch of the island) with its 13th century island castle, was voted Britain's Best Picnic Spot as part of the celebrations to highlight the 10th anniversary of Warburtons National Bread Week which took place in May 2010 - a big thank you to everyone who voted. Step back in time and retrace the steps of the Highland cattle raiders as you enjoy views of the dramatic and mysterious Highland castle and enjoy the exceptional wildlife of the forest including Red Squirrels and Scottish Crossbills. You can enjoy some of the best low level walking in Scotland. Sheltered by ancient pine trees with views of the mountains, the path round the loch is suitable for motorised wheel chairs, off road buggies and is part of the 50km Rothiemurchus way marked network of paths.
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Soggy Loch an Eilein”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely loch to walk round,path is well maintained and of good quality.
Friendly staff greet you and give you a card which gives you money off other services on the Rothiemurchus estate
Small visitor centre with local crafts and loos also on site

Red squirrels seen regularly - relaxing special place

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelBeeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    213
    32
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uphall
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful spot”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely spot. We felt like we were in the of nowhere. We went there early evening & we only saw one or two other people. We wish we had our dog with us he would love it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“A perfect walk”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

There's a big car park, and four miles of wonderful views, water, trees, snow capped mountains. There's also a gallery and I think a café, but we didn't visit that. Supposedly voted the best picnic place in Britain and you can see why.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great location for photographers, calm, still loch with views of the Cairngorms and Red Squirrels too

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuSlaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A beautiful loch and a lovely walk. There is a charge for the carpark but it is well worth it. There is also a lovely little shop where you can get a drink, ice lolly and a postcard at the end of your walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AB252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch an Eilein also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Loch an Eilein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing