We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed May 29, 2007

The resort style of this hotel complex may not appeal to all; there are 4 hotels with shared facilities built within 100 or so yards of the railway station. The Macdonald group are catering for all tastes, being peasants we went for the cheapest! Actually we were advised that the Academy Hotel had larger rooms which suited our group of 2 adults and one child. Our room was a good size with a smallish bathroom but a full sized bath. Our daughter had a proper bed not a Z bed which was one of the reasons we opted for this hotel. Generally the condition of the hotel was OK but in many areas it was tired and tatty with worn carpets and scratched doors in the corridors. The resort seemed to be popular with tourist coaches and the range of nationalities was wide. Quite why an American from sunny California would want to endure a wet and miserable Scotland in preference to his homeland remains a mystery. Presumably in search of his Highland ancestry he would undoubtedly have discovered why so many Scots left; it was not a result of the Clearances but the weather! Some noisy occupants of an adjacent room disturbed us late at night having one of those unnecessarily loud “corridor conversations”. We enjoyed disturbing them next morning when making our way to an early train. Small pleasures! The complex has a range of dining facilities and a superb swimming pool. There is a great outdoor play area for the kids which we made the most of during a lull in the rain. Buses pass right through the resort but that said the main street is right next door. A Tesco supermarket lies just below the Academy Hotel and there was a degree of noise from early deliveries. Nothing special about the resort but it’s in a good location, is clean and tidy and provides reasonable accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,670 - 1,676 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2007

I stayed in the ‘Aviemore Inn’ part of the Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort for a two-night stag party in May 2007. I am not sure of the rates, as it was booked by another member of the group, but the B&B rate was very cheap. If I had to guess, our group rate probably worked at about £30pppn, but there were 22 of us.

The Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort complex as a whole was impressive, with a number of hotels, restaurants, leisure facilities and well kept gardens. There is a shared reception for all hotels within the Resort, where all guests must check in. The main dining room, coffee shop and bar area are located just off reception. The staff were all very helpful, and were a fairly even mix of locals and Eastern European workers.

As I mentioned, we stayed in the Aviemore Inn, which is conveniently located right beside the main reception. The twin room which I was sharing was small but comfortable, with ample wardrobe space and a television. Whilst the bathroom could have done with being refurbished, it met our requirements. All of the other rooms which I was in were similar.

Breakfast was served in the dining room where guests from the other hotels also ate. This was brilliant – each morning we all had a lovely ‘serve yourself’ cooked breakfast, as well as fresh fruit, cereals, juices, etc.

One evening we had Italian in Giovanni’s, which is one of the on-site restaurants. It is also beside reception, and the food was fine. On the other evening we ate in a very good Indian place just out of the front gates and three minutes walk to the right – although it was not part of the Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort, it deserves a mention.

We found the Resort to be quiet in the evenings, but the bar and beer garden of the Cairngorm Hotel – located at the bottom of the driveway into the resort and opposite the train station – was always busy. Further up the main street is ‘The Vault’ nightclub, which should be avoided at all costs – it’s appalling!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Booked executive twin rooms as per the hotel internet web site on a DBB basis. Arrived checked in a resort reception everything went smoothly. Entered the hotel, very quite. Corridors long and uninteresting, plus very cold, opened room door to a small twin bedded room, with an even smaller bathroom, reported to reception to clarify that these were Executive rooms - yes! was disappointed, the beds were soft and comfortable no complaint, we were on the 2nd floor, the windows could do with either blinds or net curtain, as they only have curtains which when drawn room very dark therefore you need to keep open where everyone the otherside fo the building and the car park can look in. Heater in room which you can adjust the temperture for your self which is a bonus. Clean towels every day but face cloths or used toileteries were not replenished neither was the complimentary water, the half empty bottle was replaced for you to reuse. Bins not emptied every day either.
Day 3 finally found a maid that was not polish and, she explained that the rooms were in fact standard, reported to manager and he offered us for one night only an upgrade we were leaving next day - pointless, he informed us that the internet executive rooms were actually standard the internet is wrong! The restaurant - booked into prior to arriving 3 nights in the Aspects Restaurant as we wanted fine dining, staff very helpful and food was good, next night we were handed the menu to find it was the same food, the menu we were told is offered for a month at a time, we were recommended to go the next night to Dalfaer Golf Club Steakhouse which is part of the Macdonald Hotel group - not a steakhouse we expected Tony Romas ha ha!! we had to play a quiz game with the local at the golf club, albeith the food was good - Carvery, they have a different theme menu each night. The pool closed early on a Monday at 5pm, not good if you have been out walking and touring cant take the kids to the pool for a swim before dinner. The central shop does not sell neccessaties, more upmarket expensive items, even the kids toys were to expensive for their pocket money - frizbie at £12. On the whole the breakfast and the aspects restaurant service and food good, hotel quiet and clean there is problems but these could be rectified if managers walked around hotels more often and were visable. I would go back to this hotel maybe in a few years but I would emphasise that I did want the Executive or Superior Rooms maybe phone the hotel direct instead of the internet.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CollegeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

Just returned after 2 Nights Stay and will definately not be returning. 18 of us (all girls) stayed at this hotel same time last year for a Hen Weekend. We did have one or two problems then as well but decided we will give the place the benefit of the doubt and try it again, big mistake! On one of our evenings last year we all dressed up in Moulin Rouge style costumes and ate in the Aspects Restaurant which was very nice and no problems whatsoever. This year we decided to have a reunion with only 9 of us this time. On the Saturday evening we all got dressed up again in our same costumes and headed for Aspects Restaurant. On arriving we were met by Aubrey Dickson who was the restaurant Manager and were told that we could not dine there as they have a strict dress code. We ofcourse thought he was having a laugh but oh no infact I don't think the man would know how to laugh. They obviously only have a dress code for certain people as there were others in with Jeans on. His manner towards us was diabolical and he just had a smug look on his face all the time he was talking to us. We felt we were getting nowhere with him so asked to speak to someone above him. In the meantime while he is away to get this person we overheard him explaining that we were dressed like 'Trash', well I am sorry but wearing a skirt that goes to your knees and a strappy top to me is not trashy. He maybe did not like the feathers in our hair or our feather boas! Anyway, we were then told to go and sit in the lounge and wait on the duty Manager who was going to come and see us. We waited and waited and eventually a couple of the girls went to see what was happening. They then spoke to the Duty Manager Margaret Fraser who was even less helpful and very rude. Eventually as we were getting nowhere and this was now 10pm we ate in the Italian Restaurant on the resort which was first class and the staff could not have been any friendlier. Aubrey Dickson was on duty in the morning and asked if we would be dining with them that evening, he then offered us a table in another room at the back of the restaurant which would allow us private dining. To be honest in normal circumstances this would have been a great idea but we just felt that he wanted us through the back away from all the other diners. We declined that table and ate along with everyone else. There was one or two other complaints we had about the hotel but I feel they are too minor compared to this one. Our weekend could have been ruined because of this but we just carried on and had a good time. We felt we got absolutely nowhere with Margaret Fraser and Aubrey Dickson who in my opinion have no management or public relation skills whatsoever. We decided we are just going to send a letter to the top of the tree and see what happens then. To be honest there was a lot of plus points about the hotel but these were overshadowed by what happened to us. Hotel from Hell!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanSWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

My company held a global conference for several hundred employees at the Aviemore resort last week. Most of the people I talked with shared my concerns about the hotel.

My primary complaint is the outrageous phone policy. We are issued ATT calling cards, and have local toll free numbers to call for making international calls. The hotel automatically redirected our calls to the hotel phone calling system-- we were not allowed to call the local number.

The system allows you to enter a calling card number, but it would not accept our ATT cards. The only other options were to place a collect call (no thanks!) or charge to a credit card. The rates were $30 (yes, thirty) for the first minute, plus $3 a minute thereafter. I made one call. A total ripoff.

And if you do decide to make a call, the connection is terrible. You can hear other people talking as well as fax tones.

The hotel offers free wi-fi in the lounge, but the connection is very slow. I was able to use my hotmail account and surf the web, but trying to connect to my work email via VPN was impossible. The link was too slow.

Wired internet access is offered in the rooms for a fee. $25 for 24 hours. But beware, if more than 20 people are on the system, you will not be allowed to log on.

Need cash? Cross your fingers. The ATM machine would not accept my card.

As far as the rooms go, they are okay. A bit cramped. The bathrooms are designed more for style than functionality. Very small, narrow shelf over the sink -- no way to store shavers, toothepaste, medication, etc there. The shower does not have a curtain or a full door -- just a plexiglas half-door. If you are not careful, you will have a puddle on the floor.

Maid service was erratic. They did not empty my waste basket for several days. One day the maid opened the window of my room, which made it a potential burglary target (thankfully no one decided to climb in the window). A friend of mine who flooded the bathroom mopped up the water with a couple of bath towels. The next day the maid just wrung out the towels and hung them back up.

The restaurants stop serving food at 9PM, so if you need a late meal you are out of luck.

The pool and fitness center, however, is very nice! (Too bad it was only open from 8AM to 9PM.) And there is a very scenic walking/running trail behind the hotel.

If you are visiting the hotel for pleasure, you may not have a problem. But be advised that the place is not very friendly for business travelers!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pizzabrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

This place is OK, but will not appeal to everyone.We stayed in the Academy Hotel which is one of the hotels on the campus. It was full of families enjoying the Easter break, so if kids aren't your thing stay away.
Room was clean and beds comfortable, bathroom nice with plenty of extras like soap and moisturisers.
Swimming pool was a fair walk away, but big with a flume and wave machine, fairly crowded though.
We ate in the food court, once again a walk away but breakfast was OK with plenty of variety.
Staff were friendly and helpful, finding out times of the ski bus up to Cairngorm for us with no problem.
Overall a reasonable place, but lacking in soul; we could have been anywhere. But we liked the birdsong played in the corridors!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Snowweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank supershil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,365 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $159 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing