We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not luxury but good location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed over the Easter break. The hotel was rather disappointing as it is just a collection of ugly concrete blocks lacking ambience with unimaginative landscaping. There is lots of parking and the hotel is a great location right on top of the town and within easy reach of Cairngorm - which had snow at the top for skiing/boarding!

We booked a twin & a double room at the Highlands "luxury" 4* hotel - it was far from luxury - just what would be considered as standard hotel accomodation, both were dusty and the twin room looked like a standard motorway hotel room. At breakfast in the Highlands there is a wide variety of food - Beware of the male chef cooking the eggs - he had a habit of being rather rude to guests! You have to wait ages to be served tea/coffee/toast etc at breakfast despite all the waiting staff rushing around at an incredible speed - you have to be careful of them not barging through you when you leave your table!

The facilites are great, swimming pool with wave machine and slide, beauty spa (the staff that did the beauty treatments were wonderful and provided a very high standard ) and a variety of places to eat - including coffee shops serving delicious hot chocolate and the most beautiful homemade cheesecakes!

We booked to eat at the Aspects Restaurant one evening - it was not fine dining and was not anything impressive, again lacking ambience - however in context the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morganz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed over the easter break, last minuite booking through local tourist board, (helpful). No view as such from window, but far too many people moan, what can they see from their windows at Home!!!!
Room was clean - modern and comfy. No problems what so ever, check in quick - polite - attentive. Breakfast first class. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oohsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

If you are the kind or person who finds themselves drawn to the intrigue of German Concentration camps, I think this Hotel might be for you. From the moment you ascend the driveway to the main body of this Colditz style '60s poured Concrete eyesore, you may, like me, feel a 'sinking feeling' within your stomach.
Now don't get me wrong, I did not expect the Ritz, but I did expect somewhere akin to my own home for living standards.
You'll be greeted by a whole new shade of 'depressing grey' which when you think might subside, the psychedelic Tartan in the hall ways will almost certainly make you feel as though you are on a boat.
Do you believe in the after life? are you a fan of the Camp Scouser Derek Acorah? well if you are you are in for a Double treat...for summoning a member of staff to one of the out-lying hotel blocks is Very similar to contacting 'the other side' but unlike the fake ability to contact people who have shuffled off this mortal coil, the prices charged by the hotel, is very real, and far scarier. When entering the room I thought, 'ah house keeping have left the window open, now bearing in mind I was visiting Aviemore in the first week of June, the temperature was a scorching 10 degrees, but even this was a little too cold to have the window flung open. I was ofcourse wrong on the House keeping idea, as I soon realised when I went to close the window myself, I did however manage to shut it sufficiently using the complimentary bar of soap a pencil and 20 mins of effort.
The room smelt of damp, and wasn't very clean and the towels had an odd aroma probably caused by past guests trying to seal the window.

This hotel is rated slightly differently to most, so take note. the stars awarded to this (of which are 4) are based upon... Terrible outward appearance, Poor quality rooms, insufficient heating in said rooms, and lack of service. Perhaps I may suggest a Fifth star for prices?

Well.....having said all of this the choice is yours, but don't say I didn't warn you.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aaronpain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We had a weekend break staying in the Four Seasons - reasonable price at £90 Dinner, B&B (breakfast was fantastic) for Hubby & I plus our 2 year old. Location is great as you are right in the centre of Aviemore and local shops, pubs, etc. The staff seemed to be mostly foreign but friendly, helpful and proffessional. I think the hotel must have been recently re-decorated as I was concerned after reading some previous reviews but I have to say that all areas we experienced (Reception, Restaurant and Bedroom) were clean and fresh. The Bathroom in our room looked brand new - the shower was a bit pathetic but that would be my only complaint. We ate in the Pizza/Pasta restaurant and it was lovely with a brilliant kids buffet with lots to choose from. The sports complex/swimming pool was ideal (better than the coylumbridge) with wave machine, flume you can take kiddies down on your knee and the changing areas were spotless and had family cubicles. Our 2-year old loved the fun factory, the wee softplay room and also the outdoor play park in the resort. The whole family also really enjoyed the nearby Highland Wildlife Park - well worth a visit to pass a few hours. We will definately be back and would reccomend it to families with young children.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FozzyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

This resort is huge, several different purpose-built hotels within one resort. It's right in the heart of Aviemore village so location is good, but the resort is souless. The rooms are like any other rooms in a chain hotel - you could be in any hotel, anywhere in the world. They are comfortable, well presented, clean, not overly spacious etc...

The communal areas of this hotel are a bit odd - the corridors are very long and dingy, some staircases aren't really decorated so you feel like you're in a school or hospital. It's a very family focused resort - the leisure complex is very child-friendly and orientated - so if you have kids it's a great place. Gym looked good and the restaurant was also pretty good for breakfast. It's not unpleasant in anyway - it just has a "purpose built" feel and has no charm or character, and not really any luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamsmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stayed at the Aviemore Inn on the Resort for 3 nights in early Feb. We had booked a suite and were not disappointed.

When we were walking towards reception with our luggage, a passing member of staff stopped and offered us a lift to the main reception !

The bathroom was a little dated but clean and tidy so no real problems there. Bed and room was very comfy and cosy with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains.

Breakfast was served in a different building on the complex but was more than satisfactory. Healthy options as well as full cooked buffet style. Ate in the pubs and restaraunts in Aviemore just a few minutes walk away in the evenings - highly recommend Roos Leap near the train station!!!

We had a really lovely stay here - we even plan to return next Feb to do more skiing on Cairngorm. My only grumble is the staff. Although helpful and friendly - they were almost all eastern european and sometimes it felt like we were on holiday in Warsaw rather than Scotland.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We Stayed in the Acadamy Hotel for Christmas with our 2 children (13 & 8) We found staff very friendly on arrival and throughout our stay. The whole experience was magical with the mulled wine, santa, twinkling lights, carol singing and fantastic surroundings even the bagpipes gave me goosebumps walking from the hotel on the last night. The food was buffet style for breakfast etc but christmas dinner and the last meal were excellet and could not be faulted. The staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. You must take advantage of the surrounding area with lots to do even at christmas. If you are thinking of getting away from it all next christmas, then this is the perfect place. But don't tell everone!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JamesBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,351 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $151 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is most popular with families who enjoy the special family rooms featuring special bunk rooms giving kids their own space within their parents room - a popular option with all family members! You'll find everything you need and more within the wider resort - luxury brand shopping, a cinema, top-class restaurants, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing