We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel, food and facilities were brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, food and facilities were brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was wary after reading some negative reviews on here but I shouldnt have worried! We got a great special offer from the macdonald website, £140 cheaper for 2 nights DB&B than another hotel in Aviemore with kids soft play etc so was expecting a catch!! No catch, our room in the Highland hotel was 4 star, well I reckon 5 star, spotless with every little thing top notch. Massive bed plus kids bed for our 2 year old, complimentary mineral water in the fanciest bottles ever, lovely toiletries, hot and powerful shower and heated towel rail that dried all our swimming costumes super fast so we could head back into the pool. House keeping deserve a mention for the room when we cam back from a day at the wildlife park, room made up with my 2 year olds pyjamas folded onto his pillow and his cuddly toy sitting at his pillow. The food in the resort was amazing...breakfast was a treat with gorgeous sausages, black pudding and then yummy fruit, pastries etc, enough to keep us in the dining room for ages and set us up for the day. We ate in the aspects dining room the first night and headed out to the steak house for the 2nd night...worth the trip to the other side of town for great food and atmosphere. The pool was lovely, slide fun (wish it was clearer when it was open as explaining to a 2yr old that its not on is tricky), soft play was much appreciated, outdoor play ground had something for all....need I go on. The 3 of us had a lovely holiday and will certainly be returning to the Highland Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freya747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for your time taken to write a review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of the resort with your family.
It it such a pleasure to read your review and your wonderful comments regarding our housekeeping staff has been passed on - I know they are happy to hear that they made your stay extra special.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining on the resort - breakfast always tends to be popular with our guest.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    473
    396
    200
    124
See reviews for
695
598
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glenrothes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

hotel is slightly dated but very charming with above average food and a great location good leisure facilities and is family orientated although we did not feel out of place as a couple. service was mixed staff were pleasant enough but seemed to lack training and direction. overall we enjoyed our stay and for what we paid we thought it good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colamGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your resort experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and had the opportunity to take full advantage of everything that is offered on site from our dining to leisure facilities.
Thank you for your comments in regards to our staff – is has been taken on board and we appreciate you reporting that back to us.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

i am just back from a weekend at this hotel , i often stay here around 5 times a year and before couldnt fault it , this stay wasnt as good , we had a lovely meal at the ski ing doo in the main street and returned to the hotel to find the main bar was closed at 830 pm , the main restaurant was also closed in the evening , it was always open previous visits and provided a buffet meal , the jaccuzi was broken and the showers where freezing as they had a heating problem. decor on the way to the rooms could do with a touch up area for children and bar at academy was also closed and no one on reception .ive stayed in 2 star apartments in the algarve that where more superior to this will not stay here again will try hilton next time ..

Room Tip: i have stayed in all the macdonald hotels in aviemore and to be honest all more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joules c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the time taken to write a review on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling disappointed with your stay this time. It is always our priority to ensure the best possible guest service and we take it seriously when guest feel this has not been the case.
I can understand your frustration with the bar being shut early – as we are a resort we don’t operate as a stand alone hotel, so even in the case of the bar in the Conference Centre being shut early the Laggan bar in the Highlands Hotel, which is our late bar, would still be open to all residents. The same is the case with the Spey Valley Carvery – it is only open for dinner during busier periods, but we still have two other restaurants on site for our guests to enjoy.
Thank you for your feedback regarding our décor – please note that your comments have been taken on board. The continuous investment into the resort will ensure that we are able to always provide the best possible guest service for our guests.

We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort, in that case please do not hesitate to contact us in advance to make up for your inconveniences during this stay.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed in the Aviemore Resort w/b 16th Sept.
Overall the hotel was clean and the rooms comfortable.
The breakfast in the resturant was execellant and there was lots to choose from.
We had a lovely lunch one day in the bar area, a bit pricey but it was lovely and couldn't fault the service.

On the downside, check-in was slow, there was a large party infront of us and they took over 20mins to check-in with only 1 person servicing, eventually another lady appeared and we got checked in very quickly after that.

The service in the resturant can be a bit hit and miss, but 90% of the time it was ok.

The pool is not a Spa pool and it is a public swimming pool. We visited the pool 4 times during the week, most of the time it was quiet and could have a decent swim, however on Sunday morning it was full of kids, they do have a wave pool and a flume which is good fun.
On Thursday night there are swimming lessons that take place. I nothing against children learning to swim, but guests should be told this upon arrive, half the pool was blocked off. My husband and I tried to swim but gave up in the end.

The Spey Valley Shopping area is worth a visit (I spent a small fortune) and I had a massage in the Spa which was good also.

Would recommend the Italian resturant in the hotel (we went there twice) and the Craingorms Hotel for evening meals.
If you are visiting the Craingorms mountain railway more than once then suggest you get an annual pass which works out cheaper.

Room Tip: We got a room in the courtyard area, very quiet and not on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed review on our resort. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is wonderful that you really had the opportunity to use all the facilities that we offer on site.
I apologise about the delayed check in and hope that didn’t affect the quality of your stay.
We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was likely very charming in its day - but that day was a long time ago. Now it is tired looking. The carpet on the stairs was threadbare, there were large areas of baseboard that was missing along both public areas and in the guest room. The front desk was staffed with one man who was disinterested in anyones needs and did not answer the telephone when we tried to phone the front desk. We were told there was wi-fi in the cafe, but found out it was not free. On our second day, there was water leaking from the ceiling into the dining room and we later found out a toilet "blew-up" in a guest room, resulting in water leaking through the ceiling. Because of the general appearance of the hotel, no one was really supprised this had happened!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Positives - great pool and facilities for kids. It's the only reason to stay here really.
Negatives - The rooms are dated, our bed was almost comically uncomfortable. The main complex feels like a shopping mall. You could be anywhere.
advice if you stay - eat in the old bridge Inn and spend as much time in the cairngorm national park as possible - away from the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review.
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room whilst staying on the resort. It is unfortunate that you didn’t find the time to inform us directly during your stay in order for us to find you a room that you would have found more comfortable.
Your feedback has been passed on and the continuous investment into the resort will allow us to always provide the best possible guest services.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the leisure facilities with your family.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay at this resort in July and the experience was fantastic from start to finish. Breakfast was exceptional with the chef giving us friendly tips on the best way to spend our day and our fine dining experience was exceptional! Special mention to Lauren from the events team who even managed to get my five year old twins on the karaoke, and always ensured a fun night all round. The kids loved the swimming pool with the leisure staff being very friendly and always willing to help!
If visiting make sure you spend an afternoon in the Ceramic Experience which is on site as the kids loved it and the gentleman who ran the class had so much patience for the task!
We cannot wait to return next year, thank you for a fantastic family holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshallMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience.
I am delighted to read it and hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with your family, your wonderful comments in regards to our staff have been passed on and I am so happy that they made you feel as welcome as they did.
I am happy that you had wonderful dining experiences whilst staying with us – it is something that we work very hard on and I know the restaurant will be delighted to hear ho much you enjoyed it.
We look forward to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing