We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort - poor hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice resort - poor hotel.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have recently stayed here for 3 nights. We found that the communal areas of the hotel and resort were worthy of the 4* however the bedrooms were not. Our room was situated on the 3rd floor and to get to our room we had to walk through this corridor which smelt of mould and was very disgusting. Our room was very small. The TV was very old fashioned. There is no air con in the rooms or no fans available. Our room was made up by housekeeping after 3pm each day which I felt was quite late, apart from on the day of check out and they were banging at our door at 9:15am! The food and drink at the hotel was very over priced. My husband and I had a drink each at the bar and it cost over £11! A large glass of wine was £9.95. I can not fault the swimming pool area and facilities there they are excellent. I would not waste my money on staying here again. I think the rooms at a Premier inn are far superior and at least half the price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaglemad1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Beaglemad1981

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor – guest feedback is very important to us for continuous improvement.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay – please be aware that if there is a specific time you prefer to have your room serviced do not hesitate to inform us in order to make your stay more comfortable.
Please note that all your comments regarding the corridors have been passed on to the relevant department.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    484
    406
    204
    128
See reviews for
704
618
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Booked this as the for the last night of our holiday on the way home thinking that as it was a Macdonald resort it would be excellent!! I was very disappointed! The check in procedure was a nightmare, there seems to be very little staff and we had to wait around 10 minutes for someone to come and check us in, there was no queue I might add. The staff were very friendly and helpful though. We then went up to our room which was a family room at the Academy hotel ( think there are 3 other hotels in the resort). The room was not what I had expected, dingy is the word that comes to mind. But dated would maybe be fairer, it is in need of a serious revamp. We had stayed in a Premier Inn in Livingstone the night before and I was far more impressed with it in comparison and I did pay a lot less for it. We then went downstairs later on at night and the staff showed us where to go to the family games room. My 9 year old daughter was excited about this as we all had great expectations for this. The look on her face said it all as we walked in to yet again a very dated looking hall with a bar and a pool table, some family games room this was. Decided to use the facilities in the morning after breakfast which was quite good and go for a swim, pool was great. It even had a flume so that kept the daughter happy. Changing rooms and toilets were immaculate which was impresssive compared to the rest. Overall I really don't think this Macdonald resort lives up to the name and would not recommend it to any friends or family based on the accommodation.

Room Tip: Cant speak for the other hotels on the resort but the Academy is one to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosco19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear rosco19
Thank you for your review – it is always highly appreciate when guests take the time out to share their experience.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room during you stay – we are continuously investing into the resort which gives us the opportunity to always keep the guest services at the highest possible level.
I am happy to hear that you got the chance to use the leisure facilities and found them enjoyable.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having had to stop unexpectedly due to my wife having an upset, we booked into the above in the belief this would be similar to other Macdonald hotels we had used previously. The best price available was £161 or £201 including dinner. An upgrade was an additional £40 for a bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine [ not really necessary when feeling unwell] which was declined. We informed the front desk we would decide about dinner later however as it happens we ate a very light meal in their Italian establishment and paid directly. The room was poor - small and dirty with a huge stain on the carpet, the grouting of the bathroom tiles was disgusting and one would not have considered walking around in bare feet. The next morning we wnnt to settle our bill to be informed we were due £201 and our explanations of having paid the restaurant direct fell on deaf ears and a duty manager had to be called to sort matters out. Eventually after insisting on details of what exactly happened it now appears that instead of taking an imprint of my credit card initially, the woman took £100 and then unexplainably at 2am on the following morning proceeded to take an additional £101 hence her insistance this was what we were due. I believe the financial side has been adjusted back to £161 however to date I have not had the till receipts for the card transactions and despite a promise from their customer care department, nearly 2 weeks later I am still awaiting their comments. This establishment is seriously in need of a comprehensive make over and staff re-educated on how to conduct themselves and deal with issues such as we experienced. We were left with the impression that this is high season in Aviemore with many many bus parties and tourists ready to fill rooms at inflated prices so manners and customer service was in short supply. Visit Scotland would not have been impressed and regrettably I am sure many foreign tourists must be sorely disappointed with our Scottish hospitatity in Aviemore.
Allan Adam

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Allan A

Thank you for your comments however you state that you have been waiting nearly two weeks and have not had any comment from the customer care department on investigation I can see that a response was sent to you on the 24th July, which was a week prior to you posting this review, addressing the concerns you raised in your email.

Kind Regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the 4* hotel. While the reception area and bar were worthy of a 4* hotel but the rooms were not. We had a cot in our room (which we didn't ask for), the headboard was not long enough for the bed, the duvet stuck out about a foot from the end of the cover and we looked out onto a brick wall! The window was broken and the tv was very old!
We went to the pitch and putt on site, it was in very poor condition. Most of the grass was yellow and poorly kept. If it was free, we wouldn't have minded as much but it cost £14 for 4 people for 9 short holes.
The spa, gym and pool were good.
The food and drink were vastly over priced for what you got but that is the same across all McDonald hotels.
On the Saturday night, my dress was ripped as I waked passed one of their pictures. I'm still waiting on the outcome of this!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiji777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Fiji777
Thank you for your time taken to write a review, we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room you stayed in during your stay. The ongoing investment into the resort ensures that we are able to always offer the best possible guest service available.
I am happy that you had the chance to make use of and enjoyed the leisure facilities offered on site.
Please note that your comments regarding the pitch and putt have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant department.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

my friend and i visited this hotel. staff wonderful food excellent, clean rooms, but would like to see a small fridge in rooms, as some of us are on medication which requires refridgeration.
wonderful stay looking forward to the next one. well done aviemore hotel and resorts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Janet A
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review – I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I am geniounly happy to hear that the staff made you feel welcome as that is something that we work very hard on. Thank you for your feedback regarding the fridge – please be aware that if you do need to store anything in a fridge we are more than happy to keep it in the bar or kitchen for you.

We look forward to welcome you back again to the resort – and please do not hesitate to get in contact with us beforehand to request a fridge in the room as we might be able to accommodate that for you.

Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My partner and I came here for a few nights for a break. I want to start by saying the staff at this hotel are excellent they can’t do enough to help. They are friendly approachable and caring. The breakfast is great with all fresh produces. Our room was clean neat and the décor was appropriate for the location. The location of the hotel was great as it’s close to many restaurants and shops. The sights of the mountains where also very beautiful. Now on to my negative comments about the hotel. I didn't particularly enjoy the leisure facilities.. The pool was ok. The sauna and the steam room was good. The Jacuzzi was not on throughout my stay and appeared to be broken which was disappointing. Overall I don’t think I would return to the resort due to the fact that I don't think it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ctobin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ctobin93
Thank you for the time taken to share your experience on the resort. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the room and location was accommodating for you. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff – I know they will be absolutely delighted to here that they made you feel welcome.
Please be assured that your comments regarding the leisure facilities have been taken on board – I do appreciate the frustration that the Jacuzzi was not working during your stay, and I apologise about that.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner went to this hotel as we stayed in it before and he was playing in a golf comp.

We got there early and I went for a sleep as we traveled all morning.

I woke up and found a work man in my room. I was shocked and upset. I couldn't call my partner as he was out on the course.

When my partner came back he told me to email the manager which I did. Two days after we got back. I didn't want to ruin his comp or stress him out even more, m

The manger said I should have told them on the day it went on. Like I said to them I wanted it in writing and didn't want to ruin our trip

All I got was a sorry. It's not nice some random guy walks in when am sleeping. Anything could have went on.

Think the mangers need to get there work men told whos in each room. Not a happy person

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolastevenson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Nicolastevenson1
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review – all guest feedback is always appreciated in order for us to continuously grow and develop.
I am genuinely so sorry about the incident that occurred during your stay with us, I can understand the extent of frustration you must have felt and I do apologise about it. We do have contracted workers on site occasionally and I am sorry that a miscommunication caused him to accidentally enter your room.

Please do not hesitate to get in contact with us directly if you do wish to talk more privately about the incident.

Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing