We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$122
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Carrbridge)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,820)
Filter reviews
1,820 results
Traveler rating
489
520
434
228
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
520
434
228
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsanta weekendsoft playwave machineaspects restaurantaviemore resortevening entertainmentfamily breakshort breakgreat weekendbreakfast was excellentfacilitieshighlandscinemasteakhouselodgesnow
Filter
Updating list...
1,477 - 1,482 of 1,820 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

our party of 2 adults and 3 children were looking forward to visiting the pool as part of our visit to the area. adults - relax in the spa pool and kids- slide and wave machine we have enjoyed on a previous visit.
on this trip, the spa pool was very cold and when the jets did come on they were very weak, so our planned relax ended up being spoilt, with one adult at a time in the steam room whilst the other stayed to be able to keep an eye on the children. we noticed other people speaking to the staff about the spa pool but getting an equally lukewarm (!) response.
The wave machine didn't come on at all and when the children asked they were asked what wave machine.
in fact the pool itself wasn't particularly warm and the air temperature outside the pool was also quite cool- someone was at the side of the pool with a coat and boots on - not normally possible at a poolside.
we ended up leaving after less than 30 minutes as it was really quite chilly and the children weren't getting what they wanted from it activity wise.
we did complain but the reaction I got was no admission of any fault with the temperatures, I felt like I was being called a liar as yes it is checked and is 'within range' (maybe the lower end but nobody was admitting that!). We were told the wave machine isn't advertised my macdonald any longer (we had seen it on a website somewhere that day) and pointed to the bottom of a really wordy notice to say the wave machine wasn't working. would expect important aspects of unavailable equipment to be brought to our attention not placed beneath a lot of other less important items - or even for staff to point to the notice wouldn't take a lot.
They were very dismissive of my complaint (one girl told me it was the final straw and she was going to cry. boo hoo just as well my children were reacting more sensibly to a disapppointment) and after a while I spoke to a supervisor and eventually got a refund.
Shame it was so bad as this is the showcase for aviemore and compared to other locations and activities we went to in the area the staff in this place really let us down. certainly wouldn't encourage me to stay at the resort although fabulous staff elsewhere would encourage me to return to aviemore and this area again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lovelymum69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at the Highland Hotel on the complex and whilst it looked rather motel like the rooms were clean if a bit weary. The food was good however the cost of drinks was exorbitant !!!
A regular glass of wine £6.65 and a large glass at £8.64 not a place to have a few drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisnfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we have been here a few times now, the food is first class, access is easy for some one in a wheelchair, which is important, bar service can be a bit slow and mixed up, but they get it right in the end,its a self serve lunch set up, so no real waiting about, and the chef usually cut off a good size serving from the carvery section! cost of lunch is very reasonable.
the restaraunt is right next to the shopping mall, its a bit pricey, but this is usually the same in all these tourist destinations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at the Macdonald Aviemore Inn for 5 nights in October. This was the first time we stayed in this particular hotel and it's position in the resort as the most basic is well deserved. The room was very tired looking; peeling paint in the bathroom, dodgy furniture and, worst of all, a window in a third floor bedroom which opened fully on 1 hinge and had no bars or safety device attached. This was compounded by the fact that the third (presumably kids) bed was directly underneath it. We did report it and it was seen to but nothing done during our stay. The good news was that the buffet breakfast was served for 3 days of our 5 in the Highlands hotel and the choice and quality was very good. The other 2 days we breakfasted in the food court and it wasn't quite as good. We did notice that Giovannis, the Italian restuarant within the Aviemore Inn, had a BOGOF deal on main courses before 6:30pm and took advantage of this a couple of times - well worth it.
Overall the Macdonald resort is getting a wee bit dated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarlstonReiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Date of stay: September 12-13, 2012
Purpose: Designated hotel for Britain and Ireland Explorer cost saver guided tour by Trafalgar (21 days).
Hotel location: One of the three hotels in the complex, a ski resort area.
Hotel amenities: Front desk staffed only when our group was checking in and checking out. Request for service done by telephone, including wake-up call. A short walk outside to reach the restaurant located in another building. The other hotels might have better facilities.
Room amenities: Clean room and beds, functional furniture & furnishings, Wi-fi internet connection, TV, telephone, room-controlled heating system, kettle for boiling water, complimentary supply of tea and coffee, small but functional bathroom (no face towel as it is not normaly provided by European hotels), hair dryer.
Electric voltage: 220V which requires adapter and converter for North American personal appliances. However, there's a 115V outlet marked "For shaver only" in the bathroom. I managed to recharge my 110V electric shaver and double A rechargeable batteries for my digital camera using this outlet without using an adapter & converter.
Personal comment: While the resort hotel has refreshing environment, amenities-wise, even for travelling group, remains much to be desired. To take our prepaid breakfast, we had to walk to another building which is inconvenient when it's raining and cold.

Room Tip: Our pre-assigned room (#51 on the 3rd floor) is overlooking the resort's spa and swimming pool.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomeoFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews