We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Highland Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Highland, which is the 4 star hotel within the MacDonald complex. Rooms are average size but comfortable, although our bathroom (room 2125) could do with a few of the shower enclosure leaks being fixed. Breakfast in the restaurant is very good, buffet style, although the chef is behind the counter to cook your eggs for you. Drinks at the bar we found to be very expensive (£9.20 for a glass of Pinot Grigio) and this ensured that we walked into the village for our evening aperitifs! There is a swimming pool and health centre, and a cinema all within the complex.

Room Tip: The Four Seasons Hotel is just as good and better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillcrestroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    484
    406
    204
    128
See reviews for
704
618
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The most wonderful setting, spacious, clean, everything you need, use of all hotel facilities, absolutely marvellous. All you need is your toothbrush!!!

If you are with younger children maybe take a couple of games for evening entertainment, instead of relying on the telly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foody2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Another fantastic weekend at the macdonald resort. Staff, rooms, facilities, food, everything well above par. We tried crieff hydro for a change but was very disappointed, think we'll just stick to this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niahs_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

During 2011, my husband, 4 year old son and I went to stay at the Macdonalds Aviemore Highland Resort as a birthday treat for my husband. We booked for a 4 night stay on the official booking line and chose the all inclusive deal. This included, we were told our bed and breakfast and evening meals, plus drinks and use of all the facilities.It seemed an amazing deal and we were really excited about the trip, especially as it was a present for my husbands birthday.
When we checked in we were extremely impressed with our room and the general surroundings. The checkin staff could have been a bit friendlier but that did not seem a massive deal at the time. When we went to dinner for the first night we began to see that the deal was not all that we had been led to believe after all. We were only allowed to choose from the meals with stars by them which left us with a really poor choice of 3 starters and 2 mains, no veggie option. The dessert menu was quite reasonable. My main was very nice but my husbands was an extremely bone dry, overcooked salmon dish. The kids menu was chips, pizza, chips, nuggets, chips, chips and more chips. You get the picture. We were then told that none of our drinks were free, not even the soft ones, which was absolutely not what I had been told when I booked the trip. Everything went down hill pretty much from then on. The kids menu did not get better and when after 2 days our son was begging for some veg he was called weird by the waitress, who incidently had to send out to one of the other hotels to find some greenery for him. We thought it was a disgrace that a hotel that boasted of a great kids menu was serving up crap fast food morning, noon and night.
The next day we also discovered that we did not have all inclusive use of the facilities at all but had to pay for everything except the pool and gym. Non of the kids club stuff was free at all.
To top it all off our son was injured by a large, heavy metal 3 pronged bathroom door peg which was not screwed into the door but just sitting loosely in the hole. When we reported all this to the manager it actually looked like our complaints would be taken seriously. Alas no. They admitted wrong doing in all of the above mentioned and assured us that each individual incident would be taken care of. 3 days after my son was injured the hook had still not been screwed in to the door and this included on the day of checkout. We were given a paltry amount of cash back in light of the dreadful mis-sold holiday, our drinks bill reimbursed, which was not a huge amount as we drank soft drinks mainly. Eventually after a month I got a letter from a member of management saying sorry and here is 1 night B and B For you all. This was not likely to be any good to us as it would be a 5 hour round trip, check in, eat a terrible meal, stuff my son full of junk, sleep and then drive home. This was not really compensation. The company was extremely lucky that we did not sue them for the injury to my son. I sent an e mail saying pretty much all that word for word and never heard another thing.
The shame of it is that generally 80% of the staff were lovely and the pool and gym were lovely. The breakfast was extremely good and our room was lovely. All the other stuff really lets the place down and ensures that we would never, ever visit again and would absolutely not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We've stayed here for the last 4 years in October half term. We always rent one of the woodland lodges and love it. There are four of us but the lodges are for 6 so we have lots of space. There's lots to do even in October; Treezone nearby which is fantastic, Lots of lochs to walk to or round (Loch Enilien) is our favourite. The little village of Aviemore is nice too and the 4 ish mile Spey Way makes for a great bike ride or torch lit walk.
The Macdonald resort has a swimming pool and gym, both of which are clean and well equipped. The pool even has a fairly big curly slide, kids pool and jaccuzzi.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: any woodland lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights while on vacation and were pleased to enjoy a slower pace in Aviemore than we had in Edinburgh. When we arrived at the resort, we made our way to the front desk to find that we had been upgraded to a newer facility on the resort campus b/c our original hotel was overbooked. This was our first visit to this resort and were curious about all the facilities and offerings onsite.The manager that checked us in was very personable or interested in answering our questions. Thankfully, our experience got better from there. We were pleased with our room- very comfortable and so many things to do at the resort. Got some great deals shopping onsite and the restaurants were high quality. Breakfast each day was excellent. They had something for everyone and far more than you can eat. We looked forward to each breakfast. The service in the restaurants was also top notch. We did lots of walking through town and throughout the resort. There were bunnies everywhere enhanced the feeling of being out in the countryside. it was so charming and they were fun to watch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midntmtncatfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

room ok but not 4 star unless 4 out of ten stars!
breakfast on saturday when they took your order then you had to wait 45 mins for service useless!
on sunday breakfast buffet much better and more efficient
ridiculously overpriced bar - £12 for a double oban whisky which cost £6 at a bar in the main street
on night 2 I bought a lovely bottle of chilled marlborough sauvingnon blanc from tescos at £6 which was cheaper than the £6+ large glass of HOUSE wine at the bar
the downside I had to stay in the room but actually the bar was completely dead and lacking atmosphere (probably everyone else had been to tescos too)so was no bad thing
another annoying thing was that as I purchased a dinner bed and breakfast deal I didn't expect to only choose random "starred" items from the menu
all in all very poor would not go back and did email them to let them know but received no reply!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing