We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant
Ranked #19 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

What a find on a freezing winter's night in the highlands. Our last night on our Christmas holiday and we were all set for 'whatever we can find' to eat before a long drive back down south prior to the coming of the new year. Driving aimlessly around snowy Aviemore, it appeared that most places had shut up shop to prep for the festivities, so by chance we stopped at The Rowan tree.
We were welcomed in out of the cold and within five minutes we were happily sat around a fire enjoying pre-dinner drinks whilst greedily eyeballing the menu!
This is the best food I have ever been served in a hotel, restaurant, anywhere, in fact. I tip my hat to the chef for what can only be described as a thoroughly incredible dining experience - just the ticket on a family holiday and it finished our winter break in style!

We will be returning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely evening here. The food, service and staff were second to none. Lovely meal (I recommend the pork done three ways!!), friendly attentive staff and a brilliant atmosphere....I will definitely be back..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nice place. All aspects were good - food, service, atmosphere, price - the lot. Lovely venison perfectly cooked. ouldn't fault any part of the meal. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 8 members of my family went for a meal tonight, we were shown in to the bar area to a very comfy open fire sitting room, we all had a drink sitting waiting for our table the staff were very friendly and helpful and we all felt very relaxed.
Food was first class homemade and all 3 courses were of the same quality.
Excellent and will definitely be returning in the future.
Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 667Jackadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, 5* food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Rowan Tree is a hotel but you don't have to be a guest to dine in the restaurant although you must book as it does get very busy. The menu is superb, with Trio of Venison, Trio of Lamb etc, fish dishes and vegetarian and an amazing selection of desserts. The dishes are selected by the chef and the menu does change but the quality of the food doesn't, it is always superb. The atmosphere is lovely, very cosy and vibrant with log fires roaring, perfect for the cold Scottish evenings. The staff are so friendly and helpful, there is a lovely family feel. Most definately the best restaurant by far in Aviemore and 100% worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lennie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing