We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely looking not worth the prices. ”
Review of Osprey Ale House and Kitchen - CLOSED

Osprey Ale House and Kitchen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I ate at the steak club during our stay at spey valley. The restaurants decor is lovely & the fire is great after a day out on the mountain. The staff we're very slow to take any order or bring our drinks considering there was only my husband & I in. The food was ok-I've had much nicer though. Prices do not match portion sizes. May have felt differently if we'd known about the £6 before 6pm deal.

Thank Ray-JayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Osprey Ale House and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review, all of the team here at Steak Club work hard to provide all of our guests with an excellent dining experience, I will pass on your comments which are always well received from the whole team, especially our kitchen team who are always happy to hear feedback from customers, thank you once again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a lovely break at spey valley resort. Beautiful meals at the Scottish steak club, staff very friendly in the restaurant and food amazing, lovely open fire, just gorgeous. Thanks to Richard restaurant manager and staff. Will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank BrookeChrisCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Osprey Ale House and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, all feedback is important to us here at the Steak club. I will pass your comments onto our kitchen team who use any feedback given from our clients, in a constructive way to improve menu choices for future customers

Best regards

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Within the last few day's i have had the pleasure to dine,at the scottish steak club. The staff are polite and attentive, and it was nice chatting with them,they are good humoured.
I had the Ribeye steak,that was cooked ,just the way i asked .Not an ordinary steak! this was melt in the mouth,succulent steak,the accompanying veg and side orders,were cooked to perfection.decent house red wine,went very well with our meal. Seating and mood were very pleasent. very relaxed and no rush.
The only thing not making this dining experience excellent, was the desert .Porrige type museli clagging up the knickerbocker glory was a mistake! should've gone for the alternatives,that other members in my party had and thouroughly enjoyed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tonzer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Osprey Ale House and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable meal with us. Our daily specials are an excellent value for money and I am glad to read that you really enjoyed both the atmosphere and the food itself.

Hope to see you stopping by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Arriving late on a Sunday evening, we scoped out The Scottish Steak House at Spey Valley for dinner. Wow! We received a warm and welcoming reception from Richard, the host of the restaurant, who asked us to sit and relax a bit while they prepared a table of five for us. We all ordered different entrees and some starters and salads and we were delighted with the service and food. Our server, Zanda, was as charming and friendly as was Richard. We engaged her in conversation about the place and the food, and we learned a great deal.
The experience was so good that we went back again later on in the week and had an equally fantastic meal and experience.
The place is a little out of the way but well worth finding it. This is a gem in the Aviemore area.

Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Osprey Ale House and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review,all customer feedback is so important to all of the team here at the Steak Club, I will pass on your comments to the kitchen team who are always happy to hear reviews from customers, when guests return to us, time and time again it really helps to know that we as a team are getting it right, we all work hard to provide an excellent service in all our departments , therefore to receive reviews from repeat customers, is an excellent way of showing to future guests what we do here at the resort , Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Aviemore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This restaurant will become very sucessful if McDonalds continue to have customer focused Bar and Restaurant Manageress/Managers as experienced by my wife and i during our meal last night . We only discovered the restaurant by accident as i had been checking out the golf course earlier in the day and we decided to give it a try. Upon arrival the greeting we recieved was both very friendly and professional and although it was pretty late in the evening nothing appeared to be too much trouble with the restaurant manager taking time out to explain the local beers available at the bar. The meal itself was very good and the steaks were of very good quality and cooked perfectly. Only point of advice is the creme brulee, if you offer this on the menu, you need to serve a proper egg custard creme brulee, you cannot caramelise sugar over ready made custard! This aside, i really enjoyed my dining experience, would certainly recommend the restaurant and will eat here again next time we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WRCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Osprey Ale House and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, all feedback is important to us here at the Steak club. I will pass your comments onto our kitchen team who use any feedback given from our clients, in a constructive way to improve menu choices for future customers

Best regards

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osprey Ale House and Kitchen also viewed

Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing