We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Italian nosh”

Giovanni's Italian Ristorante
Ranked #41 of 60 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Ellon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality Italian nosh”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived at the resort tonight with the wife for a couple of days snowboarding and staying D,B&B. Went to Giovanni's on for our first night and restaurant was really quiet when we arrived at 7 but the staff weren't over at our table all the time. I had the belly pork for the main course and it was amazing!!! My wife won't eat belly pork normally but tried it and she even found it amazing! Wife had the gios pizza and it was an excellent pizza and I had some of hers to help her finish it! All round excellent meal had for each course by both of us!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic 5 Star Review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at the Aspects and I will certainly pass over your kind words to the staff and Chef who I am sure will be delighted with your comments.

best regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    18
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More disappointing the more courses you order”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The menu looks impressive, with a big deal made out of the ingredients, however you can't actually taste any of the ingredients that are supposedly in it. The Buffalo mozzarella tasted of nothing, the bolognese lacked tomato sauce, and was more like mince meat. Wild mushroom and Gorgonzola pasta didnt appear to have an Gorgonzola in it, nor did it taste of mushrooms or cheese. The pasta was cooked to oblivion and the portions were child-sized. Now for the cakes, i would say im a bit of a desert fiend, but i couldn't have more than a spoonful of either the tiramisu or cheesecake. the Cheesecake was jelly-like and the tiramisu was very powdery sponge with layers of jelly topped with chocolate powder.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your recent lunch at the hotel. We do value your opinions and we are very sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. Please be assured that all your comments regarding this have been taken very seriously and are being addressed

Kind Regards

The General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overly attentive”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Food was mixed - pizza and lasagne credible, pasta questionable microwave use? Main issue was the staff...more than likely because we were the only table in use, but we weren't left alone for 5 minutes before staff came over and asked if everything was alright...recommend you appoint one person to manage the table!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Feedback is very important to us to continuously grow and develop in order to provide the highest guest service available. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food in the restaurant. We always strive for the best possible food and service for all guests and I am sad to hear that you did not find this the case during your dining experience. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to all relevant people.

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pleace, great food, great service”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Had dinner 2 weeks ago and realy loved here. Food was first class and service excelent. Atmosphere very warm and walcoming.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Danatas Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, All of the team here at Giovanni's work hard to deliver quick service along with excellent food to all of our clients, I will pass your comments to all of our team who are always happy to hear feedback from our customers, we thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

The general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the worst”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I took my family to Giovanni's restaurant for my granddaughter's 12th birthday and had one of the worst meals I have ever had in the UK. How can anyone go wrong with pasta or pizza? This restaurant did both. My pasta with white sauce and basil was absolutely tasteless--and basil is a strong flavor. My wife, son and granddaughter each had pizza and not one of them could finish their pizza because it tasted like a bought pizza that they had microwaved. Foolishly, we had ordered wine from their very limited wine list, only to find both wines were unavailable. When I then ordered another red, it was undrinkable and we left the bottle. The consensus of our entire group was that this was one of the worst meals they have ever had.
Avoid Giovanni's at all costs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Giovanni's Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your recent lunch at the hotel. We do value your opinions and we are very sorry that you were disappointed with your meal . Please be assured that all your comments regarding this have been taken very seriously and are being addressed

Kind Regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Italian Ristorante also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Giovanni's Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing