We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible location, original and beautiful...”
Inshriach House Lawn side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inshriach House Lawn side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Inshriach House Lawn side
The kitchen
The bothy project.
Inshriach House front
The Beermoth
Inshriach yurt
View from the back door
Mrs Blacks
The loch
The library
French maids room
Miss Blacks Bedroom
The nursery
Spare Bedrooms
Upstairs gallery
Cluedo Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
10 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
4RichardM
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible location, original and beautiful house, thoughtful and informative landlord.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

It's not difficult to understand why Inshriach is popular with those with discerning taste and a sense of fun. I have visited the house for a number of years and after such a hefty trip from London, arriving in such a beautiful location is like breathing after holding your breath for too long. I have enjoyed a few drinks by the fire, long walks in the hills, the madcap glamping, skiing and snowboarding, fly fishing, archery, whisky distillery and on returning home you can even have a very capable chef to cook for a dinner party. Sitting by the fire after a day of exploration with Scotland's finest will make you feel that you home from home. Every where you look is a quirky reminder of the history and beauty of the house in its atmospheric location. Walter and Lucy are fantastic hosts and looking forward to my next visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wow , what a place”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Inshriach to plan mhairi and eddies wedding.
During the week the group grew and we walked , sauna'd, swam, bbq , sat round the fire pit eating and drinking until the early hours.
The kitchen table was the place for everyone to congregate at all times of the day before and after skiing, walking etc and the warmth of the aga added to the atmosphere.
We then had a fantastic wedding at the house which everyone enjoyed.
The hiuse is ideal for large groups and the outside accommodation just adds to the quirkiness of the whole place.
You must go!!!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsayjb...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quirky and unique house - brilliant for large groups”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Inshriach House over a weekend in January. The house is certainly individual with each room designed in a creative and unique way. There were 17 of us and the house was a perfect size. Pretty rustic but homely (once we got the fires burning) - it has an eclectic mix of ornaments, paintings (some slightly spooky) and furniture (much of which has been designed and made by the owner Walter - the Princess and the Pea style bed was a favourite!). We had a great Burns supper in the hall, which easily accommodated us plus a sing song around the piano afterwards and games around the fire. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone and it would be perfect for a murder mystery weekend. Walter was very helpful with recommending local walks, activities and good pubs! He's creative and an inventive - I'd be interested to see how the house and estate develops, especially with the creation of the outside hot tub!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acr1234
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“i love this place!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

I stayed on my way up to Sutherland in Scotland and was so happy here. The owner Walter made me feel right at home and the house and surrounding areas had so much character and so much to do!

I cant wait to come back and am planning a trip (forget Sutherland!) this summer to stay for a bit longer.

I cannot recommend enough.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Wynd
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“my favourite place in the whole world”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

it's beautiful and comfortable, wish we could have stayed here for ever, excellent walks, comfy beds, roaring fire what more could anyone ask?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappySatu...
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Firelit perfection”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We booked out this house (about 15 of us) for a celebration weekend and couldn't have been happier. It's an incredible old, beautiful house to explore and the Edwardian-chic lifestyle they've created throughout this lively and ramshackle estate has brilliant touches in every corner. We lit fires, enjoyed music and drifted from epic dinner tables to four-poster splendour. It's not precious or fusty - more lived in and genuine. Wonderfully understated welcome from the owner family and the estate itself is a stunning outdoor idyll. Swims in the river followed by saunas on the river bank. Spot on luxury, 10 minutes to the pubs of Aviemore and a million miles from dreary civilisation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling lucky to have found it.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holled
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Character, charm and stunning scenery in a remarkable adventureland”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Excellent time at Inshriach House. Walks, warmth and all the trimmings. Great food prepared by local chefs and what a place... the family who run it have embedded their creative skills throughout the estate; as well as the main house there's a yurt and a remarkable vintage truck conversion that you can stay in. Can't wait to find out about the next ambitious projects to make the place even more fun! Thanks to Walter and his mum.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing