We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern and clean home from home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sus-Joe
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern and clean home from home”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely, well equiped home, thoughtfully kitted out with everything you could need. Everything was immaculate, tastefull and considered. The location was great, peaceful yet very cose to all amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and comfortable furnishings
Liked least: too cosy duvets!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W
Warwick-on-Eden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The quality of this accommodation is absolutely faultless for either sole traveller or family.
Everything has been very well thought out.
Warm and cosy on those cooler days - yet cool and airy for warmer late spring/summer days.
A great base to explore the Aviemore/Cairngorm/Inverness area.
Will certainly recommend to friends as long as they don't want the week I would like next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb accommodation and location
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky B
Thorne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well thought out cottage in a perfect location for exploring”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A really cosy, well thought out cottage in an ideal location for exploring the surrounding area.
We travelled with our two young children aged 5 and 2 who loved the open fire, snuggly blankets & hot water bottles provided.
The cottage had everything we needed, it was lovely & warm after a cold day on the mountains. A short walk into Aviemore and right next to the steam railway line, lovely little gardens to play in & shed for storage of ski's/sledges etc.
Lots to do nearby, the bridge inn has fab food & a roaring fire, we spent many an evening playing dominos here.
Nearby, Loch En Eilien is a fantastic walk for little legs we encountered rain, sun, hail & even a rainbow on our adventure round (approx 3.5 mile).
I would definately reccomend Strathisla to other families, a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you needed for self catering accomodation was found.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia2805
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy home-from-home”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having searched extensively for good value, dog and family friendly self-catering accommodation in the Cairngorms, we certainly came up trumps with this one!

The bungalow is super-cosy. We enjoyed a roaring log fire every night after a day exploring the stunning surrounds. The house is well equipped and beautifully furnished. Reading through the visitors book, we weren't the only ones to fall for the super-comfy sofas!

We have been coming to this area for years and the house is perfectly located for the local amenities and still on the doorstep of some great walks and attractions.

We have 4 and 5-year-old boys so it goes without saying that seeing the steam train go past out of their bedroom window has left them wanting to come back!

We cannot recommend Strathisla highly enough and will certainly be coming back again. Thanks Allison and family!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cramlington
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing