We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but tired accommodation and expensive.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location but tired accommodation and expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as a party of 6 in one if the woodland lodges. These were described as luxury, I think thats stretching things a touch.
We managed to get into our lodge at lunchtime rather than the usual 5pm, which I think is ridiculously late. Lodges bright and very spacious; ours had a great view onto the well stocked childrens park. There is a double ensuite room upstairs with a seating mezzanine area, a double and twin downstairs, both ensuite also. Bathrooms a bit dirty and tired, could do with redoing grout etc and shower didnt drain way all the time I was in the shower.
Living area was great, 2 sofas and a chair round log fire and tv; no DVD player or iPod dock. Dining table and chairs. Kitchen tiny, basically a corner; there is a fridge and dishwasher but a lack of crockery. You couldn't cook a meal here as only a microwave and 2 electric rings.
It was very quiet when we visited. We used the pool and there was only 1 other family in. The main building where the shops are was closed on the Monday which was very poor.
Check in and out was slow, the receptionist each time was casually chatting to a colleague on the phone whilst I stood and waited. We picked up a childrens entertainment programme and went to find the Saturday night disco, the reception team had no idea where it was, we gave up after they made repeated phonecalls but still had no idea about itate at Giovannis Italian restaurant, pretty basic food and ecoemsuve fir the standard.
Would I go again? Possibly, although it's more expensive than visiting centre parcs, where the accommodation is much better and the facilities are more extensive, especially for children.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldmatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Goldmatrix
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on Trip Advisor – all guest feedback is very important in order for us to continuously grow and develop. I am glad that the location was ideal for you and your family during you stay.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. The on-going investment into the resort allows us to continuously grow and offer the best guest services and facilities available. I apologise about the inconvenience of the shower, I do wish you would have raised the point with us in order for us to have it solved immediately.
Please be assured that your comments regarding the reception has been taken on board and discussed with the relevant department.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
66
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just want to say huge thanks u to the staff at this resort we stayed in lodge 17 just back today sunday 30/02/13 we stayed Friday to sunday we went for ours friends birthday 6 of us the lodges were fantastic the cleanisless was fantastic would highjlt recommnend this place

Room Tip: the train station is 2 mins away form this hotel.lodges cairn gown hotel was great place for food a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tracey L
Thank you for your lovely review of the lodges and the staff, it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us.

Thank you for the time taken to write a review, we look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Exceeded all expectations during a four night family stay to celebrate a significant birthday. All very clean and well equipped. Good quality toiletries in all three bathrooms where under-floor heating makes them particularly cosy. Nice extra touches such as bathrobes and slippers along with complementary spa water and biscuits on arrival. Wood burning stove a fantastic feature with a complementary supply of wood which was replenished without having to ask - makes the living area really snug and inviting with temperatures down to minus 10C outside. TV in every bedroom reduces arguments about which channel to watch. Very minor issues in the kitchen was lack of an oven and limited kitchen utensils - suggest bring your own large frying pan, mixing bowls, sieve and sharp knives. Have to pay for wireless internet but speed fine (online TV etc ok - suggest bring HD lead to plug into large flat screen in living area, there is also a TV in each bedroom). Onsite was very quiet while we were there (late January) but not really an issue as is a very short walk to centre of Aviemore (see review of Old Bridge Inn). Fitness centre fine as is pool if avoid times when lessons are being given. Ski hire worked well (although suggest bring your own ski goggles) - mountain closed due to blizzards for one of our pre-booked days but received rapid refund. Aviemore supermarket fine for basics with larger one in Inverness. All staff very friendly and helpful with daily offer of cleaning, towel changes etc. All round a great stay in fantastic accommodation and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear DaveCoys
I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay in our Woodland Lodges, it is always our aim to not only meet but exceed the expectations of our guests and I am so happy that this has been the case with your stay. It is great that the lodges were so accommodating for you and your family – and I am happy to inform you that we now offer free internet in all of the lodges.
Thank you for you kind words about our staff – I know they will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands,Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break with family staying in one of the three bedroomed Woodland Lodges which we all thought was great.Situated next to the childrens playpark was a real bonus which my two grandkids loved. The small hill directly outside the lodge proved a big hit with the kids as well as it was covered with snow and great for sledging down.We had a Dinner & breakfast deal with meals being taken in Aspects Restaurant which was very child friendly! Food was very good but service a bit slow on the second night which meant the kids were getting grumpy and had to be taken away early. Swimming pool and play area was great as well.
We would certainly return again in the near future

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_henderson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear mike_henderson77
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am thrilled to read it and see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you got the opportunity to enjoy the resort and all that we have to offer from its accommodation and dining to the leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I travelled up to Aviemore for a stag weekend and we had 2 of the 6 person lodges booked, both were fantastically clean and well equipped and none of us had a bad thing to say about them. Each of the bedrooms had an ensuite bathroom and the lounge area was well kitted out with sofas and a wood burner. The kitchen area was fairly small but had everything you need.

I'd definately use these lodges again if i was up in Aviemore in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear MK1980
Thank you for your positive review, it is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guest expectation and provided the best service possible. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the lodges comfortable and clean.
We look forward to welcome you back again in the future.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very poorly equipped , table which sits four in a lodge for six , lack of basic cooking equipment , faulty micro wave , a fridge which had no seal , curtains falling apart , kitchen units affected by damage for some time , en suite tiles cracked and lacking frosting in places - long standing issues which were notified on arrival . Especially the fridge , nothing was resolved during our stay or since dispute several opportunities , expensive for something far from luxury !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racheltraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Racheltraff
Thank you for taking the time to write a review – as all guest feedback is always appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the lodge you stayed in. We always strive for the highest guest service available and I am genuinely sorry that you did not feel this was the case during you stay. I can assure you that your comments have all been passed on to the departments involved.
If you do feel you would like to discuss you stay in further detail with us, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.3 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
8.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: | Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Luxury Woodland Lodges At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing