We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aviemore Hillside Lodge
Ranked #23 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Aviemore Hillside Lodge (Cairngorm Room) and it was just fabulous. Maggie (the owner) was wonderful, very friendly and so happy to help us and answer all of our questions about the area. Our room was beautifully decorated and felt very luxurious - the bed is amazing! And we had a view of the Cairngorm Mountain - the house is in fact located on a hillside so you have quite the panorama view from the room. Maggie serves breakfast in a cosy little breakfast room - and the food is great, you really need to try the Champagne Rhubarb. The landscaping going on behind the house did not bother us at all and will be done shortly. We would absolutely stay at the Aviemore Hillside Lodge next time we're in the area. Thanks Maggie, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stine_K-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

In many years of holidaying in Scotland we have never stayed anywhere better than this small b and b. The Cairngorm room which we occupied is one of only two in this modern house just a mile or so out of Aviemore. It was large, comfortable and quiet. The landlady could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The view over Cairngorm was magnificent and the breakfast superb - we loved the rhubarb, granola and yoghurt alternative to cereal. The landscaping of the ground adjacent to the property was not yet complete but this was not a problem and it appeared that it would soon be finished. We had no transport but found no difficulty in walking to and from Aviemore. The bus stop to Inverness was only a few minutes' walk away. The only restriction to be aware of is that Maggie does not cater for animals or children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edinetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a fantastic place in a great location. The house is modern, spotless and immaculately presented with a Guest Lounge. We stayed in the Hillside Room which was a large en-suite room with all mod cons including free wifi access. Maggie the landlady was very welcoming, friendly, pleasant and her good knowledge of the area was well appreciated. I had requested no feather bedding when booking and Maggie had made sure this request was dealt with. There was a good choice for breakfast. The breakfast was excellent and the freshly made bread so yummy.

There is some landscaping work going on at the rear of the house but this caused no major disturbance at all and certainly did not affect our stay. It is definitely not a building site.

Our one night stay cost us £85.00 which was well worth it ... definitely not over priced. We will return to this accommodation when next in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diamondfife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Such a big let-down. Aviemore Hillside Lodge is just a modern house in the middle of a building site! When we approached it we had to drive past a builders yard with materials stacked up, then drive under the high-speed motorway/carriageway and the house is right there. A stones throw from the main carriageway. Noisy and dusty. We were quite angry as we were led to believe it was a "lodge" on a hillside with stunning views. We could hear the HGV's and lorries passing the house, many of them during the night, not pleasant at all. The house is nicely decorated, very neutral but maybe tad boring - pleasant but not luxurious. The owner was friendly and approachable and breakfast was very good, the rhubarb was certainly different. Due to the awful location and the false (or at least misleading) advertising, we cannot reccomend this accommodation. This is not a luxury getaway in our opinion and was the most expensive accommodation on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thewalkerofhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillonthemove44, Owner at Aviemore Hillside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and would have been happy to help this guest find alternative accommodation if they had mentioned their concerns to me. The lodge is 2 years old and is not on a building site. The landscaping is being completed at the back of the lodge which is causing some noise but all other guests who stayed in this room have not found it a problem. The room is £85 per night and other 4* Bed and breakfasts are charging £140 per night and are mostly next to a road as Aviemore is a long narrow village / town. The landscaping will soon be completed and will add to the beauty of the location without spoiling the spectacular views from some of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a wonderful stay with a modern house and a large room and bathroom. The décor was lovely, the bed comfortable, and bathroom large, clean and modern. The landlady was friendly and pleasant and very happy to help in any way. The breakfast choices were impressive however we found the rhubarb parfait a little too tart. We also made the mistake of choosing the eggs and smoked salmon but did not realise that these would be scrambled together which was not at all palatable for our taste. The fresh bread was a surprising touch. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wow what a lovely place!! I have been to many Bed and Breakfasts as well as 5 star hotels around the world. This is the one to beat! Such attention to detail. I love the big super comfortable bed and high quality products found around the room and spacious bathroom. Breakfast is delicious too! This is the only place I would stay!!! Do not hessitate!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in July and highly recommend it.We received a warm welcome from Maggie on arrival and also every night when we arrived back.We stayed in the Hillside room which was spacious clean and comfortable with a large king size bed. There was lovely toiletries and free Wi Fi.The toilet had double sinks and a double size shower. There was a good choice of breakfasts with freshly baked bread every morning which made delicious toast and an excellent cooked breakfast. Maggie had a good local knowledge and was only too happy to help with places to go and where to eat. Will definatly be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#14 of 29 in Aviemore
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairngorm Guest House
Cairngorm Guest House
#12 of 29 in Aviemore
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Hillside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Hillside Lodge

Address: 1 Old Meall Road | High Burnside, Aviemore PH22 1UN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviemore Hillside Lodge is a newly built Guest House offering bed and breakfast in luxury, boutique accommodation in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park. The boutique bedrooms have luxurious bathrooms or showerooms and many enjoy amazing views of the Cairngorm Mountain range. Friendly service and comfort are in abundance along with unique opportunities to enjoy the great outdoors and the local attractions of the Spey Valley including our famous Malt Whiskey Trail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aviemore Hillside Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing