We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the breakfast alone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairngorm Guest House
Ranked #13 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth it for the breakfast alone”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

In early August I was touring Scotland by train, and stayed here for 3 nights. A single traveller, I was allocated Room 8 in the rear extension. It contained a double bed (which was very comfortable) but I have to say that if two people were sharing the room they would have to be very careful not to get in each other's way. Also the walls are thin and I could hear what was going on next door. Furthermore, you would get a crick in the neck looking up at the small TV, which was on a bracket high up on the wall. In practice I tended to use the visitors lounge for relaxing after a couple of good days walking; usually there was no one else in it.Having said all that, I have to endorse the other reviewers comments about the breakfasts - they were excellent - and about the owner who couldn't have been more helpful. She recommended the Cairngorm Hotel, opposite the station, as a good place for dinner, and indeed I went there twice.

I feel a bit bad about not giving the place a higher rating. Maybe the rooms at the front were larger and more comfortable, but I can only make a judgement on my own experience and not what might have been.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    77
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
142
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you're looking for a good start to your day (especially if you're going off into the hills all day) we would thoroughly recommend staying here. Wonderful fresh fruit salad, porridge and breakfast cooked to your liking, what more could you want.... oh yes, the bedroom was spotless and very comfortable. Every intention of returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Good location near centre of Aviemore. Parking off road. Room compact with ensuite. Both very clean. Room at the front, but this was fine and slept well in the comfy bed. Breakfast is the star. Lots of fresh fruit salad, porridge and the cooked breakfast is really well done. Good service. Have stayed a few times now and been very happy each time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfthemaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leek
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great base for exploring the local area which is stunning. Very good B and B. Friendly and welcoming. Excellent breakfasts with a wide choice of tasty food. Room was compact with good en-suite facilities. Very comfy bed. We slept like logs.Gail gave us very helpful advice about the best places to go for walking and spotting wildlife.She had a lovely way of interacting with all the guests no matter where they came from. There was even a very useful drying room for all that wet clothing after a long day out.We would definitely recommend this B and B.

Room Tip: Our room was in the extension and was quiet even though we were on the ground floor. There is also p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The staff was really friendly and helpful in guidance and planning. The room was clean and the bed big and comfortable, but our room were close to the main road with paper thin walls, so we were disturbed by the road and outside noises, and it was really hot. Try to get a room in the other side of the house if you stay here, otherwise it was great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Situated on the road into town, Cairngorm Guest House is a short walk from an assortment of shops, restaurants and a couple of pubs.

The room was compact and had an en-suite. Both were very clean. It was a quiet room with a comfortable bed.

A PC is available in the hallway for guest use. There is a fridge behind the living room door for guests use.

The breakfast here is the show-stopper. It is superb, with a great choice of sides followed by a full Scottish breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is our home away from home. And we get totally spoiled at breakfast with Pete´s Porridge, Gail´s spicy fruit compote, fresh fruit and fantastic cooked breakfast. And they have been most helpful with trips in the local area, which means so much when you are a stranger. We are sure to be back with a group of walkers next year for a whole week:-)
The beds are great, and the rooms are spacious,beautifully decorated and very clean.
Best wishes Liselotte Douglas-Pedersen and Ida Sloth Bonnevie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LottieDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairngorm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Guest House

Property: Cairngorm Guest House
Address: 139 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairngorm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter, Gail and staff invite you to our lovely Victorian home in the Cairngorm National Park. Some rooms on ground floor, some with mountain views, some with kingsize beds. 24 hour access, drying/storage, free parking and Wifi. Real log fire in guest lounge. All amenities – ten minutes walk. Ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cairngorm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Guest House Hotel Aviemore
Cairngorm Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing