We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific tipsy tour!!!”
Review of Cairngorm Brewery

Cairngorm Brewery
Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrific tipsy tour!!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived at the brewery in good time to have a look around the shop before we started the tour.
We where meet by "Bruce" our tour guide (excellent Scottish accent!)

He gave us a little background info on the brewery, brewing in Scotland during the ages and let us have a sniff or taste if you dare of the hops they use.

We where then led into the brewery where we had a brief but informative tour of the premises, then onto the more important bit, the tasting!!!

It is a this point that all other brewery's should take note on how to be an excellent host!!

The tasting included drinking a multitude (at least 10) different ales that they brew on the premises. With a quick intro to each one.

Overall I would say this is the best brewery tour that I have ever been on (and that's quite a few!!)

It had value for money, a great guide and I left slightly tipsy :)

What more could you want for £3!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank McGenity-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    34
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful visit!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely people, great beer - opportunities for tasting their permanent and seasonal beers (some with very entertaining names!) and needless to say, we bought quite a lot to take home.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HighlandMeagaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Killer Brewsky!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My favorite beer in the U.S. is Sam Adams, this is right up there. Very flavorful, not light and wimpy like many standard brews. The tasting experience and shop were great, very friendly, informative folks. Very comfortable setting, just belly right up to the bar!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Tour”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent my birthday weekend in Aviemore, and one of the highlights was the visit here. The tour was really cheap and great value. Recommend it to anyone. You see all you need to, and then the beer tasting starts :D Really great to taste all the brews one after the other to get a taste for which ones you like. We bought a few souvenirs and left very merry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brydonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wee tour”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well worth the very modest cost of the tour. Interesting, informative, tasty and entertaining. We stocked up with bottles, mini kegs and some novelty items. Waiting for an excuse to go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eveline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairngorm Brewery also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Cairngorm Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing