We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More stocking up.”
Review of Cairngorm Brewery

Cairngorm Brewery
Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
MERE, CHESHIRE, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“More stocking up.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Called in the brewery this week, great selection of beers although the guest bottles were expensive. Neat carry bag cheaper with 6 bottles purchased, Trade Winds beer was very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scotties477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    34
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best beer in the world”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ive been drinking cairngorm brewerys beer for a few years.We was staying in fortwilliam and a pub there had a couple of cairngorm beers on.On the way home we called by brewery to purchase some beer,the staff are very helpful and friendly.
The new brewery shop is very good with a great selection of beers and you can try before you buy.
Next time we go we will have a tour of the brewery.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Try before you buy”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Seen the sign and decided to drop in on way back from Strathspey steam railway. Unfortunatley their wasnt a tour as these are monday to friday @ 2:30 so we popped into the shop. What a little gem lots of ales and ciders to try for free. Their was a ginger cider, elderflower cider, strawberry cider to name but a few. On the ale side their was sheep shagger gold, white lady, nessie, trade winds and many many more ranging from pale ales through to stouts so plenty of choice. We ended up buying a few bottles and will be returning shortley. The price of the bottles was @ £1.95 very cheap. Have put time at less than a hour because we couldnt do the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tour with a difference!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Our guide, Bruce, made the tour - he was a tremendous storyteller and made it a memorable experience. The opportunity to sample nearly the whole range of fantastic beers was unexpected - my recommendation is leave the car behind! We will definitely be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ld a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Limited brewery "tour" but excellent beer experience”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Cairngorm Brewery's facility in Dalfaber, Aviemore has expanded since last time I was here and now includes a shop and "visitor centre". Organised tours are priced at £3 per head and essentially consist of three parts - an introduction, a visit to the brewery itself, then a return to the visitor centre for a tasting session. Introduction and visit to the brewery fairly brief - you stand in a room surrounded by the brewing equipment while the guide explains the process to you - before returning to a seating area for the tasting. And then the real fun begins!!!!!!!

Now I expected a half or maybe even a pint of one of their more popular beers. Or a couple of tasters. Instead we were treated to a very generous measure of 10 samples of the brewery's current output whilst being entertained by our superb host and guide (?Bruce) who recounted stories of his life and the brewery, being an extra in Highlander and things that happened to the stars during filming, and the best type of beer to take hillwalking!!! Whilst I was having to refuse samples as I had to drive, those who didn't were able to take advantage of bigger samples.

So maybe not the best brewery tour but certainly one of the best brewery experiences. And very good value. Just walk or have a nominated driver to take full advantage of it. You can also drive back to the shop after your visit to stock up (the beers are significantly cheaper in the brewery shop than from the shops in Aviemore). In addition the shop also now stocks beers from many other highland microbreweries.

Now when can I go back to Aviemore to restock?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairngorm Brewery also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Cairngorm Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing