We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding for What It Is”

The Potting Shed Tearoom Inshriach
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
356 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Outstanding for What It Is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Potting Shed at Inshraich Nursery is not fine dining, it's not upscale, it's not easy to get to, but for what it is--an out of the way tearoom specializing in cakes--it's outstanding. The nursery with raised planting beds and intriguing green houses is interesting to visit as is the lochan next to the nursery. The drive out from Aviemore is lovely, although tight. The tea selection was good enough that even I, not a normal tea drinker, could find something to try. But the cakes--Wow! I would have liked to try several, but was only allowed one by my wife. I'm already planning to go back to the Potting Shed on our fall trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    74
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Taste sensation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Go for the cakes only, if you must - but also watch the birds just outside the Shed, squirrels too if you're lucky. The compact nursery & gardens, with picnic tables, are worth the visit in their own right!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank grufflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We tend to visit Aviemore once a year and visit The Potting Shed as many times as we can. The cakes are delicious and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank caitsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - just for the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Little tearoom which serves coffee, teas and a variety of cakes. I had the raspberry and lindt chocolate cake slice with whipped cream and my partner had the lemon cake - both of which were amazing!! You can eat your slice sitting at the viewing window outside which are many bird feeders. So many birds can be seen feeding. Unfortunately never saw many on this trip. The last time - a few years ago, the place was jumping!

The place isal so a well known alpine plants nursery with so many many types of alpine varieties propagated and sold. A little on the expensive side but they are more specialist variety not the commonly seen plants.

Definitely worth a visit..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NPuthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Yummy cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Tiny little tearoom which only serves cakes and tea/ coffee but well worth a visit just to watch the bird feeding station. The cakes are so delicious though not cheap! Though we enjoyed our return visit and loads of birds feasting in full view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajkedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Potting Shed Tearoom Inshriach also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Potting Shed Tearoom Inshriach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing