We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better beds and better value places available else where”
Review of Aviemore Bunkhouse

Aviemore Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aviemore Bunkhouse
edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“better beds and better value places available else where”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had a nights stay here in early january. Just looking for a bed whilst exploring aviemore. have previously stayed at the proper youth hostel across the tracks so thought would give this place a try as it was slightly cheaper. No answer on the phone when trying to check availability and not voicemail or alternative number offered. Check in was swift enough. Room was spacious enough and en-suite is always nice. However when it came to bed time... The room was stuffy and uncomfertable, bed was lumpy and did not give a good nights rest and the place was quite noisy without the other guests being particulaly rowdy. foot steps, closing doors and perfectably quiet conversations could be heard form all over as well as the noise of a boiler/extractor.

All in all the hostel accross the way was a much better nights sleep and Mackenzies inn up the road offers ensuite rooms with breakfast for only £10 more

Room Tip: If you want to sleep well get a bed elsewhere or drink plenty in the old bridge inn before hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbridgeinn, Manager at Aviemore Bunkhouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for getting in touch.

Since your feedback we have ensured there is always an alternative number (for The Old Bridge Inn) on our voicemail, so people should never have any difficulty reaching a member of staff when they need to.

We are also working on an on-line booking system to make things even easier, which is in the pipe-line.

The boiler in question has since been repaired, so you should have no difficulty there. Our thermostats have also been adjusted to make for a more comfortable night's sleep. There are of course windows in all rooms which can be opened for some fresh air too.

I am sorry if you were disturbed by other guests. Unfortunately, like many hostels, having a lot of guests in close proximity and larger groups (up to 6) in one room, noise can travel. We have recently taken steps to reduce this issue (changed flooring and re-lined all walls with sound dampening cavities included, reduced our overall capacity and amended room layouts) which have been quite effective, if not completely successful.

Again, apologies your night was not as restful as you would like. I would be hopeful if you visited again you would have a more satisfying experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    21
    18
    15
See reviews for
7
15
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked this place and was asked to pay in advance which we did. Had to cancel unexpectedly two weeks before but was told that a refund (of the full amount - not just a deposit) was impossible unless they could re-let . Surprise surprise in one of the busiest weeks of the summer they couldn't re-let. Wouldn't have been fussed if they just kept a deposit but full amount? Be careful with this place!!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbridgeinn, Manager at Aviemore Bunkhouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It was indeed unfortunate you had to cancel at reasonably short notice, during one of the busiest periods of the year.

Most people during summer holidays - often being families travelling - plan well in advance and book accordingly. This can mean, though busy, there are not many last minute enquiries. Once we have accepted advance bookings, like your own, we then of course have to reject any other enquiries for those rooms / dates

Unfortunately, on this occasion, we were unable to re-let your room, otherwise we would have happily returned your payment. This is really quite standard practise for many types of business, from hotels to hostels and airlines to trainlines.

For information, all our terms and conditions, including cancellation policy, can be found on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Kitchen tiny. All plates greasy and no washing up liquid.

Room cramped. Bathroom and toilet connected to the room not a good way of reducing noise/ smell/ damp.

Drying room efficient

Paid my money, cooked a meal, left to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Timdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbridgeinn, Manager at Aviemore Bunkhouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I am sorry you felt the kitchen cramped. We have recently re-arranged the storage and seating arrangements, which now allows the kitchen to comfortably sit 15, while several can be cooking / washing up.

All bedrooms are en-suite, which for most people is a huge plus-point. All bathrooms have extraction fans, so damp/smell is not an issue. Fans can also be manually turned on/off, to minimise any noise, if you prefer.

We have a far better bunkhouse cleaning team in place than we, regrettably, did last year, so certainly there should be no greasy plates found in the kitchen.

I hope you will venture back some time and give us feedback on the improvements we have made.

Thanks again for your input
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

This is a hostel not a hotel, and the price reflects this well. The room was clean, the kitchen looked very clean and well equipped-altho I didn't use it in the end. The staff were really helpful and friendly.
The bed wasn't great for comfort-but, again, not unexpected for a hostel at all.
The pub next door was lovely. Had a great atmoshphere, lots of beers, games in the corner and candlelit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpaddiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were just staying one night in Aviemore and were looking for a somewhere cheap, the Aviemore bunkhouse was recommended in a guidebook.

Our private room had obviously been built to be wheelchair accessible, being on the ground floor and with an accessible en-suite bathroom. It had a comfortable double bed and a bunk bed. There's free wifi throughout the bunkhouse and a well-equipped kitchen if you don't want to eat in town or at the pub next door.

The bathroom could have done with redecorating but was clean and the shower worked well, although the noise it made probably woke people in neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeWindies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Very clean, comfortable and good value. Very quiet when I visited but I guess it could get a little noisy if full. Great location just minutes from the high street, if you can manage to bypass the pub next door which has good food and real ale! Will use again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiteburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Bunkhouse is great for a short break with friends in Aviemore. The rooms are clean and tidy and the beds are quite comfy (some are a little creeky!) The pub next door, The Old Bridge Inn, is very cosy and sells a lot of real ales. The restaurant looks and smells great but unfortunately we never ate there. It's a 5 minute walk (max) in to the heart of Aviemore, and there's plenty of on site parking. All in all, a great hostel. Just what you need for a snowboarding break with your mates

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RotherDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aviemore Youth Hostel
Aviemore Youth Hostel
#11 of 25 in Aviemore
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Bunkhouse

Property: Aviemore Bunkhouse
Address: Dalfaber Road, Aviemore PH22 1PY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Aviemore Bunkhouse Hotel Aviemore
Aviemore Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing