We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“once again I've had THE most relaxing time I...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Craigie View

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
View from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Front of house
View from the house
Living/dining room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2- twin beds
Bedroom 3 - bunk beds
Front toilet
Front toilet
House, parking
Back garden
Master bedroom - patio doors to garden
Enclosed, private back garden
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gill h
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“once again I've had THE most relaxing time I could have wished for at craigie view”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

David made this the easiest break away we could have wished for. This lovely house is home from home with every amenity you could wish for but with the wonderful addition of the most stunning views of the Cairngorms. The peacefulness as well as the comfort of the beds adds to the most incredible sleeping and inevitable long lies. Easy walks to the village for morning coffee are delightful in the company of siskins, coaltits and red squirrels. Go have a wonderful break you will only want to repeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefulness felt in the property
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie M
1 review
“Lovely, well appointed spacious holiday home”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We would thoroughly recommend this property. We had a lovely time away with our two young children, one set of grandparents and our dog. The accommodation was spacious, clean and the selection of DVDs and Playstation Games was brilliant! Parking is ideal and the back garden is great for the kids and the dog as fully enclosed. The walk into Aviemore is a leisurely ten minutes.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, clean and perfect spot”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The property was really clean and really well stocked with everything you need for a holiday getaway. There were six of us staying in the house, and it was a great size with really great bedrooms. It is close to town, within easy walking distance. It was really easy to book and we enjoyed everything about it. I would definitely recommend it, and the kids are asking when we are going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belouschr...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect find for a comfortable stay”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Booked this for a semi-spontaneous getaway with my partner and we were not disappointed. Booking was very swift and easy and the exact dates we wanted were available; the owner was very helpful on the phone and via email. The guide for the house emailed to me contained all the information we needed (on heaters, wifi, hot water etc.). Arrived at the house itself easily (we got there very quickly with our bikes - is still decent walking distance from Aviemore rail station). It was very clean, very spacious and well-fitted as in the description above, and we felt very comfortable throughout our time there. The location was perfect and had some nice views - not at all far from the town centre and accessible on Cycle Route 7, which we spent a lot of time on. Special mentions to the very comfy double bed and the lovely shower (we're both students so we're not used to these kinds of things being of a decent standard, so it was a lovely change).

The service was also great regarding what little problems we had. The oven at one point was emitting a lot of smoke; this didn't stop us from cooking and didn't seem too dangerous but it still worried us, so we emailed the owner just to let them know. The owner responded with an apology and even offered to reimburse us with dinner at a high-end restaurant in the local area, which I hadn't expected at all. We didn't take it up but were still very grateful!

Would definitely visit again and recommend to friends. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotbokki...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First class house and great weekend away!”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for a long weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed our break! This house was a great find! Well placed to be able to walk to aviemore and also local walks in the surrounding area (which was great as we had our dog with us). The house is a lovely three bedroom with lounge dining room (bathroom plus another toilet, avoiding queues!), and the photos on the web site actually make it look smaller! It's extremely spacious and beautifully furnished - spotless with everything you could need for your weekend/week away. The enclosed garden is large so for kids and/or dogs - gives peace of mind (nice deck for sitting outside and a BBQ too). David the owner was brilliant to deal with - very friendly indeed and very quick to reply, the whole booking process was extremely efficient.

In short, a fantastic spot - we will certainly return!
(It has wifi too which many holiday lets don't so this was a winner!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie P
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peace, quiet and comfort”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Another relaxing two weeks at Craigieview - very comfortable and well-appointed self-catering house on the outskirts of Aviemore. When want to be active you have all the outdoor options the Cairngorms national park can offer and when you want to chill out this roomy house is loaded with all the facilities anyone (of any age) should need - TV, DVD, Wi-fi, Gaming equipment and a selection of games (both electronic and old fashioned - e.g. Scrabble) and DVDs.
We like to cook and the kitchen is well equipped to enable you to take advantage of all the organic and locally sourced produce you can buy in the village and at various other outlets in the area.
I would definitely recommend this as an ideal base for exploring the Highlands and as a comfortable and welcoming place to return to at the end of the day. Looking forward to my next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, nice garden you can sit out in.
Liked least: Can't think of anything worht making a negative comment about
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for any Aviemore stay!”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just the perfect location, at an affordable price! So clean, everything you need to feel at home away from home!

David is fantastic to deal with, I would recommend his property to anybody!

And I'm sure it will be my 4th visit to his house next year!

Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing