We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a lunchtime snack / meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mor @ Glenmore - CLOSED

Mor @ Glenmore
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for a lunchtime snack / meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Eaten here many times, also back when it was under previous owners. Good for a lunchtime snack or light meal particularly if you've been out walking. Nice soups, particularly the cullen skink. We both had venison sandwich again this time, but not quite convinced on this occasion it was venison. Looked and tasted more like beef, but we didn't say anything and ate it anyway and it was very good. With it comes a small dressed side salad of rocket and shredded beetroot and some crisps. Would prefer more side salad and no crisps as we really like salad. Also on site are nice clean toilets, exhibition and TV presentation by Simon King on the wildlife of the area and a gift shop. Will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkFirApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the journey out from Aviemore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a really lovely cafe that sits in the shadow of the Cairngorms. It is beautifully decorated with a very nice atmosphere.

The staff are very friendly and polite and they have a very good selection of home bakes (including lovely homemade scones) and a variety of food for breakfast and lunch. There is also an kids under 12's menu.

One thing to note, you do have to pay for parking as the car park is used by people that are enjoying the lovely walks around Glenmore. But an all-day ticket only costs £2 and the money goes towards the upkeep of the forests.

I would definitely recommend a visit to Mor @ Glenmore

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

A fab cafe with table service.
Very fresh cakes, sandwiches, soup & very good coffee.
Ok so you have to walk thro the shop in the Glenmore Visitor Centre to get to it and it can get busy but the staff are great and service is always spot on

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ecofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We ate here twice during our stay in the area and thought it was great. Very family friendly, fussy boys ate everything. Nice to see Orkney ice cream on the menu. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oynelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Venison sandwich is lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We visited several times as I love the Venison sandwich they make here. Husband had soup and sandwich and said soup was lovely. Kids had Pizza and a burger. So we were all happy!

Gets very busy so can be difficult to get a table at peak times.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cr1mson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mor @ Glenmore also viewed

 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing