We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Our family has been coming here since the Hotel opened over 30 years ago and it is such a shame to see how the standard of service and facilities has dropped so much. The Hotel cannot keep its guests warm in the winter climate due to its antiquated plumbing/heating system which also rattles constantly in the early morning. All of the major public areas including the dining room were cold with guests having to wear woolies and coats to try and keep warm. When i complained to the Manager he told me that the Hotel could not afford to replace the plumbing/heating system at the moment...but it has been like this over the last ten years.. The food standard has dropped considerably also with many of the dining room staff unable to understand or to speak English. The Breakfast however is still excellent.! It would only take a very good manager and a little investment to get this hotel back where it belongs and there must be an enterprising man or woman just waiting to do it!...after all it has what i think is the best location for a hotel in UK and a spectacular view of the Cairngorm Mountain range

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank TerrySueScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,816 - 2,822 of 3,052 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

me and a mate were going skiing and we had stayed at the cairngorm before and could not get in there so booked in here instead. At £43 each a night including all you can eat buffet breakfast and a good dinner I dont think you can complain. Our room was big, perfectly clean if a touch cold - but it was minus 15 so what do you expect !!! The ability to have a sauna after a days skiing was a nice touch, even if the main pool was a bit cold.
The snow was awesome and that was what we were there for. There is a nice bar in the woods and there seems to be loads to do for kids including outdoor activities but with 4 feet of snow on the ground there was no chance of trying the crazy golf. I would stay again mid-week, its good value - but not at £120 for the weekend rates

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I was a bit apprehensive about our visit, having read some negative reviews just before we travelled. However, we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in a family suite for 4 nights. The rooms were perfectly nice, bathroom lovely, shower great. The food served in the main restaurant was excellent. Always hot, good presentation, good selection. Kids buffet was also good - plenty of healthier options as well as chips and donuts! Breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Pool was good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NogginHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

I have travelled around the world and generally find the Hilton hotels to be of a certain standard. But last weekend was a totally different story.
There was a terrible smell in the hotel, so not a good first impression when checking in.
Food in the hotel was the worst I have ever experienced. Had to send back so many different dishes. I would say if food safety authorities enterned the kitchen it would be closed down.We were over charged in the restaurant, they didn't take it well when we said we were not going to pay for the dishes we sent back.
The rooms were very basic, bathrooms dated. Couldn't shower one morning as there was only scalding water coming out.
I am telling everyone to avoid this hotel like the plague, and if you want to travel to Aviemore then stay in the MacDonald resort!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller123stirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

there is a lot i cannot comment on as couldnt do any outdoor activities within hotel as it was 20" of snow! we arrived a few hours early but early check in was available, we stayed in a family suite which had bedroom with double bed huge tv and enough space to move around, then there was the kids small room which had bunk beds and a tv then there was a reasonable sized bathroom. rooms are a little tired but nothing that would affect your stay! double bed was hard and very unconfortable! evening meal was ok on first night we dinned around 6 and service was gr8 on the second nite we never dined until 8.15 and the service was poor also the kids buffet was very dry and evidently nothing fresh for at least an hour!! no complaints about breakfast, plenty to choose from! I would definatetly advise booking in for a massage with fiona over at the funhouse, myself and partner had half hr each with her and she was really good and reasonably priced aswell! swimming pool was good, a little dated but nothing that affected our fun in the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamtartjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

when we arrived the rooms were mould in the bath room and windows the room was colder than out side i have been going to hilton for 30 yrs i shall never go to another and neather shall i put any of my staff in one

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henryNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We have stayed in quite a few Hilton Hotels in recent years and so chose to stay at Coylumbridge whilst we were skiing in Aviemore. We have always had very good service, excellent food and accommodation at Hilton - the name just suggests to us excellent quality and value for money.
This time it was not meant to be. From the moment we arrived at check in, the receptionist checked off our names and told us our room number. She didn’t wish us a pleasant stay or even manage to make eye contact or smile!
Our room, was on the first floor. Surprisingly there are no lifts, so we carried our luggage up a very unpleasant smelling stairwell. The room was clean but not very warm. We realised a little while later the small old radiator under the window was not on.
After traveling from Cumbria, 275 miles I tried to run a relaxing and warming bath before dinner but I soon realised there was no hot water. I rang down to reception and ten minutes later a porter came in and twisted a few taps and came to the conclusion it would be a thermostat and maintenance wouldn’t be able to fix it until the morning. I wasn’t very happy with this outcome, but he said we couldn’t move rooms as the the hotel was full (actually overbooked!) but he would bring us a fan heater for our room as we were cold. He was as helpful as he could be under the circumstances.
We went down to dinner for our 7:30 booking slot. We waited our turn in the queue. Before being allowed into the ‘restaurant’. It was very, very busy. The international, seemingly untrained staff were rushed off their feet. The atmosphere of the restaurant was more akin to a supermarket cafeteria at lunch time. Hectic! The food was poor, not what you would expect from Hilton. We have had excellent food in the past at other Hilton hotels.
After a day skiing you expect to be served decent food in generous portions. The serving dish was divided between three of us. Six new potatoes cut into halves to look like more and two small portions of veg to go with the main course- not adequate for my husband, teenage son and myself!
Puddings I think were bought in frozen- not cooked in the kitchen- very poor. Apple pie had sold out so I was told there was apple crumble and custard. It was disgusting, served up like a school dinner... warm custard poured over- not in a jug. I could go on. The food at the Ptarmigan restaurant 3000 feet up a mountain was first class, why couldn’t they get it right down near the town?
At breakfast time every morning we were queuing at least twenty people deep before going into the restaurant. Again service was poor. Tea, coffee, and hot chocolate came after we had almost finished and hot chocolate was just cocoa with hot water poured on- they didn’t know how to make it! No bacon or baked beans on the Wednesday morning. One international ‘chef’ said it was because the delivery van couldn’t get through because of the snow. I think he was having us on as even the local buses were going up the mountain roads!
In all, a very disappointing Hilton experience in what otherwise could be a good hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neigeblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,317 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $123 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing