We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We booked what we thought was a very good price of £85.50 per room (2 adults) dinner, b&B but had we been paying any more I would have left early. The rooms are shabby, definitely not worthy of a 4 star rating. Although the bed was comfortable and the room cosy the bathroom was small with broken tiles on the wall and floor. The dining room was uninviting in appearance with no natural daylight as the curtains were always closed. Staff were plentiful, smart and friendly, mainly eastern european but all spoke good english. Food was satisfactory although I had a serious stomach upset on the second night.
The swimming pool is dated and could also do with an upgrade. It is value for money if you can get a half price deal but don't pay the full rate!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dugsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,926 - 2,932 of 3,149 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2010

We go to this hotel at least once or twice a year and while it is true it is dated in places it is well worth the £99 per person DB&B for 3 nights we pay. We have many happy memories from here and have always found all staff very pleasant and helpful. I just received in the mail today my phone charger that I left in the room after our recent stay. I had not even contacted the hotel about this so I felt it was worthy of writing a review of my experiences of this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyboyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

evening meal - not up to scratch - the too items on the menu we wanted were not available! had to chase up drinks, rolls desserts etc.

breakfast - good with a wide range of food something to suit everyone. The first day though our sausages tasted sour - all were left.

room - matress awfull, was told no alternative, not ideal with a pregnant wife! Radiator not working in room - would have been fine but it was -14 outside ! general decor was good but very small.

Pool - well kept slightly, although the showering facilities needed a clean and a refurb.

Area - no fault the surrounding area is fab, gorgeous views all around.

Staff - not able to resolve any of our issues ... we were supposed to recieve 2 free cocktails each on both evenings of our stay (was included in our package) they had no record and we not keen to resolve.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xbethyboox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We spent Christmas here on one of the Christmas packages and had a fantastic time. There were lots of things going on to keep the kids occupied, and a highlight was definitely Santa coming on Christmas day with his reindeer and presents for all the kids. The resort is a short drive from Aviemore and very handy for skiing at the Cairngorms (they have a ski school and hire shop located at the resort). Our room was neat and clean, but the decore was a little outdated, we were not particularly concerned with this. The room was on the small side, would reccomend you upgrade to a family suite which has a second room with bunkbeds for the kids, if you can afford it. The staff were friendly and happy to help but the service in the restuarant was a little slow and staff sometimes needed to be asked to clear plates or chase up next course etc. The food was tasty and well cooked but nothing too elaborate. The kids enjoyed the childrens buffet and the childrens menu in the lounge bar was excellent. Buffet breakfast was very good and was always well stocked with plenty of variety, the kids liked the waffles. Overall I would say this is a great family hotel, definitely not luxury and perhaps not up to the usual Hilton standard but we had a great stay and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingwithtweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

DO NOT TAKE OTHER REVIEWS THAT WE READ AS FACT. WE ARE NOT SNOBS! we arrived after a 9 hour drive in the snow and were very impressed. We booked online 2 months ago and got a great half board package. The buffet breakfast was great (bacon could have been warmer) and the 3 course inclusive evening meal was amazing and the menu changed daily. Drinks were expensive though. Our room was great and warm thank god as it was -14c outside brr ! The major dissapointment was the £25 charge for our dog which was not allowed anywhere in the hotel apart to the room. If the dog had at least been allowed in the foyer (with all the blumin screaming kids) we may have used the bars more but instead the staff sent us into the cold with our drinks. The pool is warm and adequate with sauna and jacuzzi. We really enjoyed the hotel but dont expect buckingham palace for this price. Dont be snobbish like some we met! Remember pet TOLLERANT NOT FRIENDLY FOR A £25 CHARGE!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wraggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

stayed after sking for one night charged £25.00 for dog to stay but not allowed at bar area not to be left alone in room more pet tollerant than freindly .Poor for a hilton as in need of upgrade .Over priced food and srevice more 3 star than 4 star .Room basic showers set for look warm pool area in need of work over all tired hotel

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsg2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Just returned from a 2 day stay at this hotel. Special offer price included bed and breakfast both nights and dinner only on the first night. We paid and extra £20 to upgrade to a superior room but this was not worth the money. We were given a smallish room in the old part of the hotel but had to move next door as the toilet seat was very loose and about to come off and could not be fixed by the hotel handyman. The second room had a malfunctioning radiator being just warm at one top corner only. We asked at reception to have it looked at but it remained the same throughout our stay. Being December and very cold outside, we found the room uncomfortably cool although it was nicely furnished and clean with tea/coffee facilities and 32" screen TV. The bathroom had no heating and the tiled floor was very cold to walk on.. The whole hotel seemed rather cold throughout. Reception on arrival was welcoming but different person was on duty when checking out and no apology given for inconvenience of changing rooms or having inadequate heating. We would have appreciated having the £20 upgrade cost removed from our bill but receptionist either did not care or had inadequate language skills.

Meals were good but would not have paid the listed price of £20 each for the dinner had it not been included in our given rate. Breakfast was plentiful with freshly cooked eggs, good choice of fruit, juices, cereals and usual buffet breakfast food. The flickering Christmas lights on ceiling of dining room were annoying. We have been to this hotel many times but will think twice before returning especially in winter.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: | Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $107 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing