We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Break”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Was disappointed by the whole experience. Swimming Pool is very small, and the rooms offered no air-conditioning. The food was very repetitive and you were rushed out and given the bill, while the kids were eating their ice-cream (on the second night only - as the ice cream machine was broken on the first night!!) I had heard they had spent a lot of money on the hotel, I just was not sure where, the fun factory is very dated, with gaming machines (the ones that worked) being years out of date. Overall not a great experience, I was just grateful we had good weather, so we could spend our time elsewhere during the day!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was sorry to read of your disappointment. I can appreciate that certain areas of the hotel have been warm over these past few weeks due to the warm temperatures we have currently experienced in this part of Scotland. This building, which was constructed in 1965, is without the capability to install air conditioning which is rarely needed in this climate., although fans are available upon request.

Your comments concerning other areas of service will be passed to the relevant departments and thank you for your very valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    1,029
    632
    333
    181
See reviews for
1,408
920
54
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great location, but shabby hotel. No lifts to rooms on second floor and one narrow stairwell for all guests. No heating controls in room, other than open the window. Dour brown carpets reflect the image. wifi in rooms comes at an extra £15/day!! In the 21st century that's a scandal. And you have to re-connect every few minutes. supposedly room rates are all inclusive but so many supplements you end up with a big bill anyway. there is no 'ice rink' - its a patch of nylon - but they still want £6 to go on it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Our hotel, which was built in the 1960's has over 50% of its rooms on the ground floor so it has never been deemed necessary to install a life and there are no plans to change this. The wing which the Family Suites are situation was a later addition with no capacity for a lift. We do offer porterage 24 hrs for those guests who require assistance. Our heating is controlled remotely and work in line with the outside air temperatures but will request that this is looked at in case there has been a malfunction. Our WiFi, as with all other Hilton Hotels is charged as per the company policy but this is currently being reviewed.

The ice rink in question is synthetic and your comments will be passed to the operating company. With regard to supplements, there are no charges levied for use of the pool nor the evening entertainment which includes the Kids Activity sessions held each evening 7pm - 9pm. Supplements on our menus are minimal when compared with the number of dishes available. The charge for WiFi applies only to guest bedrooms, it is free in the public areas and in line with Hilton Brand but this is currently being reviewed.

I am sorry that you were disappointed but please be assured that your comments will be passed to the relevant departments and would thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We are regulars to this hotel, and love its suitability for families and stunning location. It was a very busy school holiday period, but we pre-booked our meals and had no issues. Some waiting for items at the buffets, but we were on holiday and happy to be patient. The staff work tirelessly and were very pleasant.

I would say that the pool area is very tired and in need of renovation. I would also ask the Hilton group how they can possibly charge so much for a glass of wine (~£7 - £8 for a large glass of mediocre quality). The Woodshed bar (within the grounds) is much cheaper and very pleasant to spend time in. We preferred when live music was in the lounge, not the function suite.

Overall a great stay with lovely food. In the warm sun, this was a break worth enjoying!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kayceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and that you enjoyed the lovely weather we have recently experienced. Our bar prices are in line with the Hilton Brand but we do endeavour to offer wine promotions when available. We acknowledge your comments concerning the pool area but no date has yet been agreed for any major works in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a two night break at the hotel early in April and booked largely on the basis that we could get a family suite with a separate room for our 18mth old son. We arrived at the hotel at 3:15pm - room should have been available at 3pm but we had to wait over an hour on our room - not a great start! When we eventually got checked in, we were given our key but no directions to our room - we were the surprised to find no lift in the wing of the hotel we stayed in - again, not ideal when you have a pushchair, toddler and luggage to get up to the first floor. The rooms are a great layout (two separate rooms in the family suite) but the decor is pretty tired - the bars and restaurants seem to have had a recent facelift and are excellent but the rooms and facilities are all dated and in need of modernisation.

We ate in the Bistro both nights and would recommend it - food was great and staff were excellent but it fills up quickly so best book before you go. The soft play area in the Funhouse is also great for young kids.

Overall, it's a good hotel for families - with a bit of investment, it could become a great hotel but I don't think you can argue with the value for money

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuwho19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Please accept our apologies that your room was not read at 3pm, this is not always possible when the hotel is very busy has it has been in recent weeks. Our hotel, which was built in the 1960's was not designed to have a lift as the majority of our rooms are on the ground floor. The wing, in which the family suites occupy, was a later addition but without the capacity for a lift. Portage is available 24 hours for those guests who require assistance with luggage and this is offered at check in but apologise if this was not offered on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Paid £125 for dinner bed and breakfast over the easter break for 2 adults and a 10 year old, very good value.Very family orientated.Dinner was a bit canteen like,you do however have the choice of 3 meal types.Buffet, diner or al la cart.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, General Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
Dear Kirsty F

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Please like our page Hilton Coylumbridge if you are a Face Book user and keep up to date with all of our special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm one day into a 2 day db &b deal with family after paying £400. Room 174 an executive suite, mmmm. Looking onto a rooftop with generator running 24/7. Don't think I will last another day or come back, room is dated and needs decorated. Food 5 out of 10

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and apologise that you are having issues with noise but do hope that you bring this to our attention so we may take steps to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Excellent location for an active family break - straight from hotel into Cairngorms NP. Facilities for bike and ski storage. Plenty of activities for children. Buffet style evening meal was good value. Rooms were OK. Swimming pool small and busy when we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and that you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
749 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing