We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old....old...old...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old....old...old...”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel is in serious need of a revamp. The property is dated, there are attempts in public areas but the stepping into the corridors and rooms immediately transports one back into the seventies.

There are some irritations in staying here:-

Wifi, only 2 devices which you can log onto in the rooms, despite paying for them, luckily I get mine free as a gold member. My friends have problems even getting on... The reception tried to help with varying degrees of success. One other minor irritation is that the login required the last names in capital letters, while the rest of Hilton properties requires the only the 1st letter in capital letters.

The mattresses require refreshing as well, I can feel the springs as I move my weight around the mattress.

We had a dinner and breakfast package. We had dinner in the Inverdruie Restaurant without much expectations, having seen the state of the hotel beforehand. The restaurant looks recently renovated. The food was well cooked and we enjoyed it. Breakfast was good too.

Despite the creaking infrastructure, the staff we have encountered were professional, friendly and more than willing to help

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    1,045
    655
    340
    188
See reviews for
1,450
931
55
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have previously had a couple of pleasant visits to this "Hilton" and this experience underlined my belief that large hotel chains milk their investment as much as possible, shirking the need to keep their places modern & fresh.

First, the good:

Location – as our break was to get as much ski time in as possible, the location is excellent

Food – Has improved quite a bit since our last stay. Breakfasts are perfect before a day on the hill. But PLEASE invest in another waffle machine – queues are not acceptable!

Service – Variable, bar staff were good, front desk and restaurant supervision were woeful. Staff barely left enough toiletries for one person, let alone 4 of us, had to chase to get more!

Now, the not so good:

Cleanliness – seems no investment in freshening up rooms for quite some time. Grubby tiling, stained cushions and toilet light cord thick with dirt and grime YUCK!; my tip don’t touch the bottom few inches of the light cords, they are disgusting! Pool cleanliness – not great, keep your mouth closed if swimming!

Prices – be careful when ordering wine at the bar, wrong choice can be costly.

Now the truly awful:

Our little boy (6yo) was absolutely covered in ice cream when the machine situated in restaurant exploded all over him. We heard the bang, clearly an airlock or broken seal of some sort, did we get any sympathy from Hilton? Well, if your idea of sympathy is “That was his fault, he should not be touching that!!” – no “is he ok”, “can we help”, nothing – after some discussion we did get the clothes cleaned. If the ice cream machine is not self-service PUT UP A SIGN, DON’T BLAME A LITTLE BOY FOR GETTING IT WRONG. I have to tell you, I was furious with your restaurant manager (or at least the lady who wanders around with a heightened sense of self-importance), blaming a little boy – where did she get her customer service training?? Letter on its way to Hilton head office as a result, you should be ashamed of yourselves; if we had more time your GM and I would have been having a very candid chat.

Hilton need to spend a few quid in this place now. A lick of paint, some re-grouting, replace worn fixtures, fittings and furniture (we had a good chuckle at the 1980’s telephone in the room)….it smacks of nothing more than management complacency.

Fortunately, the things to do around this hotel make it an awesome place for a break. The hotel itself, far from good, certainly not a “Hilton”.

Room Tip: Don't touch the light cords!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skunkbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. I am sorry that you did not feel that assistance was offered after your son's incident with the ice cream machine and can assure you that the lady that you refer to was only trying to help.

We acknowledge your comments regarding the need for certain areas requiring some maintenance and these are currently under discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent the weekend here and stayed in one of the family suites. Room arrangement was good but decor is a bit jaded. Also, room became very warm overnight. Fans were provided but not sure I'd fancy staying here in the height of summer! Another small gripe was the absence of a lift for transporting luggage upstairs, not really what I would expect from a Hilton.

Not all negative though. The food was great, especially in the Bistro, and the facilities for the kids were excellent - great play park & swimming pool, plus a disco on the Friday night in the lounge which kept them busy.

In all, I would probably come back but it would be interesting to hear from Hilton as to whether they have a refurbishment programme planned. My parents were in room 212 and it was more up to date than our room (168).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boldano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Plans on what projects will be carried out within the hotel are currently under discussion but there are no plans to install a lift.

We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Having worked here 25 years ago when it was run by Stakis my boyfriend booked this for my birthday weekend. We have a small dog and were delighted that it was dog friendly.
When we arrived we were told that our dog was only allowed in the bedroom and nowhere else in the hotel. We couldn't believe it as we were sure he would have been allowed in the Woodshed bar but no. On the two nights we were there the Woodshed bar had no one in but we were told if we sat outside in the rain and on wet seats he could sit there! We don't want to take our dog into restaurants but would like him to join us at night for a drink.
We were told we would have to dine in the Bistro the first night and had a budget of £16 being on the dinner,bed and breakfast package. The prices were ridiculous as a burger was £13! Diet coke was £3. There were kids running around, climbing on chairs and nothing was said but don't forget our well behaved dog was allowed nowhere!
The pool area was filthy. The tiles around the edges were black and scum on them. There was mud all over the floor.
The hotel really needs updating. The narrow staircase was horrible and felt like we were in a hostel. Food was dated and not good choices in the restaurant package. Very small portions.
Was so sad to come back here and see this hotel has gone done hill. Very disappointed. Don't come if you love your dog!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank nicandchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was sorry to read of your disappointment on this occasion. We have a transparent pet policy as we have to take into consideration all of our guests and due to issues in the past we do not allow pets in any of our public areas. Guests on a dinner, bed and breakfast tarriff are given the choice to dine in either the Bistro or the Inverdruie and this can be rpe booked or upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Doesn't look that great from the outside but inside is a different story, spotless clean, helpful staff, incredible spa ( definitely would recommend), they had live music in their wood shed bar which is walking distance from the hotel, breakfast was very good with plenty choice. This is a family hotel so loads of kids running about. The wifi is not great which now adays is poor and they don't have a lift but they do offer the porter to carry your bags. Definitely go with the kids there is lots to do.
It's a fair bit from Aviemore not really walking distance but there is plenty of taxis.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights during the Easter break. The hotel is in a great location with lots for everyone to do. However, check in time is 3pm and we arrived at 2:30 so checked in and were told our room would be ready by 3pm. So we walked around the grounds and returned at 3pm to get our keys to be told our room wasn't ready. We then waited a further 15 mins and checked again and were told house keeping hadn't cleaned the room yet. We tried again at 3:30pm and told the same and at this point we were offered a free tea or coffee from the costa bar. I stood in line in the costa bar and ordered and was told to sit down and wait and they would bring it over. 20 mins later we still hadn't received it and so I went and asked to which the guy replied, 'it's ok I know about you, I've been busy I will bring your order over in a few minutes'. He had continued to take orders from people in the queue after me and gave them their orders but because I was getting a complimentary drink I had to wait until the queue had died down? Anyway, at 4:05pm I checked again and was told the room still wasn't ready. At this point I asked the receptionist when will our room be ready as it was now more than an hour after check in time. She couldn't answer this so I sat back down. I think she knew I was not happy and being a hilton gold honours member you get priority check in etc. This was certainly was not the case in this hotel. The receptionist came over 5 mins later and offered us a different room which was the same as the one we had booked. Why couldn't they do this in the first place? The room was in the new area of the hotel and was lovely inside with a big bathroom, a double bedroom and a children's room. I would say however that there is no lift in this hotel. It didn't bother us but may if you can't walk up stairs. We took advantage of the Italian buffet and found it was nice enough but the sauce used in the pasta was very strong. We ordered drinks but they didn't arrived until we were eating out dessert. The following night we dined in the bistro and waited over 40mins for our main course and the bistro was only half full? The third evening we dined in the Inverdruie restaurant and the food was lovely but the service was shocking as we were asked 3 times by 3 different waiters if we had ordered drinks and if we were ready to place out food order? It seemed like there was no communication with staff. They did give my daughter her main meal very quickly as she was very hungry by this time and they did give her peas instead of beans as we requested even though they sent it to the wrong table. A tip for breakfast, get there before 8:30 or you will have to wait a while on a table of the hotel is busy. We went down later one morning at 9:30 and by 9:50 the toasters etc were turned off even though breakfast is until 10am during the week. We had complimentary wifi but it was really patchy and we had to keep logging in every 5 mins as the connection would drop. We complained and were given another code to use but again that kept dropping too. All in all the hotel is a great base for the Cairngorms, the food in the hotel is lovely but the service is slow. The service Is not what I expect from a hilton hotel compared to the others I have stayed in.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neecie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was sorry to read that you had experienced slow service during your stay but do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Seems very well set-up for kids and i am sure you will enjoy it if you are travelling as a family but if you are a couple avoid! All facilities are over-run by children making it a noisy experience that we fully regret choosing. Food was good and the staff excellent but rooms small for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of Hilton Coylumbridge. I was sorry to read of your disappointment with the number of children at the hotel but as a family resort this is usual for us especially at weekends and during school holiday periods. Outwith these times we do have quieter weeks which i am sure you would find more suitable and so hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing