We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Argyll
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family hotel in great location”
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Had a wonderful couple of nights here with my young daughter. As the other reviews say, it's a family hotel and is unlikely to suit couples on a get away from it all holiday!
The rooms are not fancy but adequate, the food is wholesome rather than "fine dining" but it's tasty and children are well catered for with special buffets of kiddies favourites. The addition of entertainers -a magician and a clown on our visit- made mealtimes a pleasure.
The staff in the restaurant were brilliant - friendly and efficient despite the dining room being packed.
Yes, we too had to queue to have dinner despite having a reservation - but the staffs' warm smiles and quick service made up for it.
The location is perfect if you love the great outdoors. Rothiemurchas estate (with bat safaris, pine martin watching, canoeing and cycing to name a few of the great activities on offer) is literally on the doorstep.
Our only negative was the sullen blonde male receptionist (won't mention his name -am sure it will be obvious who he is) who was most unhelpful - he stuck out like a sore thumb amongst the rest of the staff who were all extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No lifts!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArgyllStargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    1,011
    608
    328
    180
See reviews for
1,379
897
53
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Just back from a two night stay at the Hilton Coylumbridge. We had a deluxe room (124), which had two double beds and was nicely decorated. The room itself was spotless, and the beds comfortable. The bathroom could do with a bit of upgrading, but was clean.

The hotel is about a 45 minute walk from Aviemore town, although the receptionist told us you could book a taxi into town for around £5. This hotel is definitely geared towards families with children. There seems to be a fair amount on offer for children, although we looked at some of the activites (e.g. trampolines, climbing wall) and they were £5 each. We don't have kids but that seems a bit steep for children's activites to me!

The bar and restaurants were nicely decorated, but to be honest, the food included in our deal was unappealing. We took up the offer both nights of adding a supplement ourselves to upgrade the food on the menu. Both meals were nicely cooked, although the service was quite slow, but friendly enough. However, breakfasts were good, with all the regulars on offer, full cooked, cereals, pastries etc.

If you enjoy a drink, take your own! The wine was extortionate in the hotel iteslf, about £7 per glass. However, there is a nice log cabin bar on the grounds where you could get a glass of wine for £4. Also, there are no children allowed in there after 8pm. Lovely big log fire, but empty at this time of year.

Overall, we enjoyed our sta ybut would not advise you to stay there if you want to escape children, be in the centre of town, or enjoy a glass of wine at a reasonable price!

  • Liked — Nice hotel in lovely countryside
  • Disliked — Too far from town. Could be very noisy with children in high season. Average food included.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Beware - there are no lifts in this hotel and the corridors are extremely narrow.

Accommodation needs a lot of up grading - signs of wear & tear and hashed repairs to bunk beds - very dangerous.

Short of staff - and apart from a couple of people the rest of them looked as if they were totally fed up with it all - not a good atmosphere.

Facilities were run down and old - swimmimg pool ok but small.

Food was not great - even the a la carte was a disappointment. The chef did not know how to cook steak or duck. Queues also built up - even if you had booked you could wait another 15 minutes.

Overall - not good value for money at all - look to pay £5 for a small glass of wine. Even room service food (which was bland) cost an arm and a leg. Instead go out of hotel and visit the local shops in Aviemore (at least you know that you are not lining the pockets of the profit makers).

Also if you fly Easy Jet then do not opt for Euro Car Rental as it is not situated in Inverness Airport. You'll have to lug your luggage around with you and wait forever at the provincial pace of the service.

We had a two year old child and although there were a lot on offer for them - most were expensive and those that were free certainly not worth it.

Bring a fridge with you if you want to keep something cool in your room.

Just enjoy the area if you can - the Cairngorms are absolutely beautiful.

  • Liked — Leaving the Hotel
  • Disliked — The extensively extortionate Pricess
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AngelSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I should have read the previous reviews. This hotel is set up ,at least during the school holdays , for children. The constant noise of running ,shouting children is to be heard. The main restaurant is canteen like (always be suspicious of included dinners) The pool has an early evening adults only time but is small and needs maintenance. On this theme, unsurpringly, this august it rained and water poured down outside our room from a broken gutter,keeping me awake,-this obviously had been broken for some time as there was a well watered weed patch where it landed on the flat roof outside our room. To conclude this would be great for a family with small children but no a couple seeking a quiet break

  • Liked — very convenient location
  • Disliked — it was set up for small children
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcmo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My husband and I met in Aviemore, Scotland almost 16 years ago, so this area of the world is very special to us. We have stayed at the Colymbridge, Hilton about 4 times total, and are again heading there in October 2008. We love the vicinity, staff, and all the activities available for our 10 year old son. We love hiking up the Cairngorms. The rooms are always nice, neat and we love the family suite. The breakfasts are wonderful, especially before a long day of touring. Staff have always been very pleasant to us. We also love the swimming pool area and again activities planned for the kiddos there. The staff remembered my husband when he called them from the U.S. to confirm our booking in October. How nice was that!! It sure does make you feel very welcome:-)

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank beryljcmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Until August we felt we were the only parents in the country who failed to take our children to this hotel. I have been now. £13.50 for 2 glasses of house wine, bloomin heck. The hotel was not as good as I expected, it was fine for letting the kids run about and the food was below average, did I mention £13.50 for 2 glasses of house wine. Main gripe are the noisy rooms, there is some kind of pump fitted to the bathrooms and it makes a lot of noise when a neighbouring room turns it on, loud enough to wake us up a number of times. Staff were efficient and the rooms clean. Swimming pool was a bit tired and the male changing rooms with the single urinal and toilet was smelly.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank gajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Yorks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We had 2 nights at this Hilton with our 5 year old son. It is fantastic for children. The front desk staff were v.friendly and talked to our son daily about his current interest 'star wars'. The pool is great and the hotel seemed to have organised things really well, such as adult swimming times when children will be eating. The food was great and again thoughts of the children with self service at breakfast and evening meal.
There are other great activiites for the kids that you can pay for in the hotel grounds a fun house, cycling, skiing lessons etc and there seemed to childrens stuff going on all the time.

Thanks for a great stay,

  • Liked — its child friendly attitude
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hrnS_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing