We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but rooms let it down.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but rooms let it down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

All the staff we encountered we're very helpful and polite. Staying with two young children they also took time to speak and engage with them.
Rooms are fair, this is what let the hotel down for me a little. Too many patches here and there rather than a proper refurbishment. In saying this the bathroom in the room seemed more modern and recently done and very nice.

Cleanliness of the bathroom and rooms was excellent.

Swimming pools were good, one is shallower which is great for children and a separate deeper one for adults. This works well as you don't feel as though you are disturbing other guests who are actually swimming rather than splashing about with a three year old.

Same for dinner, guests with children seem to be grouped together and other guests are further away. Great idea as your not disturbing the neighbours if their lot are having a tantrum over dinner as well. Also if we were staying without our kids we would be delighted to be seated somewhere a little quieter. Good selection of quality food for adults and children.

+ Ample parking just outside the door
+ Very child friendly
+ High standard of cleanliness
+ Great staff
+ Great foyer seating area with bar

- Bar prices high for soft drinks and spirits (£3.00 for a can of coke)
- Room was a little dated and would benefit from refurbishment.

All in all I enjoyed this hotel and what it had to offer but overall can't justify a "Very good" due to the room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DM787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Many thats for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and do hope that we can welcome you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    981
    594
    314
    172
See reviews for
1,333
860
53
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We made an unscheduled visit to the Hilton Coylumbridge, having decided to stay a day or two in Aviemore.

Our first impression was one of disappointment. After driving for a number of hours to get to the hotel we were desperate for a relaxing swim and the chance to let our 2 year old daughter splash around and burn off some energy. The only problem was that the hotel bans children from swimming in the pool between 5pm and 6.30. Initially we felt really annoyed by this, especially as the security monitor showed that the children's pool was occupied by just one person and the main pool by two. We might not have been as annoyed if the Hilton's Florida booking centre had thought to mention this to us (we booked a family room after all), perhaps this is something the Hilton group could address to better manage expectations? The manager who we spoke to was extremely polite and suggested that we try the funhouse. We did and my daughter had a great time there.

So apart from the slightly negative first impression, what did I think of the hotel? Basically, it was great! All the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and professional. From the cleaner who always smiled and said good morning to the waiting staff who were friendly, efficient and well presented. They could put some of the five star hotels I have stayed in to shame.

We were staying on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. The set dinner menu had plenty of choice, covering vegetarian options and gluten free. The waiting staff offered us warm bread and water to keep us going until our food arrived - which wasn't long at all, they were prompt. They were considerate enough to bring my daughter's main dish out with mine and my fiancé's starters. This was a nice touch and demonstrates they are familiar with serving families with young impatient children. I felt there was a good range of choice on the set menu, tough nothing too exotic. I enjoyed my fish stovies, though perhaps they could have been a bit warmer. My daughter's curry was excellent, not too hot but still had flavour. Breakfast was a treat. The restaurant manager greeted us, poured us some fruit juice and made us feel very welcome. The choice of food was extensive and far better than most British hotels I have stayed in. I had fun making waffles on the Hilton emblem waffle maker.

Most impressive about the dining experience was how guests were seated. Instead of clustering guests together on nearby tables, we were all given tables a little apart from each other . This meant the waiting staff had further to walk and a larger area to cover, but we guests felt as though we had privacy and space to ourselves. This was a really nice touch and testament to the good service ethos the staff evidently have.

Our family room was no bigger than a large double bedroom but it accommodated two double beds reasonably well and we were able to squeeze a cot in between them. This was definitely the smallest family room we have been in. The dated bathroom was also very small, the size of bath verging on the sarcastic. However, the room was very well presented, fresh in appearance and cleaned very well. It has to be said that the rooms are a bit gloomier than the brightly lit photos on the website. Since there is so much to do in the hotel and surrounding area anyway, we really did not care about the size of room. Had we been planning to spend lots of time in the room then it may not have been fit for purpose.The rooms are not particularly well sound insulated but this may be due to the age of the building. This was not a major problem since I still slept soundly on the very comfy beds. The curtains were easy to use and blocked out the light. I am going to give the rooms 4 stars out of 5 because the basics were covered well, the bed was comfy and I slept well.

The hotel lobby is large, modern and comfortable. I noticed a review likening it to an upmarket airport lounge. I can see their point but I thought it more like the type of lobby you find in some mountain / ski resorts. There is lots of comfy seating which is great for accommodating lager groups, such as bigger families or ski groups etc. The large windows let more light in, the fire and log effect decorating lending to the mountain theme etc. I thought it was very nice and quite cosy.

The facilities and outdoor activities were very good. The scenery stunning.

Minor criticism would be the tolerance towards the occasional 4 wheel drive vehicle parked across two parking bays by owners who are clearly unable to drive them. This is not really the fault of the hotel tough.

Our family had a great time at this hotel and we will definitely be back. Overall this is the most positive experience I have had in a hotel in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyReviewToo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FALKIRK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked for two nights b&b with evening meal and enjoyed both breakfast and dinner which was to a very high standard especially in the main restaurant. The room was good and was very clean with everything that we needed. The staff were very good at reception, bar and the restaurant, could not fault them. There was also The Woodshed Bar which was child free after 8pm, (heaven).
Now for my "but" bit, we knew this was a big family hotel and there would be lots of children but why do so many parents allow their lovely children to run about the hotel to the inconveniance to the other guests? I think the hotel should hold parental classes for some of them and I would send many of the parents to the naughty step! Our next break will be at the Dunkeld Hilton as it is more adult friendly!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FalkirkMaverick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. We are quieter outwith school holidays, particularly during the week, and do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampleforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I called in here for an hour of peace and quiet and have a coffee and cake before the drive south. Impressed by the size of the hotel and range of amenities and staff hanging around but the service was only adequate. Observing new arrivals there seemed to be an air of uncertainity. Coffee was expensive. I suggest that if you sleep here you make sure you are exhausted by the skiing, walking or fishing. It gave the appearance of an airport terminal - an up market one but a terminal lounge nevertheless..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitbag49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review on your short stay at Hilton Coylumbridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is probably a great hotel if you bring your own small child but and it's a very big but, this weekend the noise in the hotel from breakfast to past 11 was intolerable. The sheer number of small people running about, and talking in a child volume (loud) meant that any peace I thought I would find could only be sourced by going outside walking. The facilities are excellent, the food well presented and the staff welcoming and friendly. However for those of use looking for a bit of quiet at the weekend, seeking solace from a busy workplace or enjoying a meal without a similar noise level of a school playground this was just not possible. We eventually gave up and tried to go to bed early only to be disturbed by shouting children and adults in the bedroom corridor. Bring your earplugs if not staying with your own children and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. As a Family Resort we do expect to be busy with families and children most weekends and throughout all the school holidays. The Woodshed Bar which is located within the hotel grounds is for adults only from 8pm for those guests who are looking for a quieter location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Common theme about dinner menu not changing. Some staff very pleasant and helpful ( Anya & Ian in the restaurant ) others not quite so. Ideal base for the Cairngorms. It seems a bit crazy having adult only swim from 5 to 6.30 when the kids pool which can't be seen from the adult pool lies empty. We were coming back from ski-ing about 4 and it was either a quick dip with our 10 year old son or wait until half 6 and eat later. Not ideal. Kids menu we felt was quite poor with not great choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Our Adult Only Pool time of 5pm - 630pm, has been in place for many years and as the majority of families choose to dine around these times find this works well for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Hilton and got upgraded to a suite on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. Food was good tried all food plans buffet table service and the restaurant by the coffee shop called the bistro. All staff were pleasant. Great location for skiing at the Cairngorms. Bar was well stocked with a great choice of drinks. And the other bar after 8 was a great escape from kids called the wood shed bar

Great 4 night break will be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjcowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing