We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight trip for Strathspey Railway Santa Express Ride”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overnight trip for Strathspey Railway Santa Express Ride”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were only in the hotel for 1 night. Reception staff were excellent - couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was adequate - usual bog standard Hilton room. It had everything we needed for 1 night.
We were on a dinner, bed & breakfast rate. My husband is not keen on buffet food, however it was hot and plentyful and had a good choice for our nearly 2 year old son. Drinks were expensive, however I guess it is a Hilton and they do tend to be expensive for drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkthewhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and do hope that your trip on the steam train was too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    1,045
    655
    340
    188
See reviews for
1,450
931
55
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We usually try and get away for a short family break at some point during the year. We were there between Christmas and Hogmanay. This was our first visit in a few years.

The cost of the DBB family room was reasonable. However, Hilton now seems to be making up for this via the very high price of the booze and soft drinks, which is rather off-puting.

Reception and restaurant staff were good. The room service staff were generally not very friendly. Rooms were nice and clean.
The restaurant area is much improved from our last visit and the food had also improved. It was a busy time of the year and choice of dining slots were limited (book before you arrive).

The pool area was nice and the gym is a new addition.
Couldn't believe that there wasn't free wifi provided by Hilton. The daily charges for wifi are outrageous. The entertainment was a bit of a disappointment, particularly for the holiday period.

The hotel has a great location (red squirrels wild in the grounds). It's just over 2 miles to Aviemore. The super panther cafe in town was a good choice for lunch.

Although it was quite relaxing and we had a good break, I don't think that we will be back any time soon. Given the initial cost, plus the additional extras and the high price of the drinks I reckon I will try somewhere else next time (eg the Crieff Hydro).

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. We do offer free WiFi in our public areas but this is chargeable in guest rooms, although this is currently being reviewed by the company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linlithgow
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

great hotel for both families & couples ( escape to the woodshed bar away from the hotel but within it's grounds) rooms always spotless, big rooms too. breakfast amazing - buffet style help yourself - incredible choice of everything you could want, freshly prepared, well stocked, great service. dinner excellent as well ( get a package where you have dinner, bed & breakfast, otherwise eating in the hotel is more expensive), great choice on menu, we are vegetarian and there is always about 3-5 choices for main courses. great surroundings, scenery beautiful, and lots to do!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank shonagh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and that you enjoyed everything that our hotel and surrounding areas has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed 3 nights 27/8/9 December DBB. Good points: clean well equipped but somewhat small room, comfortable bed, nice bathroom. Helpful staff but understaffed.
Negative points: no wifi in rooms unless one paid a charge; no comfortable lounge area as it was crowded because many there to use wifi, children tearing around in cramped space and it was difficult to find seats (not a relaxing environment); meals in dining room (Inverdruie Restaurant) were formulaic and mediocre with salt used to compensate for poor culinary skills - lasagne ordered by one member of party arrived late and had no lasagne in it! (Just 4 veg layered on top of one another), same menu every night and few veg in general, over use of pancetta; from a restricted menu 3 members of party were told they could not have fish on 3 rd night; we had to pay supplement for grills and steaks! Wine average and highly overpriced. Restaurant was understaffed with very willing but exploited foreign workers.
We would not stay here again and we are now reluctant to use Hilton Hotels again. Could this decline in standards of Hilton brand be due to it's take over by Blackstone Private Equity Co? We learned of this after trip. We would not recommend this hotel. Money making was more important than customer care.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joycebragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of Hilton Coylumbridge. It was disappointing to read that there were areas which did not meet your expectations but found your remarks concerning the staff, the majority of which are British, completely unfounded and offensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a Hilton Coylumbridge Lodge in December 2013. On arrival we found the kitchen hob to be covered in grease and burnt, encrusted fat. A call to housekeeping resulted in the quick appearance of a cleaner carrying a duster and bottle of glass-cleaner spray. My wife told the cleaner that she was ill-equipped to deal with burnt grease and showed the cleaner how to clean the hob.
After we took off our coats, I visited the lodge toilet and was dismayed to find the toilet seat hinges were covered in corrosion. This is very unhygienic and is quick and cheap to rectify.
A couple of hours later I visited the master bedroom en-suite to find excrement left on the toilet seat (YUK!).
The lodge had recently been refurbished to a comfy standard. Nevertheless, no action had been taken to repair the stitching on the back of one of the armchairs that had come undone or to tighten the many loose tap handles in the property.
We found the accommodation to be very comfortable, but this was spoiled by finding it dirty on arrival, and finding excrement on the toilet seat demonstrates how bad things are at Coylumbridge.
Finally, under no circumstances are guests allowed to check-in to their booked lodge accommodation until 4pm, even if the cleaning etc has been completed. Hilton has much to learn from other accommodation providers on how to give better standards of customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge Lodges and understand that he Lodge Management will be contacting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Maybole, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The perfect getaway after the stresses of Christmas, we felt well cared for and very relaxed. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and always chatted to our 5 year old! Also plenty to keep you busy, with a pool, childrens funhouse, lots of woodland walks and even and outdoor ice rink!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay and that you and your family had a very enjoyable stay over the Festive period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night (30th Dec) on a DBB Tariff with my partner and our 8 year old daughter. Having stayed at (and worked in) Hilton's in the past we have come to expect a certain standard from them, which this hotel fell short of providing.

On arrival the reception area looked smart and busy, it looked clean and tidy. The receptionist was friendly and our check-in swift. She gave a dialogue of information and advised us to book in The Bistro for dinner. When we went to the Bistro it was noted we had a child with us and we were advised the best time would be about 6-6:30. We readily took their advice and booked for 6:15.

Our room was fine, clean tidy and well presented. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom equally so. Our room did overlook the rooftop of part of the hotel (possibly the kitchen or leisure area?) and so there was the constant drone of air conditioning units, however this was not too much of an issue for us. There was no free wi-fi in the rooms - astounding in this day and age when you're paying £180+ for a hotel room! The Hilton really need to up the game on that one!

When we came down for dinner we went to the Bistro, and were told we had in fact been booked into the Inverdruie Restaurant area which - it transpired - was a self service Italian Buffet style meal. Frankly it was horrendous, with dozens of children running around, a raucous cacophony of noise and misbehaviour. The food was distinctly average to poor and the staff slow to offer us any drinks (but very swift with the extortionate bill, £5 for a bottle of Rekorderlig Cider!)

I expect far more from a Hilton - especially on a DBB tariff! - when it comes to meal times. I expect a waiter, a menu and good service in a quiet restaurant with well behaved patrons. When we asked (twice) if this was the only option for DBB guests we were told in broken English that "yes, this all included." This conflicted entirely with what was on the "in room" information folder, and on the TV information screen - which mentions a £12.50 deduction if DBB guests eat from the buffet. We had asked and booked to eat in the Bistro, but had been filtered into the buffet because we were travelling with our daughter.

When we checked out the following morning we were told by a deputy manager that we could have dined in the "second sitting" in the Inverdruie, but as we had a child with us the first sitting is more "family friendly." Basically, it felt like a rebuff (and an insult) that because we were travelling with a child we wouldn't mind sitting with 40+ ill behaved children milling around us. We asked about the deduction the TV info shows and we were told no, the self service buffet in the Inverdruie was for DBB tariff guests - a complete rip off in that case.

Breakfast was also served in the Inverdruie, and despite being busy the waitress kindly seated us (at my request) away from the hoardes of screaming children running around the place. Breakfast was very enjoyable with lots to choose from and plenty of it. Only very minor complaint here was the deep fried potato scones - why?! don't ruin them! - and the wait for tea.

Other very nit-picky points: the robes and towels in the bathrooms were not soft and fluffy (nor were they Hilton branded), there were only two drinking glasses and two face cloths in the room despite there being three guests.

The hotel was fine in general and we would probably stay here again, but we certainly wouldn't be staying on a DBB tariff and would eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fenjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I think confusion may have arose as we held our Welcome Desk where all dinner bookings were made, in The Bistro. All dining options were available and I am sorry if this was not made clear to you at the time of booking and do hope that this will not deter you from visiting Hilton Coylumbridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing