We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time, Bad duty manager.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great time, Bad duty manager.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had another fantastic break at Coylumbridge, as ever rooms clean and spacious. My only gripe during the stay was bad attitude from what i can only imagine was a duty manager. I tried to complain about the lack of machines working in the kids arcade but the manager wouldn't even stop to speak to me so i was effectively complaining to his back as he walked away from me. Shame. His final words to me were even more astounding for a manager who works for Hilton. They were "whatever", disgraceful. Putting the bad staff attitude aside i would recommend this hotel to any families looking to escape in Aviemore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank paultee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge, your feedback is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    996
    603
    323
    176
See reviews for
1,363
878
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballater
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Greeted by a lovely trainee called Rachel on the reception. I found the hotel warm and clean. The room I was in was in perfect condition and lovely and warm. It's a very very busy hotel and it can be hard to find a parking space so I parked over beside the fun house place for the kids. I plan to be back and will get more use of the facilities next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jd6520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fourteen of us stayed, five mums and 9 children aged from 5-16, from 7-10th of October. Two of us had been before so thought we knew what to expect but, with the improvements to the restaurants especially, we were very impressed.

From the moment we walked through the doors, staff were courteous and helpful, going out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed.

The kids all ate in the foyer on the first night but some ate from the buffet and some from the set bistro kids menu. All of them ate well and they especially enjoyed choosing their own food and serving themselves. They all ate in the buffet the next two nights and the food was fresh varied and had something for every one of our 9.

We booked the younger children into the kids club but the four older ones felt it was too young for tehm. The girls in the club were amazing though and ensured that they still had plenty to do. The adventure golf was opened for them, as was the diner with the pool table. The girls set up a Wii and organised competitions between them. They really could not have done more which meant that the adults were free for a couple of hours to enjoy a meal at the the bistro.

Again the food here was excellent, service was attentive and the wine wasn't bad either. At £16.00 for a palatable House white, I don't think this was pricey at all.

We were given adjoining rooms and these were all clean and comfortable. We used the pool every day, the older ones twice sometimes, and all of us enjoyed ourselves. Yes the changing rooms are small but they were clean and fit for the time it took to quickly change and any extra fussing like hairdrying etc could be done in your room.

The entertainment was a bit dire for adults but the kids all loved it and since the place was full of them, the main clientele were happy. We did tend to adjourn to a bedroom and chat rather than sit but the foyer was always full and everyone seemed to be having fun.

The kids all loved the activities over at the Woodhouse so whilst they all bungeed or played laser-quest, us mums chilled upstairs with a glass of vino. When the kids were finished, they were able to join us too al;though it is adults only after 8pm.

I really can't fault this hotel for good value, family-friendly service. I wouldn't choose it for a romantic weekend but it is my first choice for a holiday with kids in that area every time. The location is excellent and so many of the local attractions are just a few minutes away.

Don't be put off by the negative reviews, this hotel does everything it promises and I'm certain it has somehting to appeal to every family.

Room Tip: Suites have more space but the family rooms are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonvoyagescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed you stay with us and do hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

stayed here with a 15year old for I think our 15th stay, he loves the place and all it has to offer but this time a few "niggles" no towels in our room and had to ask twice till they arrived, the bathroom door handle came off and despite being reported was never fixed...........could have been nasty.
the towels very theadbare and a bit raggy and finally the bins not emptied for 2 days but overall still a good time had by all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues which you mention and do hope that these will not deter you from visiting us again in the future I can assure you that your comments will be passed to the relevant departments for their attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well geared up for families. The dining room is very large but they cope well with any number of diners. There are a number of places to eat on site. The pool is perfect for unwinding at the end of a day's walking. You do need a car as it's a bit out of Aviemore but you would need a car to make the most of this area anyway. Don't miss going to the nearby funicular railway. Views on a clear day are breathtaking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lovestoholidaylots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you had the opportunity to visit Cairngorm Mountain and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a few times over the last ten years.

Set in a fabulous location with decent amenities for families.

I had been put of by poor quality of food and service and the rooms being a bit tired.

Heard that it improved and stayed recently for a couple of nights. The room was lovely with bunk beds in a separate room for the kids. Good decor and bathroom.

The real upturn is the food, the meals were really nice with a good Scottish menu. Children made more than welcome, even on the later serving. Liked the choice of early buffet or table service later and the use of the fun house if you wanted adult only dining.

Overall a very nice weekend in a great area helped by a nice hotel. Also liked the complimentary WIFI in the reception area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElginAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments an valuable feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and that you had en enjoyable stay. It is pleasing to read that you chose to return and do hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of an offer of midweek 2 nights for a total of £150.00 all in (Including good accommodation with comfy double bed, large LCD tele etc. dinner and breakfast. We have stayed in bed and breakfast accommodation for £50 per night EACH, and I know which I would prefer. The food was good, and in the evening option of a early family self service buffet style. To be honest the food did not compare with the Hilton at Dunblane (out of this world) but was perfectly adequate. Spa and pool was OK. adult pool had not a good shallow section and for anyone unable to swim would not be suitable. The family pool was good, but very crowded with lots of kids and parents/grandparents. TWO minus points 1) the cost of a glass of wine - small £6+, large £9+. Customer service assures me that this is reasonable, but I find it excessive. Beer was expensive £4.40 a pint - but that is not unreasonable for a 4* hotel. 2) there is no lift. We were on the second floor, so if you are getting on a bit or have any mobility problems let them know on booking. I am surprised that a hotel of this standard does not have a lift, but maybe that reflects the age it is!
Altogether good value, but not as good as other Hilton Hotels, if you are familiar with Hilton.
Staff were all very good - as you would expect.

Room Tip: No lift, so if you are not very mobile, ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for you comments on your recent stay with us and was pleased that you had a good visit. All of our rates and deals can be found on our website and most are inclusive of dinner, bed and breakfast. As you say, requests can be made to the hotel and we will do our upmost to do what we can to make all of our guest's stays s comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing