We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special & overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing special & overpriced.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my wife and 5yr old kid.

The room was fine, bit basic, but comfortable enough. We had a double room with two double beds. The room wasn't overly spacious but it was ok. And the walls/doors are not the best soundproofed, easy to hear people going in and out of other rooms, in the corridor etc. Bed was clean and comfortable though, big white pillows/duvet etc. Big TV with all the cartoon channels for kids etc.

The restaurant was okay for food and drinks/alcohol, but we found it expensive for what you get. Perhaps they know families are staying, you can't walk into Aviemore itself, so they can charge a premium...
Breakfast had a big selection on offer, plenty of choices, but we had to queue for 10minutes to get into the restaurant at peak time.

We used the swimming pool, and it was fine. Clean enough and warm enough. There were toys for the kids to use.
We also visited the fun place within the grounds where kids can climb and run around mad, an indoors place (the name escapes me), and that was ok for my kid. She enjoyed it. But the area where the adults sit is sterile, unfriendly, not very welcoming, with terrible lighting. That could be made nicer for the adults...

Would we stay there again? Perhaps, but i'd look for somewhere better first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and will ensure these are passed on to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    1,011
    608
    328
    180
See reviews for
1,379
897
53
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have recently just returned from a 3 day stay with my 5yr old and 2 yr old girls. Initial impressions were of the lounge/reception area which which bright and airy, reception staff were great and cant fault them. We were staying in a family suite which was spacious enough for our needs, room was absolutely roasting even with a fan which made for a couple of uncomfortable evenings due to the hot weather outside. Room could do with a freshen up in terms of decoration but nothing major. Nice bathroom.

Breakfast at hotel was excellent and lots of variety for whole family, both my girls loved it. Also ate twice at italian buffet which was also good, only downside were sometimes the staff were practically hovering over you waiting to take your plates away which was slightly irritating but would definately recommend the buffet. I would say avoid eating at the american diner, the worst food I have ever had. my daughter described her fish fingers as 'dripping' and my youngest sausages looked as though they had been burnt to a crisp. It was staffed by people that looked about 12, have to say I would never recommend this place so that was £22 down the drain.

Pool was nice, could do with a wee clean around the sides but again dont know if its down to the age of the hotel but it was nice and my kids loved it. Nice outside playpark and tennis courts. A wee arcade also for older kids. Heard there was evening entertainment but we werent told by reception staff and there were no signs up so worth enquiring when you check in.

All in all a great stay with great helpful staff and decent food. Would definately recommend and will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: If its hot rooms on the second floor are almost unbearable in terms of heat even with a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. i was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your dining experience in the Fun House and will certainly pass on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Loved this hotel. Nice rooms, and dog friendly, which was great! Food in the main restaurant a little uninspired but the bistro restaurant was lovely. Staff can't do enough for you. Aviemore itself is a wonderful place, I would recommend it to anyone as a base to see the best of the Scottish highlands. If you are taking children or lots of luggage ask for a ground floor room as there are no lifts! The late bar the woodshed comes recommended too, purely for the cocktails if nothing else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased to read that you enejoyed your stay and, as valued guests, look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a great holiday at the Coylumbridge Hilton in Aviemore, the staff where great & hotel was also great would recommend to anyone, it is great for family's or just a couple of you, caters for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pros: great location - Aviemore is fun filled location for a holiday.
Good food - array of food at breakfast was excellent. Italian family buffet in the evening was good, but not every night, could get tired of pizza and pasta.

Cons: rooms are tired and very small. A family of 5 doesn't fit in a family room. Cramped and claustraphobic. Beds are hard and there is no air con, windows wouldn't open fully and it was very hot outside.
The hotel is so busy that breakfast queues were long. The hotel suggested breakfasting between 7.30-8.30 to avoid queues - not really ideal if your trying to have a relaxing holiday and dont want to be told what to do!
No free wi-fi in bedrooms, only in reception area. Not ideal in this day and age.

Overall, I don't think we would return :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddywinks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Generally we would not recommend that a family of 5 occupy one room and would suggest the booking of two rooms but this is a personal choice for guests to make themselves. Concerning breakfast, as you say, we are only suggesting that a particular breakfast time is quieter and again this is a personal choice for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just returned on July the 15th after a 3 day break with my partner, our 2 year old daughter and my 10 year old nephew. We all had a great time! This was our first time at this hotel and I was a bit worried after reading the reviews.
We have stayed in a few hilton hotels in Edinburgh and Glasgow and yes this rooms and hallways are slightly dated but ok as I think that this is to be expected in a hotel for a highland hotel compared to city centre hotels. We were in a room with 2 double beds and we found the room very clean, the bathroom did require upgrading but was clean enough. The room was quite warm at night due to the good weather we had but as we have stayed in highland hotels before we brought our own fan with us which really helped.
The breakfast in the morning was very good, 2 nights we ate in the bistro and the food was delicious only problem is when you eat here on a DBB rate the kids eat free and adults are allocated £16.00 per head not very much when considering the drinks are very expensive. 1 night we had dinner in the inverdruie restuarant which was an italian buffet, this was ok and the lasagne was lovely but didn't have enough selection and I think it was an italian buffet every night, would be better if this had different things like burgers etc.. for the kids.
Overall we had a great time, plenty for the kids to do and the funhouse is great and the disco for the kids at night is good to. We will definitely be returning again soon already thinking of going back in October.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkylady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in October
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Friendly staff at check-in desk and nice location but very uncomfortable bed (hard and very creaky), no air con (probably not often an issue but during a heat wave wasn't nice!) room service order mixed up (but was rectified and we were not charged for an item that was delivered separately), bathroom dirty and rather dated and no lifts (although a porter did help with our cases getting up to the top floor on arrival). No free wifi in rooms (which seems to be the same in other Hiltons)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. As you experienced we do not have air con in any of our bedrooms nor do we currently have any plans to install this. Hilton does offer free WiFi in public areas but this service is chargeable in bedrooms. I am sorry that your room was not up to our usual high standards of cleanliness and will certainly pass on your comments to our House Keeping Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing