We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a great holiday at the Coylumbridge Hilton in Aviemore, the staff where great & hotel was also great would recommend to anyone, it is great for family's or just a couple of you, caters for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    1,010
    607
    328
    179
See reviews for
1,377
894
53
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pros: great location - Aviemore is fun filled location for a holiday.
Good food - array of food at breakfast was excellent. Italian family buffet in the evening was good, but not every night, could get tired of pizza and pasta.

Cons: rooms are tired and very small. A family of 5 doesn't fit in a family room. Cramped and claustraphobic. Beds are hard and there is no air con, windows wouldn't open fully and it was very hot outside.
The hotel is so busy that breakfast queues were long. The hotel suggested breakfasting between 7.30-8.30 to avoid queues - not really ideal if your trying to have a relaxing holiday and dont want to be told what to do!
No free wi-fi in bedrooms, only in reception area. Not ideal in this day and age.

Overall, I don't think we would return :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddywinks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. Generally we would not recommend that a family of 5 occupy one room and would suggest the booking of two rooms but this is a personal choice for guests to make themselves. Concerning breakfast, as you say, we are only suggesting that a particular breakfast time is quieter and again this is a personal choice for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just returned on July the 15th after a 3 day break with my partner, our 2 year old daughter and my 10 year old nephew. We all had a great time! This was our first time at this hotel and I was a bit worried after reading the reviews.
We have stayed in a few hilton hotels in Edinburgh and Glasgow and yes this rooms and hallways are slightly dated but ok as I think that this is to be expected in a hotel for a highland hotel compared to city centre hotels. We were in a room with 2 double beds and we found the room very clean, the bathroom did require upgrading but was clean enough. The room was quite warm at night due to the good weather we had but as we have stayed in highland hotels before we brought our own fan with us which really helped.
The breakfast in the morning was very good, 2 nights we ate in the bistro and the food was delicious only problem is when you eat here on a DBB rate the kids eat free and adults are allocated £16.00 per head not very much when considering the drinks are very expensive. 1 night we had dinner in the inverdruie restuarant which was an italian buffet, this was ok and the lasagne was lovely but didn't have enough selection and I think it was an italian buffet every night, would be better if this had different things like burgers etc.. for the kids.
Overall we had a great time, plenty for the kids to do and the funhouse is great and the disco for the kids at night is good to. We will definitely be returning again soon already thinking of going back in October.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkylady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in October
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Friendly staff at check-in desk and nice location but very uncomfortable bed (hard and very creaky), no air con (probably not often an issue but during a heat wave wasn't nice!) room service order mixed up (but was rectified and we were not charged for an item that was delivered separately), bathroom dirty and rather dated and no lifts (although a porter did help with our cases getting up to the top floor on arrival). No free wifi in rooms (which seems to be the same in other Hiltons)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. As you experienced we do not have air con in any of our bedrooms nor do we currently have any plans to install this. Hilton does offer free WiFi in public areas but this service is chargeable in bedrooms. I am sorry that your room was not up to our usual high standards of cleanliness and will certainly pass on your comments to our House Keeping Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We (2 adults with 6 and 1.5 year olds) stayed between July 5-10 and paid £130 per day (Including room, breakfast and dinner. But dinner drinks are charged separately). The family room wasn't very big and having two double beds left almost no room to move around. It was very quiet room. At night it was too hot so left window part open which solved the problem. Our room looked to the woods (room 144), in the evening rabbits, squirrel and birds were regular visitors.

Room was ok, nothing special. On the bathroom they briefly covered mould. As written on other reviews, staircases are bit smelly, but hallway is ok (look outdated though). That is all ok with me but swimming pool needs cleaning. You can see dirt at the edges of the pool.

The restaurant is refurbished and very big. They have Italian buffet at 5.30 and set menu at 7pm. The food was very good, children really enjoyed it. Slow cooked beef on set menu is so tender and delicious.

Hotel's location is superb. So many things around to see and do. Loch Eilein, loch Insh and loch Morlich, Cairngorm mountain and woods. I'll definitely come back but for better deal.

Overall good experience, but could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. I acknowledge your comments on the price paid I do not consider the price paid was exceptional considering that your stay was during the peak summer holiday period and included dinner, bed and breakfast for a family of four, entertainment programme including kids activity club every evening plus full use of our leisure facilities.

Details of all our offers are available on our web site
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having stayed at 6 hotels in the UK in 2 weeks some priced less and some more than what we paid here, this hotel was a disappointment. No lifts, small staircases, no air conditioning, free wifi only in public areas, no ingredients at the bar to make the cocktail my wife wanted, bar also ran out of ice, the worst bed I've ever sleep in and the food was average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuey803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was sorry to read of your disappointment but do hope that you will continue to choose Hilton as your preferred accommodation provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay as it was a special treat for us. The front-desk staff were very helpful and friendly on our arrival and we were looking forward to seeing our room as the entrance to hotel and lounge area looked very inviting. However, we found our room to be disappointing. It had a musty smell, old dust on lampshades and window, no air-conditioning and our room was overlooked by others, so we had to close our curtains when in room - not great when it was soaring temperatures during our stay and our window didn't open fully. Very disappointed when going into the bathroom as musty, stains on the ceiling, dead spider and dust in the corners, rusty bathrail and the plug didn't work in the sink - no lever to raise plug to get rid of used water. When I reported this at the desk, I was advised I had to put my hand in the sink (not very nice) and push the plug to one side to allow the water to disappear, as if this was the normal practise. Walls also seemed paper-thin as very noisy with guests in corridor and from the rooms that overlooked us. We were looking forward to breakfast but let down as mushrooms undercooked, scrambled eggs were very watery and bacon cooked to the minimum. No serving spoons at self service so I had to go find one, no tea-spoon given when I ordered tea and nowhere visible where I could find one. No extra paper napkins supplied so I had to find a member of staff to ask for one as well as fresh glasses as ours were dirty and smelled eggy. The staff at front desk were very nice and helpful but the room and restaurant experience let the hotel down. No free wi-fi neither. If you are planning on staying here as a stop-over or famiy holiday then it might be ideal, but not as a special treat.

Room Tip: Noisy room overlooked by other rooms (plus no a/c) on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda186558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. I am unable to confirm what room you occpied but am sorry that you were disappointed. You do not mention if you spoke to staff about this as we would have been more than happy to move you to make your stay more comfortable if an alternatvie room had been available. The plug in the sink is a new style which has just been rolled out across the Hilton Brand, the plugs are fixed and require to be pushed down to enable the sink to be emptied.

Free WiFi is available in the lounge of the hotel but is chargeable in bedrooms and this information is freely available throughout the hotel. Our berakfast is usually highly commended by our guests but am sorry that you did not enjoy some of the items on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing